We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“accidental meeting”

Dawn's Early Rising Sunshine Cafe and Bistro
Ranked #3 of 48 Restaurants in Castlegar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$19
Cuisines: Barbecue, Russian, Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Groups, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Dawns early rising sunshine cafe is a family run business. The indoor and outdoor spaces reveal our unique view of the world. Decorated with our mothers love of lighthouses in mind, there is a lot to keep your eyes busy. Our desire to feed people flavourful meals in our large home style kitchen comes from years of raising families and entertaining friends. After a busy day here in the kitchen we take the time to do our own grocery shopping to ensure the best quality products are ready for the next days cooking and baking. We think it would be worth your while to stop by for Tom's handmade BBQ Burger, Kathy's Quiche, or a piece of our homemade carrot cake with an expresso. Our Doukabor Borscht is a vegetarian delight- by Weezie- who is a local hero in the world of Borscht. See you! Check the new hours!
Nelson
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“accidental meeting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Found this place by accident, I was driving by, saw their sign for Borscht and had to stop. I was not disappointed, the soup was delicious I ordered the small size with a Piroshki on the side and found it to be just the right amount of food for lunch. Service was friendly and the atmosphere casual. I will be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dinner4onebusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy F, Owner at Dawn's Early Rising Sunshine Cafe and Bistro, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Thank you for stopping, enjoying lunch and letting others know about your experience.
It has been a busy summer with lots of Borscht Lovers stopping by for a taste of the local
cuisine. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    22
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

Was this disappointing because the reviews I read made it sound so good, or was it just disappointing?
My partner and I ordered orange juice to start - the waitress plunked down a can of OJ and a can of Five Alive on the table.........ok. I ordered the quiche - they were all out (9am on a Sat). I ended up having scrambled eggs and toast, which was ok, but it lacked any kind of flavour and aside from a paper cup of jam of unknown origin, there was nothing else on the plate. My partner ordered the same but with hash browns, which were missing and had to be brought out later.
Overall a disappointing experience

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy F, Owner at Dawn's Early Rising Sunshine Cafe and Bistro, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
WOW, as the main cook and owner I am sorry your experience was so disappointing. I wish you felt you could have mentioned it to us in person. We actually put together the smaller blander meals (ie: 2 eggs any style, toast, and coffee) for those who cant eat our fuller sized, more seasoned meals. We don't believe in waste and neither do our regular customers, who appreciate the quality of our menu selections.
Cans of juice at the table allow our customers to drink in the glasses provided, or take it with them, any extra. We use quality jam put in little eco friendly cups to avoid plastic in the landfill. And not to make excuses, but we have 2 kitchens and at times we don't get hash browns cooked as fast as we can cook eggs...but you can't deny everything is hot!
We very much enjoy cooking and serving for those that come to our family home-style establishment. As this summer time goes, not all has been as smooth as we would like. Overworked coolers limit our ability to supply Quiche and other popular healthful dishes that we have become known for. Enjoy the rest of your travels this summer.
Thank you for your review! We are still learning, and open to hear from you, the customer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tasty lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

This was a great place to stop for lunch in castlegar.
Food was fresh and really good. Service is excellent. We look forward to going back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Servicenuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy F, Owner at Dawn's Early Rising Sunshine Cafe and Bistro, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Thank you for lunching at Dawn's. We appreciatte people who enjoy fresh. As a foot note, we shop ourselves and hand pick the best ingredients we can find. Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castlegar
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Coffee and The best borscht in town by far!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Seriously good food, Seriously.. Buy the borscht too, freeze it keep it for a rainy day, you won't be let down !

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hick_chick_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy F, Owner at Dawn's Early Rising Sunshine Cafe and Bistro, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to visit us, and share with others about your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castlegar, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Cafe!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

Rich, Full Bodied Great Tasting,coffee !234567890--------------10 later still awake lololololololoololooolololo

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy F, Owner at Dawn's Early Rising Sunshine Cafe and Bistro, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
LOL, thanx to Trail Coffee and Tea Co. we can all enjoy an Organic, Rich, Full Bodied Coffee!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dawn's Early Rising Sunshine Cafe and Bistro also viewed

Castlegar, Kootenay Rockies
Castlegar, Kootenay Rockies
 
Castlegar, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Dawn's Early Rising Sunshine Cafe and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing