We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise - rustic chic with great food!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Campbell River
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dolphins Resort and Anglers Dining
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I've stayed in Campbell River dozens of times, and I thought I had tried out every hotel, but was pleasantly surprised when my husband recently booked us in at Dolphins Resort. Out cabin overlooked the straits with huge cruise ships passing almost close enough to touch. The cabin was rustic but well appointed and clean. We had a hot tub on the deck. An amazing surprise was the awesome on-site restaurant with complementary breakfast (off the gourmet menu). Splendid stay - I'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Get a cabin close to the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank sixstoriesBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

We are a bit "at odds" with others reviewing this accommodation but anyway....

We stayed in the beach house which was beautiful, secluded and had fabulous views. We loved the hot tub and the fact that we could cook the salmon we caught on the BBQ! Yes, lighting was dim but we didn't find that a problem.

The "packed" food we had - a lunch and a continental breakfast delivered to our cabin was great. We didn't love the restaurant - as others have - we may have been spoilt in Vancouver but felt it confused quantity with quality - good hearty fare, no doubt and nothing to complain about but not our favourite.

Happy with price and would definitely return - just for the views and tranquility!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Susand70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Let me start off my review by saying this is a fishing resort...not a fancy all inclusive couples getaway kind of resort. I chose this opening after reading the two "terrible" reviews. Not all resorts are created equal. That being said....let the review begin!

We stayed in Cabin 7 which is their 4 bedroom cabin. Rustic, vintage, quaint are all words I can use to describe it. After checking in, we received a message that the rest of the adults in our party needed to "check in" as well. They took a $300.00 pre authorization on each of their cards. It was my wife, her mom, her sister, and her aunt in our party. So I'm not understanding why they took a pre auth on each of their cards. Perhaps I will get an answer if they respond to this review.

I do agree with one of the other reviews...the lighting is a bit dim. Not sure if that is to set the vintage mood or not. Brighter bulbs would be nice.

The beds were a bit firm. But comfortable for the most part. Two of the rooms had their own bathrooms with showers and the other two rooms shared a bath that had a tub. The kitchen was quite roomy and had all the stuff you need to cook meals. The bedrooms were a bit small but you were able to move around without too much difficulty.
One nice thing about the cabins...each one has their own private hot tub.

The restaurant was quite nice. We only had breakfast each day. The food was very good.
They have a nice deck to sit on and enjoy your meal.

Overall, this is very nice place to stay whether you have family or if you want a couples getaway.

Room Tip: Water front Cabins would be a nice choice....awesome views of the water and float planes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Canada_eh64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carmenamberson, Manager at Dolphins Resort and Anglers Dining, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Firstly, Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We truly believe that all types of feedback help us to grow and improve our little resort.

The dolphins resort was first built in 1947 as a fishing resort, so you are correct in saying that we are a quaint fishing resort. With that being said, many people have begun to see the charm in the property and with the addition of the restaurant it was a natural move for our business to begin hosting special events.

To address the issue surround the pre authorization. The bride and groom we our clients and you their guests. They asked us to collect a per person rate which you would have been made aware of by invitation to the wedding, at time of reservation and at registration. Because we are were asked to collect a per person amount, we are required by credit card law to take a pre authorization on each person.

I hope this clears this up for you!

If you would like to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact me at 250-287-3066 ext 3.

I look forward to hearing from you!

Warm Regards,
Carmen Amberson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We came for dinner on July 17th. I had the seafood pasta while my mom had the rib eye. Both portions were generous and very tasty. Service was great and despite being a local I never tire of the view towards quadra island. This is a hidden gems.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Caren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night as part of our Island Joy Rides multi-night trip. Though the food was superb, the lodging easily ranked last among the places we stayed.

First, the positives: front desk staff were lovely as was every person we met on site. We had the most amazing beachside seafood dinner arranged by Laurel from Island Joy Rides. Our server, Heather was fabulous. The dinner itself was the best dinner of our trip. The memory of both the raw and cooked oysters are making me miss BC. The chef came down to the beach to introduce himself and meet with our group. Breakfast the next morning was also our best breakfast.

The cabin had a lovely view of the water from its large deck. That was about the only thing I liked about the very rustic cabin. Furniture was old. Beds were old. It was dark and felt damp, stuffy, and dingy. We arrived on a hot day to no AC. We opened the windows to discover no screens. We only kept them open until dusk because bugs started coming in. I reached into the corner to plug something into one of the few outlets and it was covered in dust. The bathroom was cramped and needed modernizing desperately. There was not a single spot to plug in a nightlight. The one single outlet near the light did not work. This just felt rustic, not like it had rustic charm. And I know this resort does not come cheap.

I overheard the front desk person have to tell someone on the phone that they were booked every weekend through October with weddings. Clearly, they have revenue coming in. Given their stellar location and fine cuisine, it would be so good to see them begin to update and modernize the cabins. They could maintain their historical integrity while adding light, AC, screens on the windows, better mattresses, and other conveniences/comforts commensurate with the price.

Until then, I can only recommend it (and highly) as a dining establishment, but not for it's lodging.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReviewerMaryland1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carmenamberson, Manager at Dolphins Resort and Anglers Dining, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Firstly, Thank you so much for letting us know how we are doing. With out all types of feedback we would not be able to grow and improve.

We have made note of your suggestions and will take them into strong consideration as we continue to grow and improve our little resort.

If you would like to discuss this further please feel free to give me a call at 250-287-3066 ext 3.

I look forward to hearing from you!

Warm Regards,
Carmen Amberson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We were staying nearby, and locals recommended we have a dinner at the small restaurant at Dolphins Resort. We enjoyed at deck table with beautiful view of the water, and the food was just as delicious as we heard it would be. The resort cabins look charming and the setting is lovely. Glad we took the recommendation for the dinner, and next time we are in this area, we would definitely consider staying in one of the cabins.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ceeatlbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed here for a weekend and had a wonderful time. The accommodations are older cabins, but very well kept and clean. Most have a great ocean view with hot-tubs so you can watch the cruise liners go by in the evenings. The restaurant may be the best on Vancouver Island. Prices are reasonable, the servings are generous and the service is prompt and pleasant. You must make reservations or you'll be waiting forever to get in. Overall a great stop for a romantic weekend away. Make sure to get a seat on the restaurant deck on a warm summer evening - hard to imagine a better place to be.

Room Tip: Make sure that you get an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HyackNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Campbell River hotels
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
342 reviews
4.7 mi away
Best Western Austrian Chalet
Best Western Austrian Chalet
#4 of 16 in Campbell River
585 reviews
13 mi away
Oyster Bay Resorts
Oyster Bay Resorts
#8 of 16 in Campbell River
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#2 of 16 in Campbell River
426 reviews
0.5 mi away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
1,278 reviews
8.1 mi away
Brown's Bay Resort
Brown's Bay Resort
#2 of 15 in Campbell River
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphins Resort and Anglers Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphins Resort and Anglers Dining

Address: 4125 Discovery Dr, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 4X6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Campbell River
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A PLACE TO GETAWAY TO COME TOGETHER Oceanfront & Garden View Cozy Cabins • Private Hot Tubs • Wood Fireplaces • Fully Equipped Kitchens • Pet Friendly Breathe in fresh ocean air while enjoying the mesmerizing views of Discovery Passage and the Coastal Mountain Range. Embrace the beauty of lush gardens, exceptional amenities and gourmet west coast dining at Anglers. Surrounded by nature, with comfort in mind. Renowned for its old fashioned charm and year round fun. Dolphins Resort specializes in fishing adventures, breathtaking destination weddings and group gatherings of all kinds. From majestic firs, beautiful gardens and the ocean breeze, to genuine family hospitality, experience Dolphins Resort - the perfect combination of woodland, ocean and simple pleasures. Located on Northern Vancouver Island, minutes from Campbell River, BC, Canada. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dolphins Resort And Anglers Dining Campbell River, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing