We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fireside Inn & Conference Centre
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Castlegar
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The staff was very helpful in assisting me with directions and making plans for a future stay. The rooms are very clean and tidy. Great continental breakfast. I look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASpencer19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fireside I, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Thank-you for your comments we strive to provide all of our guests with great service and a friendly atmosphere. Look forward to your future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2013

Anyone looking to stay with a team, this is a great place. We were allowed to use a huge common room that connected to two of the kids rooms. This allowed us to serve all the meals together and have a lot of time together. The staff was excellent and the hotel was very clean and quiet. Breakfast was always ready and we were allowed to use the pool and waterslides across the street for no charge. Top place in town.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jludds2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fireside I, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank-you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

This place in Castlegar is centrally located. The pool is at the Super 8, across the road, and they have some agreement with them. The included breakfast is decent. It has the "make your own waffles". If you have a mobility problem, the stairs to the upper floor are fairly narrow. Ask about that first. Good value overall.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigjim5551212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

This hotel is okay if your not looking for something fancy, it is not a Best Western. Very old. If your a smoker you won't be able to open the window as there are no screens on the windows. It is located in a central location with shopping and restaurants all around. Good continental breakfast with waffles, fresh fruit, cereal, toast, bagels, coffee and juice If your on the back side of the hotel it is very quiet and they have a barbecue area for guests to use. Old TV's so you cannot use HDMI, free internet. Bed was comfortable.

Room Tip: Choose room in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

This accommodation is quite good. We had a pleasant sleep. The room was quite comfortable, and the staff was very accommodating. When we asked for another pillow, they were able to find one quite quickly for us. There was someone at the front desk 24 hours a day, which puts you at ease as well. There is a continental breakfast, similar to that of the Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn, with a breakfast with the ability to make homemade waffles.

The only problem, though, was the fact that there is no elevator. For those with mobility problems, it would probably be best if you request a room on the bottom floor.

Room Tip: No elevator. Those with mobility problems should ask for a room on the bottom floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matwaites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We have stayed here numerous times over the past couple of years and although the hotel is old and in need of some TLC the service was always great and the staff were friendly and fun. I don't know what has changed but the service is now as tired as the hotel. On our arrival a self-important little man came from behind reception and just began speaking to the lady helping us without any appology or acknowledgement of us. Our room was clean, but the light switch was cracked and the lamp did not work.We did not have any hot water in the morning and the breakfast could of been fresher! We will not be staying here again.

Room Tip: A different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bennetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I would not have stayed in this property, had it not have been prearranged for a motorcycle group event. I was under the impression that there was a pool and spa on the property, but soon discovered you had to cross the street to another hotel. The beds were comfortable and the room adequate, however we forgot to take down out "do not disturb" sign the second day so had no clean towels or fresh coffee. Granted that was our mistake, but we didn't receive service the second day either and had NO sign up. Each day, i had to go and get what we needed, which wasn't a problem, just a bit inconvenient especially since no one picked up the dirty wet towels.

The breakfast was nice with fresh food however the orange juice was very watered down. We were given tickets for a free breakfast, but the first morning, I was told if I wanted anything "hot" there was a $5 charge. I didn't understand this. If there was going to be a charge, why not simply collect upfront, instead of providing coupons for breakfast, then saying at breakfast there was an addition charge except for cold food...rolls, fruit, yogurt and cereal. Either give me all or nothing, but don't tell me after the fact there is an additional charge. I found this very confusing.

They easily handled a large group, that was a big plus, however I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank demenshea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 July 2012

Thank-you for your comments we will strive to improve our service, discussions have been had with housekeeping to check rooms that have perviosly had do not disturb signs out prior to leaving for the day.
Normally our continential breakfast is served in our lobby, but with a large group and in consultation with the group organizerer we tried offering a supplemental hot service and provided it in our ballroom. For future events we will look at other alternatives that may make for a better guest experience.
Sincerely,
Staff & Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlegar
0.2 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites- Castlegar
0.3 mi away
Sandman Hotel Castlegar
Sandman Hotel Castlegar
#5 of 8 in Castlegar
128 reviews
1.9 mi away
Chameleon Hotel
Chameleon Hotel
#6 of 8 in Castlegar
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Glenwood Inn & Suites
14.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Hotel
20.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn & Conference Centre

Address: 1810 8th Ave | Junction Hwy 3 and 22, Castlegar, British Columbia V1N 2Y2, Canada (Formerly Travelodge)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Castlegar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Castlegar
Price Range: £67 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Fireside Inn & Conference Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests can enjoy a complimentary breakfast. Public areas are equipped with complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access. Event facilities include conference/meeting rooms . This friendly hotel also offers barbecue grill, laundry facilities, and a television in the lobby. Onsite parking is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fireside Inn & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing