We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hidden Harbour Vacation Rental and B&B
Ranked #1 of 16 Campbell River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Our stay at the Hidden Harbour B&B was unfortunately for only one night but the welcome provided made us determined to return here when we return to explore the island more fully, Jurgan and Inge made us fully at ease and welcome into their home and were totally knowledgeable about the island and locality. They clearly enjoy receiving guests and were a delight to meet. Our room had a view over the sea and was excellently appointed.The breakfast provided was of the highest quality and variety, individually cooked to our dietary specifications. Highly recommended as an antidote to hotels and motels

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hewhotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    8
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
29
80
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We stayed for one night as part of our tour in western Canada, despite Jurgen's encouragement to fill a week and more! He and Inge are very good hosts, the breakfast was superb. The room we had was fine though sharing a bathroom is an option not to everyone's choice. We were a group of four so not a problem apart from organising the morning rota. The location is good with great views. Overall a very good B&B.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pensionerplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Great place to stay and relax in Campbell River.
We were really spoiled every morning at breakfast - the choice of food available was superb.
The room was large and very comfortable but the best part of the stay was relaxing in the hot tub after a hard day of hiking and watching the huge cruise ships sail pass.
Thank you Jurgen & Inge!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheepak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, AB
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

First, some context. Our family (one infant, one dog, two parents) were spending a couple of weeks in Campbell River for work, so we needed a place that was more like a short term vacation rental than a B&B. Hidden Harbour also billed itself as a vacation rental, so we thought it was going to be perfect.

The Good:
Inge and Jurgen are very kind hosts. They are terrific cooks, and you'll find the breakfasts to be tasty and varied. They have excellent suggestions for attractions and shopping in the area; take advantage of their local knowledge! The house is in a great location, with great views of the water and Quadra Island. The bedrooms are a nice size with good quality linens and furniture. Bathroom was well finished and stocked with everything you'll need (including some really nice local artesian soap!) Neat artwork throughout the house. Since we were travelling with an infant, the owners provided us with a crib, high chair, stroller, and some toys. This was incredibly nice, and made our time there really easy. They even had a bed for the dog in the living room. They were really kind to both the dog and our child which made us feel better about importing such a madhouse into a B&B.

The… Less Good:
We were staying in the upstairs "Lighthouse Suite", using both the Library and Gallery Bedrooms, together with the bathroom. Unlike traditional suites, you will not have exclusive use of the living room, dining room or kitchen. Though we were the only ones using the living room, we were asked to remove our personal belongings (a tupperware bin and some bags) from the room and keep them in our bedrooms. The owners often used the stairs adjacent to the living room to move around the house; kind of awkward if you're reading on the couch in the evenings. Often we would just read in the bedroom instead.

The dining room is used for the breakfasts for all the guests and you'll share the kitchen with the owners. This meant that we always felt less than completely comfortable using the kitchen and dining room to prepare and eat our meals. We had a little bit of space in their second refrigerator just off the kitchen, and kept our other food in our bedrooms. This meant cooking meals was a long-distance activity, wandering from one end of the house to the other to gather ingredients. We had grand dreams of seafood dinners and relaxing evenings in the house that never really panned out due to the shared nature of the kitchen and the un-private nature of the living room.

Since we had the baby with us, we had to spend a little more time hanging around the B&B during naptimes and bedtimes than perhaps is customary for a B&B. Overall we never felt completely comfortable using the space as if it was our own.

Room Tip: Avoid the Lighthouse Suite (Gallery and Library rooms) if you're looking for privacy, or if kitc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oddity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Hidden Harbour Vacation Rental and B&B, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
I appreciate these comments as they allow some clarification for future guests. Our Vacation Rental attribute is only applicable to the Discovery Suite, not to the Lighthouse Suite. In this specific case the Vacation Rental was already partly booked and we offered the Lighthouse Suite for a special price but still with a lot of extra service.
Dogs are welcome and we love to have them around us, especially since our own dog passed away, but after this experience of cleaning the house from dog hair for 2 hours we decided to charge an extra $40 cleaning fee if guests bring dogs.
If guests (up to four) book our Lighthouse Suite, they get a first class B&B experience in an executive setting with lots of space and unobstructed ocean view. Our own presence can be reduced to a bare minimum as we can use a separate entrance ourselves, but many of our guests appreciate the personal contact and our extensive advice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed here for easter holiday and found out this is really nice experiences and we were completely satisfied. Room is very cozy and clean and view from the room as well as from the garden is fantastic. Host instructed how to get the Elk falls kindly even before we checked in B&B. Breakfast next morning is far beyond the average and we spend nice chatting with our host. How luckey we were to stay here!

Room Tip: libraly room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naomaru84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

You could not ask for better hosts than Jurgen and Inge. They made us feel so welcome to their beautiful home with its delightful garden, spacious building and clean rooms.

We stayed the night in the Discovery Suite as we were travelling with baby and it was perfect for us. With two fully equipped rooms, a bathroom across the hall and kitchenette we could not ask for more. They fully accommodated us as a family and made us all, including baby, feel right at home with a crib, high chair and some great toys. Breakfast in the morning was delicious with a great selection of foods which we could not eat enough of. They are wonderful cooks.

I can't emphasize enough the peace and tranquility you feel here. We wish we could have stayed longer to have enjoyed more of the B&B (including use of that hot tub!), but with no doubt we will be back soon. We can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictorianPoppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Ken and I spent a long weekend, our first ever in Campbell River, at the Hidden Harbour B&B in early February. What a little gem is. The room (the downstairs suite) is very comfortable, cozy with a fire place. A little kitchen allowed us to relax and prepare a light snack for dinner when we were too tired to enjoy a dinner out. The hot tub is right outside the door and always available. The location is very convenient and the view is spectacular. We were treated to a beautiful sunrise on the second morning.
The breakfasts were delicious and very generous, European style, fresh fruit, bread, cheeses, cereal, yogurt followed by a tasty main course. Certainly kept us going for the day!
However, best of all, the hosts, Inge and Jurgen, are very friendly, interesting and full og great advice on how best to see this beautiful corner of Vancouver Island. We will be back. Thank you INge and Jurgen.
Inge and Ken

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IngeRiis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Campbell River hotels
1.7 mi away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
334 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
275 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Austrian Chalet
Best Western Austrian Chalet
#4 of 16 in Campbell River
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Heron's Landing Hotel
Heron's Landing Hotel
#7 of 16 in Campbell River
196 reviews
3.9 mi away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#2 of 16 in Campbell River
1,053 reviews
2.5 mi away
Beachway B&B Suites
Beachway B&B Suites
#4 of 16 in Campbell River
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Harbour Vacation Rental and B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Harbour Vacation Rental and B&B

Property: Hidden Harbour Vacation Rental and B&B
Address: 279 Murphy St S, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 1Y8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Campbell River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hidden Harbour Vacation Rental and B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Campbell River on Vancouver Island, on the West Coast of Canada, features more than 10 km of shoreline and is the recreational hub for the central and north island! The Hidden Harbour Vacation Rental and B&B, surrounded by colourful gardens, is overlooking Discovery Passage - customers may enjoy their privacy, the panoramic Ocean View, and all other amenities, just like in a shell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hidden Harbour Vacation Rental and B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Harbour Vacation Rental And B&B Campbell River, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing