We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice”
Review of Flamingo Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Flamingo Motel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Castlegar
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Really nice”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

The owners make the motel. Very clean and well equipped. There is also a quilt shop which my wife enjoyed. Frank was informative and helpful and the free breakfast muffins were an added touch. Frank suggested Dawns early rising sunshine cafe which proved to be a unique experience.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Glenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flamingocastlegar, Owner at Flamingo Motel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thanks for the review. I thought we all had a great time. The rest of your group was so extremely complimentary - "I" and "A" told Debra: "This place is perfect", "Thanks so much", "Slept so well", "Didn't hear a sound", "Couldn't be happier" ........
Frank and Debra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    27
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
30
25
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed while traveling from Salmon Arm, BC to Bonners Ferry, ID.

We were welcomed by the owners who took good care of us during our stay.

The grounds were nicely kept and there was a nice gazebo to relax in.

The units are a little older, but the owners have taken good care of the place. The unit we stayed in was very clean and comfortable. It was nice having a separate bedroom so the parents and kids could enjoy some privacy. The WiFi worked great. They are also a Shaw Hotspot so it's very handy if you happen to be a Shaw internet customer.

The only things I would change would be to have an AC unit in the front area (there was one in the separate bedroom and it worked fine) and a fan for the bathroom. Not a deal breaker for this site.

The rate was reasonable for the area and you're not paying for a swimming pool that you're not using.

You can also drop your laundry off for $10 per load. Not bad when you consider that the laundromat down the street costs $4 to wash and $4 to dry. You don't want to spend holiday time hanging out at the laundromat.

Overall, a good stay and I would stay again when in the area. The owners take pride and care in their establishment and make you feel like your business is important.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank albertaclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flamingocastlegar, Owner at Flamingo Motel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Hi Albertaclay! Thanks so much for the great review! We really appreciate it. Thankyou for recognizing that we are not a new facility, but we are doing a respectable job of keeping "The Flamingo" in top shape, welcoming and comfortable for our customers. You are a lovely family - such sharp kids! We are pleased that we could help out with some extras to make your families travels more enjoyable.
Warmest regards to you and yours
Frank and Debra,
Flamingo Motel,
Castlegar, BC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I've been telling people about this motel since I left it a few days ago - just amazing. Frank (owner) brought my luggage in for me, showed me around to the gazebo, and yes, the home-made muffins you will see people raving about on here... they're delicious - and really, who does that, right?? Home-made muffin freshly baked, delivered to your room every night. Hand-made quilt by Frank's wife on every bed. Innovative art on the walls that Frank created himself. Little gazebo out back with a BBQ you can use. Clean room, I had a fantastic sleep every night, great shower every day, advice on good restaurants in the area. I really could not ask for more. I've stayed at a lot of 3 and 4 star hotels and 5 start resorts, and honestly, other than the room service and amenities you can get at a great hotel, the experience of staying here was just as good and in some ways better. The personal touch is far beyond anything I've experienced anywhere, and the room itself was the best I've seen in a motel. Can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flamingocastlegar, Owner at Flamingo Motel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Hi Brenda, thank you so much for the great review! Thats a fact - we are not a 5 star - but we do what we can within our niche. You were so busy - on the go all the time, we rarely saw you, work, work, work! It was nice having you stay with us for those few days and are so glad there you were pleased. I am glad you posted, we didn't see you leave or have a chance to wish you farewell. We trust that your business here was successful and maybe you will come and see us again.
Warmest Regards,
Frank and Debra,
Flamingo Motel,
Castlegar, B.C,
Canada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The service was above and beyond - Frank actually picked us up and dropped us off at the auto shop. Frank and his wife Debra (who made the quilts on the beds!) could not have been nicer. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean, the water pressure was good, and the location was convenient. All in all, a pleasant stay despite unpleasant circumstances.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank christina a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flamingocastlegar, Owner at Flamingo Motel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Hi Christina, Thanks for taking the time to post such a nice review! We trust that your group had no more car troubles and that the rest of your tour of Western Canada was all that you hoped! It looked to us like you bunch were having a super time - [that pair of foreigners that you were with looked like they needed supervision :-) ] and we are pleased that we could be a part of it in some way. It wouldn't surprise me if you toured this way again while you are at school. You're more than welcome here anytime and we do hope that we see you again.
Frank and Debra,
Flamingo Motel,
Castlegar, BC,
Canada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We booked rooms at this motel based on Trip Adviser reviews, We were terribly disappointed especially because we were on a road trip with cousins from New Zealand visiting Canada for the first time. The motel hosts were really as friendly and accommodating in accordance with the reviews. I suppose it was fine if you were really tight for money as was cheap enough but certainly not of a standard we would have expected from the glowing reviews & what we are used to. The rooms were really teeny and extremely run down looking in spite of the so called hand made quilts. The TV from another decade I think. The bathroom sink was really crazed and very stained from years of use. Way overdue for replacing. I suppose one could say that the room seemed clean enough. Bed wasn't particularly comfortable either. Rather saggy in fact. The only thing in this place's favour were the grounds. Very nice with expansive lawn areas and lots of shade trees. Also pet friendly which is certainly worth some brownie points in our books :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamaquilla2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flamingocastlegar, Owner at Flamingo Motel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Well… Thanks a lot! You were all smiles when you were here… In your review you stated: >“I suppose it was fine if you were really tight for money as was cheap enough"<. So you are saying that it was “fine” and the price was OK. Hmmmm.... You chose our smallest 2 suites, and then complained that they are small!... We operate within our price range. We feel, and we are often told that we are doing a good job. Clean and Quiet and Not Run Down... >"So called handmade quilts"<. Now that's just mean. I'm sure that Debra's feelings would be hurt had she not received countless compliments every day. Including several yesterday and today. Personally I'm not a big quilt fan but the ladies go crazy for them. One lady staying with us this week, a government employee staying here on business, actually went out and brought her driver in to show her the quilt in her suite… You MUST come by again and SHOW US one saggy bed in our entire motel. C-mon down.... It would seem that you are comparing us to the High End accommodations that you stay in and review. If you expect our $90. suites to compare to the $150.- $250. suites that you usually stay in and review, you likely will continue to be "terribly disappointed". You might consider your criteria and compare apples to apples when reviewing before you disrespect someone's work and livelihood. We welcome constructive criticism, but we will not be making any changes to our operation based on your review. Until we raise our prices. A lot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The sign going into the motel says "cozy, clean and affordable" And it certainly is. The owner Frank greeted us with an invitation to partake of cherries right off the tree and use of the gazebo. And then he brought delicious muffins to our suite that evening to have with our coffee in the morning!!! The location is also very nice. Close to everything you need. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Flamingo to anyone planning a stay in Castlegar
C.S. - Sask

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flamingocastlegar, Owner at Flamingo Motel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Hi Folks. Thanks for taking the time to post a nice review for us! We appreciate it more that you may know. You were on your way on a beautiful M/C trip, we hope that you had a great time!
Ride Safe and we're here for ya' if you pass this way again.
Frank and Debra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

One of the cleanest motels i have been too ! The owners Frank & Debra are very friendly . Excellent location close to everything ! The grounds are well groomed plus theres a barbecue and pond . AC in the rooms .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flamingocastlegar, Owner at Flamingo Motel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hey Ricky, Thanks for taking the time to post such a great review! I really enjoyed visiting with you and look foreword to the next time you pass this way. Safe travels. I will look you up when I am in Cow-town.
Regards,
Frank.
Flamingo Motel,
Castlegar, BC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlegar
0.5 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites- Castlegar
0.3 mi away
Fireside Inn & Conference Centre
1.6 mi away
Chameleon Hotel
Chameleon Hotel
#6 of 8 in Castlegar
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sandman Hotel Castlegar
Sandman Hotel Castlegar
#4 of 8 in Castlegar
124 reviews
14.2 mi away
Glenwood Inn & Suites
21.5 mi away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#9 of 10 in Nelson
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Motel

Property: Flamingo Motel
Address: 1660 Columbia Ave, Castlegar, British Columbia V1N 1H9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Castlegar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Castlegar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Flamingo Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay at our little oasis in the center of Castlegar. Our Motel features economical salesman/sleeping suites as well as full kitchen suites. All of our beds have home made quilts and our Park and Gazebo with a gas BBQ is very popular meeting/gathering place for guests. While you're here check out our quilt shop. You won't find cleaner or cozier accommodations anywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Flamingo Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing