We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Flamingo Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Flamingo Motel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Castlegar
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great little place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Choose this place based on trip advisor reviews. We just needed a place to sleep- wanted simple, clean & affordable. That's what we got. The quilt was homemade -nice touch. Owners are really nice and we felt happy to give them our $.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flamingocastlegar, Owner at Flamingo Motel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Hi project78. Thanks so much for your great review. It was pleasure meeting you. A nice drive from Edmonton. The only suite that we had left for you was our smallest suite which you folks settled into with nary a peep :-) We didn't get to check with you the next morning, just saw your tail lights at that early hour - early risers! We are pleased that you were comfy and very much look forward to the next time that we can welcome you to the Flamingo Motel, Castlegar..
Warmest regards,
Frank and Debra,
Flamingo Motel and Quilt Shop,
Castlegar, BC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    26
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
30
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mackay, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

This motel was perfect for us, with its large lounge/dining/kitchen and separate bedroom & bathroom. Everything was very clean, and Frank & Debra were incredibly friendly and helpful, even providing us with large pot for us to cook our soup for 4. Everything else we needed was in the room. It was also only 3 minutes walk to Safeway.
Because it was so spacious, 4 of us sat around the table eating in comfort.
We throughly endorse this motels rating as Castlegar's number 1 place to stay, and if we ever return from Australia, we will stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatWilkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flamingocastlegar, Owner at Flamingo Motel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Well. What can I say. We were hit here by a whirlwind of Ozzy's. What a night! We so much enjoyed visiting with you folks. Gary had his stuff packed - he was going with you. He still watches at the window for you. We gotta get a boat. A big one. One that can carry my blue car [don't want it falling over the side tho].We'll sail to meet you. Thanks so much for the great review, and for staying with us. We sure hope that you will stop here again. Aa’ i’sul nora lanne’lle.
Frank and Debra,
Flamingo Motel,
Castlegar, BC
Canada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Albert, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Arrived and was greeted by Debra and Rico, (he's a dog). Was shown to and around my room. The next evening I arrived back to the room to discover some lovely baked strudel. Frank and Debra were very helpful in directing me about town and where inquisitive as to the reason for my visit. The rooms were very clean, neat and tidy.

Thanks to Frank, Debra, Rico and the staff at The Flamingo Motel

Room Tip: Room numbers 5 and 6 are away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flamingocastlegar, Owner at Flamingo Motel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Hi Chad, Thanks for taking the time to post the great review! We're pleased that you were happy here for the several days that you stayed with us. You are an interesting fellow, and it means a lot to us when we get a top review from someone so well traveled. We look forward to the next time you are in town!
Regards,
Frank and Debra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the flamingo. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms for a night, and though the bed was a little stiff for my liking I would certainly come back again. The price was minimal, the owner was very friendly and helpful and even brought us muffins for the morning since we had to leave early the next day.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytravelingcamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flamingocastlegar, Owner at Flamingo Motel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a great review! We are pleased that you were happy, and we look forward to the next time that we can welcome you to our little Motel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Westminster, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Both Frank and Debra were very friendly and helpful--eager to make our stay the best it could be. The rooms are not fancy, but very clean and comfortable, the beds were covered with homemade quilts, and we would return to homemade muffins each evening. The Flamingo was recommended to us by a relative who had stayed there the summer before and we were not disappointed! The room we stayed in 2 beds, one in the main room and another in the bedroom. Both areas had their own tvs. We would definitely stay again on a return visit. Thank you, Frank and Debra!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flamingocastlegar, Owner at Flamingo Motel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Hi Girls,Thank you for taking time to post such a nice review! We sure didn't see too much of you girls in the days that you stayed with us - go, go, go .... We are pleased that your stay was comfortable and we look forward to the next time that we can welcome you to stay with us!
Best Regards,
Frank and Debra,
Flamingo Motel
Castlegar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millarville, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

We were very lucky to stop in the Flamingo. For the price,the motel was amazing and the owners are very friendly. They gave to us so good tips about the area. It's definitly a place to stay in Castelgar!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrystelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flamingocastlegar, Owner at Flamingo Motel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Bonjour mon amis! Je vous remercie pour la grande revue ! Ce fut un plaisir de vous avoir à rester avec nous. Nous espérons que vous passerez cette façon encore et m'aider avec mon Français à nouveau.
Thank you for the great review! It was a pleasure to have you to stay with us. We hope you will pass this way again and help me with my French again.
Merci amis.
Frank McCracken
Flamingo Motel,
Castlegar, BC
Canada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Squamish, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We were stranded in Castlegar due to flight being cancelled. Luckily the Flamingo had room for us! The rooms are cute and very clean. Owners are super friendly. The hotel is in a great location close to lots of restaurants, stores and the movie theatre.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flamingocastlegar, Owner at Flamingo Motel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Hi K O's, thanks very much for taking the time to post a nice review! We are pleased that your flight made it out at last. It sure sounds like you had a great ski trip on your Honeymoon! We enjoyed meeting you and hope that you will stop by again.
Regards, Frank and Debra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlegar
0.5 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites- Castlegar
0.3 mi away
Fireside Inn & Conference Centre
0.5 mi away
Sandman Hotel Castlegar
Sandman Hotel Castlegar
#4 of 8 in Castlegar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Glenwood Inn & Suites
1.6 mi away
Chameleon Hotel
Chameleon Hotel
#6 of 8 in Castlegar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
20.7 mi away
Alpine Inn and Suites
Alpine Inn and Suites
#5 of 10 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Motel

Property: Flamingo Motel
Address: 1660 Columbia Ave, Castlegar, British Columbia V1N 1H9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Castlegar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Castlegar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Flamingo Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay at our little oasis in the center of Castlegar. Our Motel features economical salesman/sleeping suites as well as full kitchen suites. All of our beds have home made quilts and our Park and Gazebo with a gas BBQ is very popular meeting/gathering place for guests. While you're here check out our quilt shop. You won't find cleaner or cozier accommodations anywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Flamingo Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing