We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home made muffins delicious.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Flamingo Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Flamingo Motel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Castlegar
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
272 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Home made muffins delicious.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

They make a wonderful muffin....left two in our room. Thank you. Nice place, clean, but only one of the rooms was airconditioned....and that one had a rather saggy bed. and this was in the middle of a heatwave (and the air conditioning hadn't been turned on). Not the most restful night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LarryTheRadioGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flamingocastlegar, Owner at Flamingo Motel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Hi Larry, Thanks for the compliments on the muffins, they are very healthy and a nice thing to have with your coffee in the mornings. We don't do it every day. Especially baking in this heat. About the air conditioning, I'm not a big A/C fan - and nor are many of our customers. We don't think it's good for you, so we choose to cool the rooms naturally - windows open at night and in the early part of the day with fans on, and close the windows and curtains when the heat comes. That gets some nice fresh mountain air into the rooms too. Our suites are well insulated and this system usually works well. We personally monitor each room and usually leave it up to the guest to turn on the A/C if they choose. Except on the super hot days - then I will turn it on. It can get hot here. "Hot Spot in Canada" sometimes. Pretty warm muggy nights - so I know what you mean. I understand that in some of the larger hotels here sometimes their A/C can't keep up on those days. Luckily ours do. About the bed. I wouldn't call it saggy. We have to have a variety of beds - some soft, some hard. - everyone is different. Your bed was one of our soft ones. Regards, Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    26
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
30
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

This tiny and fairly old motel was a pleasant surprise. It was clean almost beyond belief, not a speck anywhere. We were greeted by the owner/managers in a friendly manner and invited to partake in the newly ripe cherries on their trees on the property...quite a treat for prairie folk. We were also greeted upon return after day 1 with a fresh cherry pie prepared by the owner. Wow! There is a shady gazebo in the back yard to enjoy a cup of coffee and a chat. Walking distance to some good restaurants and a Starbucks. This is not the Hilton but a great place to stay on a budget in a pretty B.C. town.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_L_Edmonton2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

I stopped here late at night, and left early in the morning, so perhaps didn't enjoy all of the advantages of this motel. They accomodated my schedule, which was quite helpful. This seems to be a clean, renovated set of rooms, but is an older motel and the consrtuction limits what they can do with it. The room was a bit small, and dominated by a massive cathode-ray TV mounted on an arm up by the ceiling. I'm about 6' and anyone taller would have to watch out for hitting their head. The bed was OK, not amazingly comfortable, but the home-made quilt was a nice touch. There was a fridge, and a clean bathroom, but not much room for anything else. In the morning I settled accounts with the owner, who was very nice, and left. Overall, I would say this motel is OK, but not amazing, and not a fantastic bargain either.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flamingocastlegar, Owner at Flamingo Motel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Hi Dave. As you were arriving late and sounded like a nice fellow we took the somewhat unusual step of leaving the suite open for you, trusting that you would stop and see us in the morning. We expect that you appreciated that. The suite that we suggested for you in was one of our smaller “Salesman Suites”. They are well appointed with Television, Fridge and Microwave ovens. We have various sized suites at our little motel. We also have 2 bedroom Full Kitchen suites and Double suites as well as the Salesman Suites. Normally our Salesman suites are described as perfect for just an overnight stay for a single guy [or lady]. We ALWAYS mention that they are smaller but inevitably once the customer sees them they usually say “They aren't that small”. Our salesman suites are the Least Expensive Accommodations in town. Perfect for just a quick, one night stopover such as your stay with us. And all of our suites have been described as “spotless”. Never had anyone mention Too Big a Television before. That one is one the last non-flat screens. We keep larger televisions in our rooms and mount them high so that they are easy to see. A personal peeve of mine is when I am in a hotel and the television is hard to see because it's sitting on a low table over in a corner somewhere so we don't do that here. Our TVs are mounted up on a handy, movable pedestal. If one was to swing it to its full extension into the middle of the room I suppose one could bump his head if he wasn't paying attention.  Thanks for your review. Happy trails, Frank and Debra, Flamingo Motel, Castlegar, BC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfred, Canada
Level Contributor
174 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We were very lucky to book this motel. we would have preferred 2 nights but due to a plant shutdown the town was totally booked up. This motel deserves all the praise I have seen online. It is spotless, has all usual motel amenities. We got a 2 bed option which ended up being 1 bed in a front room and another bed in a separate room. The owners are very friendly and welcoming. It's true that muffins mysteriously appear in the evening. Highly recommend. Great as a central point for visiting Castlegar and Trail and Rossland and of course Nelson. Restaurants and shopping close by.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thegrandstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flamingocastlegar, Owner at Flamingo Motel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Hi Guys. Thank you for the great review. When you folks "Magically Appeared" here, we only had a room for you for one night. Sorry - It would have been nice if you could have stayed longer. Yup, we just have the 6 suites. Debra and I prefer this, it's far easier to keep on top of quality control. And we can get to know our guests a little better. Like you folks and your interesting work. Stop by next time you are in the area :-)
Best regards,
Frank and Debra
Flamingo Motel and Quilt shop.
Castlegar, BC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Choose this place based on trip advisor reviews. We just needed a place to sleep- wanted simple, clean & affordable. That's what we got. The quilt was homemade -nice touch. Owners are really nice and we felt happy to give them our $.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flamingocastlegar, Owner at Flamingo Motel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Hi project78. Thanks so much for your great review. It was pleasure meeting you. A nice drive from Edmonton. The only suite that we had left for you was our smallest suite which you folks settled into with nary a peep :-) We didn't get to check with you the next morning, just saw your tail lights at that early hour - early risers! We are pleased that you were comfy and very much look forward to the next time that we can welcome you to the Flamingo Motel, Castlegar..
Warmest regards,
Frank and Debra,
Flamingo Motel and Quilt Shop,
Castlegar, BC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

This motel was perfect for us, with its large lounge/dining/kitchen and separate bedroom & bathroom. Everything was very clean, and Frank & Debra were incredibly friendly and helpful, even providing us with large pot for us to cook our soup for 4. Everything else we needed was in the room. It was also only 3 minutes walk to Safeway.
Because it was so spacious, 4 of us sat around the table eating in comfort.
We throughly endorse this motels rating as Castlegar's number 1 place to stay, and if we ever return from Australia, we will stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatWilkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flamingocastlegar, Owner at Flamingo Motel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Well. What can I say. We were hit here by a whirlwind of Ozzy's. What a night! We so much enjoyed visiting with you folks. Gary had his stuff packed - he was going with you. He still watches at the window for you. We gotta get a boat. A big one. One that can carry my blue car [don't want it falling over the side tho].We'll sail to meet you. Thanks so much for the great review, and for staying with us. We sure hope that you will stop here again. Aa’ i’sul nora lanne’lle.
Frank and Debra,
Flamingo Motel,
Castlegar, BC
Canada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Albert, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Arrived and was greeted by Debra and Rico, (he's a dog). Was shown to and around my room. The next evening I arrived back to the room to discover some lovely baked strudel. Frank and Debra were very helpful in directing me about town and where inquisitive as to the reason for my visit. The rooms were very clean, neat and tidy.

Thanks to Frank, Debra, Rico and the staff at The Flamingo Motel

Room Tip: Room numbers 5 and 6 are away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flamingocastlegar, Owner at Flamingo Motel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Hi Chad, Thanks for taking the time to post the great review! We're pleased that you were happy here for the several days that you stayed with us. You are an interesting fellow, and it means a lot to us when we get a top review from someone so well traveled. We look forward to the next time you are in town!
Regards,
Frank and Debra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlegar
0.5 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites- Castlegar
0.3 mi away
Fireside Inn & Conference Centre
0.5 mi away
Sandman Hotel Castlegar
Sandman Hotel Castlegar
#4 of 8 in Castlegar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Glenwood Inn & Suites
1.6 mi away
Chameleon Hotel
Chameleon Hotel
#6 of 8 in Castlegar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
20.7 mi away
Alpine Inn and Suites
Alpine Inn and Suites
#5 of 10 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Motel

Property: Flamingo Motel
Address: 1660 Columbia Ave, Castlegar, British Columbia V1N 1H9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Castlegar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Castlegar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Flamingo Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay at our little oasis in the center of Castlegar. Our Motel features economical salesman/sleeping suites as well as full kitchen suites. All of our beds have home made quilts and our Park and Gazebo with a gas BBQ is very popular meeting/gathering place for guests. While you're here check out our quilt shop. You won't find cleaner or cozier accommodations anywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Flamingo Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing