We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable Rates, Pets Allowed ! Small room, not clean”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites- Castlegar
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Castlegar
Kootenay Rockies, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Reasonable Rates, Pets Allowed ! Small room, not clean”
Reviewed 5 December 2011

On our way to Nelson, BC we stayed one night in Castlegar. We travel with a large sheepdog and the higher end hotels usually do not allow pets.

Pros: Hotel room was reasonably priced, no pet fee was charged, room had 2 queen size beds.
Free wifi, microwave and fridge

Cons: There is hardly enough space to move around, bathroom is extremely small, Desk chair was falling apart, Room not clean (hair in tub)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    30
    23
    12
    9
See reviews for
10
33
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

The staff was very nice. They helped me out. After a long day of travel, I got there kinda late but they still make me a turkey sandwich. The room itself was a little smelly, the bed was not comfortable and it was a loud, creaky building. Two things really stood out for me about this place. Number one. The rooms have doors to the inner corridor and the parking lot. When I entered my room, I discovered that the door to the parking lot was not locked. As a single female very far from home, this is not good. I felt inclined to check every nook and cranny of the room for intruders before taking off my coat. Number two. There were tons of scary noises. There was a fight in the parking lot right outside of my formerly unlocked door. After calming down from that, there were what seemed to be gunshots all night. Later confirmed to be fireworks by the hotel staff. I didn't sleep well. I would try the Super8.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Castlegar hotels

Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We stayed here last week while passing through Castlegar and found the walkin rate quite reasonable compared to some of the advertised prices the other places in town were offering...For under $100 a night, we had a comfortable bed, air-conditioning, a quiet and clean room and clean bathroom and two hot breakfasts prepared to order and served in the resident restaurant - an awesome deal!

Was it luxurious? No, but it was good value for money! Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airdrie, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2011

-The Hotel
The Inn is located in a fairly central part of town, within walking distance of fast food locations and no more than a couple minutes drive from most shopping and dining.
When I arrived I was greeted by the clerk at the front desk and promptly checked in, despite being early for check-in. She was extremely courteous and answered my questions about the area graciously. The entrance and front lobby were very clean but the age of the building was apparent and what touch-ups (I don't feel the word renovations would be appropriate) were done seemed very cheap and rushed (See more below)

-The Room
I stayed in a standard room which also contained a small kitchenette. As with the lobby the room was immaculate. The bathroom, likewise, was pristine. The room was a good size, not cramped but the space was used well (lots of storage space for extended stays). The bathroom was surprisingly nice, with a shower that looked much never than the rest of the room. That said, parts of the room seemed to suffer from the same rush patchwork that I saw in the lobby. The kitchenette was a ramshackle collection of cheap plywood that could be found in a 70's trailer home and felt incredibly out of place next to the nice albeit inexpensive furnishing of the rest of the room.
A strange note, there were very few outlets in the room, most having three or four cables running to it, requiring you to unplug the coffee maker to use the microwave, etc.
The bed was very comfortable.

-Summary
The Quality Inn screams of average. For everything you find that's pleasant or nice you'll likely in turn find something downtrodden. While I wouldn't say this is a great place to stay in if you have to remain in your room it wouldn't be bad for a quick stopover on your way through town or as a place to spend the night while exploring the surrounding area (which, by the way, is very beautiful).
Considering the age of the inn the price seemed a little steep, especially since it lacked any ammenities like a pool or fitness center.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtenay, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

This had to be one of the dirtiest hotels we've seen and never to be repeated! The hotel seemed old and in need of renovations in a big way!!! We were a family of 4 and only one of us braved the shower... I got into bed praying nothing would be crawling on me... There was a lamp in the corner of the room that had gotten so hot it had melted the lampshade and had not been replaced...total fire waiting to happen! We had the air-conditioner on during the night because of the heat but it was so loud it reminded me of an airplane engine being in your room so my husband turned it off early morning. The smell in the hotel was horrible and seemed to be everywhere including our room... I do need to add the staff were friendly and helpful but we will never stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

The motel, was dirty,smelled and in dire need repairs. Melted lamp in room. Could not get out of there soon enough. If we could of left with out being charged we would of.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I stayed at the Qualtiy Inn Castlegar during July and had a great stay here. The staff went above and beyond to make sure that our stay was as good as it could be. The rooms were very clean and we were able to get a great sleep each night. The restaurant within the hotel had a really good breakfast, in fact we saw that it was the busiest place in town for breakfast! Again the service was super and we will definitely stay here on all future visits. It was such a delight that this was a family owned business. I would definitely say if you want a great rate, nice room and good food. Stay here!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlegar
0.1 mi away
Sandman Hotel Castlegar
Sandman Hotel Castlegar
#4 of 8 in Castlegar
124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fireside Inn & Conference Centre
2.1 mi away
Chameleon Hotel
Chameleon Hotel
#6 of 8 in Castlegar
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Glenwood Inn & Suites
14.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Hotel
16.6 mi away
Prestige Mountain Resort Rossland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites- Castlegar

Property: Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites- Castlegar
Address: 1935 Columbia Ave, Castlegar, British Columbia V1N 2W8, Canada (Formerly Quality Inn Castlegar)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Castlegar
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Castlegar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites- Castlegar 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites Castlegar offers the most value for your money when staying for business, pleasure, or just passing through. We are a AAA 2-Diamond hotel with clean spacious rooms, Monte Carlo Grill, guest laundry facility, fitness center, meeting facility, business center, game room, and free Wi-Fi throughout the property. All guest rooms include microwave, mini-fridge, coffeemaker, hairdryer, 42 inch flat panel cable TV, free local calls, and wake-up service. Take advantage of our extremely comfortable beds and relax while saving money year-round with our Kids Stay Free Policy (14 and under in parent’s room). For your convenience our hotel offers both smoking and non-smoking rooms. Pets are welcome, restrictions and charges apply. We are centrally located off Highway 3 and Columbia Avenue. We are near to a local attractions such as Zuckerberg Island Heritage Park, Chances Castlegar, and Doukhobor Discovery Centre. Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites Castlegar is your best choice within the the second largest city in the West Kootenay region of British Columbia, Canada. We offer ideal accommodations and location whether you are in town for vacation, business, or simply passing through on your way to Calgary or Vancouver. At Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites Castlegar our goal is to provide our guests a great experience, not just a place to stay. At Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites Castlegar, We’ve Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Canadas Best Value Inn & Suites- Castlegar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Castlegar
Castlegar Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing