We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Windborne Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Windborne Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Castlegar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Castlegar, Canada
1 review
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

I arrived at the Windborne B & B and felt instantly at home. The Host Marc Conacher was welcoming and a great cook. I loved the post and beam design of the home and the way the kitchen is in the center so you can chat while your breakfast is prepared. The beds were comfy and the little extras - towels shaped like animals, candies on the pillows, beautiful art work made me want to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcConacher, Owner at Windborne Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for taking your time to give us this excellent review. We are glad you felt at home. We get a lot of comments on our towel animals. The elephant is a sign of good luck. This animal towel is our way of wishing each and every guest who stays with us the best of luck in everything they do. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    11
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
132
26
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

My friend and I stayed at the Windborne B&B in conjunction with an art class being offered in the in-site studio by B&B owner, Mirja Vahala. The experience was a 5/5 on all accounts! The B&B itself is beautiful and comfortable, and the breakfast Marc made was amazing. Likewise, the art class was informative and fun. You won't find better hosts than Marc and Mirja, and as art instructors go Mirja is the best. A fantastic art retreat!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lucie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcConacher, Owner at Windborne Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for taking your time to write this excellent review. We are very glad you enjoyed your breakfast and your art retreat.We look forward to seeing you at future art retreats.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranbrook
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We have stayed in Castlegar plenty of times and there isn't much in the way of anything other than low budget motel grade hotels. We booked the WindBourne B&B for one night. Not only was it a beautiful timber frame open concept home on the river, our room was modern and decorated like I did it myself. Marc, our house was very friendly and made us a delicious candied salmon scramble with fresh fruit and great coffee with frothed milk. Marc's wife is an artist and has some of her work in the home and has her studio downstairs which they were happy to let us explore. The room rate was very much the same as staying at the local hotels in the area BUT of so much nicer quality and value. We will choose to stay there anytime we return to Castlegar and would recommend it to anyone headed that way.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcConacher, Owner at Windborne Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking your time to write this excellent review. We are glad you liked our open floor concept and felt comfortable here. You were great house guests as we enjoyed talking with you and look forward to visiting again the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Crete, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Very nice B&B with friendly hosts, nice rooms, very modern. Very good breakfast keep it up Marc.It is very easy to find, View of Columbia River is nice. If you are looking for a meal in Castelgar, be sure to check out the Chopsticks Chinese restaurant very good food,
Frank & Eva La-Crete Ab

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcConacher, Owner at Windborne Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for taking your time to give us this excellent review. We are glad you didn't have a problem finding us. There are some very good restaurants in this town. We are glad you enjoyed Chopstickes. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Very nice B&B with friendly hosts, nice rooms, very modern. It is fairly easy to find, even on a dark and stormy night. View of Columbia River is nice. If you are looking for a meal in Castelgar, be sure to check out the restaurant reviews. There are some decent pubs.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rballentine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcConacher, Owner at Windborne Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for taking your time to give us this excellent review. Even on a dark and stormy night We are glad you found us and had a nice time staying with us. I hope you didn't get side lined because of the avalanche at trout lake. We look forward to seeing you next ski trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Windborne was our first experience lodging at a B & B! The value for dollar compared to a hotel room was remarkable! The Moonlight Suite was enchanting and very comfortable. The attention to detail in designing and decorating the rooms was impressive. Our hosts were gracious and genial. The breakfast was delicious, a great taste treat!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sherrie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcConacher, Owner at Windborne Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for taking your time to give us this excellent review. We are glad you liked the attention to detail in the designing and decorating of the house. It was the best job in the world being on the building crew during the construction of our B&B. Mirja and RCI Construction did an amazing job of designing the house. We look forward to any return visits to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We had an excellent time. This was our first experience in Canada and Castlegar and this B&B was hands down the best place we've ever stayed at. The house and decor was beautiful and the hosts are very friendly and welcoming. The rooms are well sized and very comfortable. Breakfast was open to guests ideas and was made from scratch, not to mention very tasty!

We wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joeydeshields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcConacher, Owner at Windborne Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Thank you for taking your time to give us this excellent review. We are glad you had such a great first experience in Canada and Castlegar. I am also very happy you found your breakfast tasty. We look forward to seeing you again in any future trips to Canada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlegar
17.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Hotel
4.6 mi away
Sandman Hotel Castlegar
Sandman Hotel Castlegar
#5 of 8 in Castlegar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
4.3 mi away
Fireside Inn & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
18.6 mi away
Prestige Mountain Resort Rossland
4.5 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites- Castlegar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windborne Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windborne Bed and Breakfast

Property: Windborne Bed and Breakfast
Address: 3900 Broadwater Rd, Castlegar, British Columbia V1N 4V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Castlegar
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Castlegar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast. Many of our guests, both business and holiday travellers, have expressed how comfortable and welcome they feel at Windborne B&B. We've heard appreciation for the luxurious surroundings and casual atmosphere, plus for the great breakfasts. That about sums up why we are in business! It's all about people and providing a great place to stay. Temperature regulated by a heat pump for your comfort. Soft water system. Post and beam construction. Purpose built in 2007. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Windborne Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing