We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“freindly, efficient service - hotel dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandman Hotel Castlegar
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Castlegar
Reviewed 29 August 2013

The front staff was extremely efficient and friendly. It was late when I checked in (9pm'ish PST Aug 28th) and it was so nice to be helped by someone interested in doing their job. Lobby very nice and looked like upgrades had been made. The hallways and rooms are dated and mine smelled like someone had smoked in it. I was also not overly impressed with the cleanliness.
But the staff are excellent!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobeGirl4EVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Castlegar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you for your review and it was nice to hear that our staff were friendly and efficient. We are in the process of doing some upgrades to our rooms so do hope you give us another try if you are back through the Castlegar area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

We were greatest by a friendly front desk lady. While checking in she advised us the pool was closed (which was the main reason we chose to stay). When she sensed our disappointment, she double checked and told us it was actually open. When we entered the atrium pool, it felt warm and muggy and a cavelike atmosphere. The pool water was murky and only 2 of the jets were working in the hot tub. We felt the hotel definitely is in need of some upgrades. The elevator barely worked and got so frustrating that we used the stairs the remainder of our stay. The restaurant connected to the hotel looks like it's been closed down for some time. We were offered breakfast, but for $5.00/each extra. It was held in a very warm enclosed room so we chose the pass. The room was very dated and A/C barely worked on highest setting.
We will not stay at this particular location again until improvements are made. In our opinion, it's time to tear down and rebuild.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharyn442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Castlegar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you for your comments. Just before your arrival our pool was just put back into service due to our pool pump needing replacement. It is unfortunate that these type of things do happen and we try to minimize the inconvenience to our guests. I am not sure what the problem was with our elevator but our regular service to the elevator was just recently done with no issues arising. We are in the process of doing some upgrades so hope you will come and try us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

This hotel is definitely dated.....it could use some fresh paint and bedspreads. The staff were pleasant, and check in was smooth. Wanted to go for a swim and we're told that the towels would be by the pool...no towels available. Walked over to the front desk to ask for towels, we were told that housekeeping would bring them. So we got into the pool for our swim then sat in the jacuzzi, no towels ever arrived so we had to walk back to our room wet. After dinner we wanted to watch some tv, there was no remote control. Again I called the front desk and they assured me they would send one up.....it never arrived. The layout was odd. Our room window looked out over the covered atrium...no natural light at all entered our room. I felt like I was in a cave. We couldn't keep our curtains open because we looked into other rooms across from us.

Room Tip: rooms on the outside of the building have windows looking outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanZ52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Castlegar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you for advising us of the problems with our pool towel stock and the remote for your TV. This type of situations should most definitely have been handled immediately we obviously had a breakdown in communication within the hotel and this will be part of our retraining for all our staff. We are in the process of doing upgrades and this does include painting and new duvets/pillow ect please do come back and give us another try and let us know how we are doing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This older hotel has an atrium with pool and jacuzzi. The furnishings are dated, but the bonus seems to be that it is structurally sound. However, it is very oddly laid out: the elevators are not close to the check-in desk and the breakfast room is in a hot interior room ($5 extra charge, so have a look first). The staff were pleasant and helped with concerns.

Room Tip: Book a ground floor room well in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Castlegar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you very much for your comments. We are in the process of doing some upgrades and unfortunately our roof air exchange system that cools our breakfast room has failed and needs replacement/repair. It is always good to hear from our guest and it is good to hear that our staff were able to deal with your concerns. We do hope to see you again in the future and please continue to let us know how we are doing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I asked if an early check in would be possible two months previous to the booking. I was told they could not promise this. When arriving at hotel at 4:10 pm (check in was 4 pm) room was not ready. My husband and I returned at 5:15 pm, we were told the room was ready. When entering room, it had not been cleaned. Returned to lobby General Manager gave us another room, and stated a discount on the room was in order, along with 2 continental breakfasts were now included.(We were staying two nights.) GM stated it closed at 9:30 am however stated one could go later than that and we could still have the breakfast. We entered the room at 9:45 and most of the food was gone and the cleaning person was the only one there cleaning up the tables. The following day after the wedding we went back to room, however, our keys did not work. We had to obtain new keys. Same day we entered the breakfast room at 9:35 am, this time could not even enter the room. So either day the free breakfast that was given to us was not given.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacation943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Castlegar, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Thank you again for your comments and once again I do apologize for the confusion with your room. It is unfortunate that when you came down for breakfast there was not much of a selection left we have been very busy and do not re-stock after 9:30 so unfortunately there was only a limited amount available at the times you arrived for breakfast. Hopefully you did enjoy the rest of your stay and the wedding I am sure was fabulous. I do appreciate all comments we receive from our guest and truly do want all our guests to have a pleasant stay if there is anything we can do for you in the future or if you have any further comments please do not hesitate to contact us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I stayed here with my family during the summer, after competing in a rowing completion. It was since place to stop, nice rooms, nice amenities such as the pool and buffet, and good guest services. A good place as any to stop in the interior, would defiantly stay there again if the opportunity arises. In all a good stay to say the least.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishShock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Castlegar, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Thank you very much for your comments I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. I hope you did well in your competition. Hopefully we will see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The front counter service definitely stands out, with friendly staff going out of their way to help. The Sandman is generally a decent place to stay on business, provides basic breakfast items from 6:00 am on, and wireless internet works well. The major drawback for me was that my walk-out door (and sealed window) faced the pool, which in itself would be great; however, it was an enclosed (indoor) pool, and therefore it had a temperature of over 30 degrees Celsius, and it was impossible to open doors or windows for fresh air. As the air conditioner was a bit noisy, I had it on all day to have a decent temperature in the room for the evening. I turned it off for the night, but had to get up around 2-3 AM to turn it on for a while. Rather inconvenient (and not exactly energy savvy), but it may not bother those that want the pool.

Room Tip: If you love the pool and the heat it emits, pick a room facing it; if you want fresh air, ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apaetow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Castlegar, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Thank you very much for your review of the hotel. I do agree the pool area in the summer when temperatures are in the high 30's Celsius and with humidity can be a little hard to handle this area is very difficult to cool. Thank you once again for your comments and we hope to see you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlegar
0.1 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites- Castlegar
13.7 mi away
Glenwood Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Fireside Inn & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Hotel
20.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
21.2 mi away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 10 in Nelson
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Hotel Castlegar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel Castlegar

Address: 1944 Columbia Ave, Castlegar, British Columbia V1N 2W7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Castlegar
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Castlegar
Price Range: £87 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sandman Hotel Castlegar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Castlegar is nestled in the heart of the West Kootenays, so is the Sandman Hotel nestled in the heart of Castlegar. Minutes from shopping, business, and entertainment, Sandman Hotel Castlegar features modern amenities such as high-speed Internet access, a business centre, indoor pool and whirlpool, and meeting rooms, making this Sandman the perfect choice for your next stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandman Hotel Castlegar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing