We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value”
Review of Above Tide Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Above Tide Motel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is a dated motel, with older appliances that is situated beside the highway in Campbell River. That's the bad news. The good news is that the unit is absolutely oceanfront, with spectacular views and lovely breezes. It is impeccably clean, and the concrete block walls muffle most of the road noise. Value for money. You bet!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank OPD6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2013

Above the Tide Motel is a great little place close to down town Campbell River. The Motel is older but well maintained. We stay here quite often when shopping in Campbell River.

All the rooms have view and faces active pass (shipping lane) where you can watch the cruise ships go by, whales, dolphins..... it's like a nature show on TV, but with a massive screen. Sliding doors out to the balcony.

You will get some road noise from the road, but not disturbing. Parking is outside in front of the Motel.

The price is right, very affordable.

Room Tip: We always try to get a room on the top floor (2nd floor), view is better and no noise from above. Ke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anders T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Once I got over myself I realized this place was quite great. The view from the 3rd floor was awesome, the sunrise was beautiful. The highway noise woke me up a few times, earplugs would be helpful. No neighbor noise due to the cinder blocks. Very clean, we picked this motel as it didn't have that weird smell that some do - neutral scent!! Pillows are so comfortable, towels are nice as well. Nice man at the front, I'd stay again!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tleec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Found this by accident, it is just outside the town but an easy walk to the quay. Excellent value for money, the view alone was worth the price. The Museum across the road is well worth a visit.A chicken salad and a bottle of wine overlooking the Sound with salmon leaping out of the water, I can think of worse places!

Room Tip: Go for an upstairs room, the views are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I've stayed at this motel in the past, and it's still a good deal -- if you're looking for something basic, clean and well-priced. The rooms are a bit dated, but there's a great view of the ocean.

The motel is right off of the old highway, so bring earplugs. But, if you're looking to save a few dollars in a safe, comfortable room, it's fine.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank john_travelideas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Very clean with a great view over the water.
This is an older facility but very clean and the road noise is acceptable for the location.
A consistently good value as I have stayed here several times , the last for 1 week on business in Campbell River.
The towels are thick and the kitchenette is basic with no microwave but a full stove and fridge. Dishes are basic but usable.
Best thing is the location and consistent cleanliness, oh yeah the price helps any lack in luxury.

Room Tip: Top floor best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BRENT B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

The view from every room is spectacular., plus, this homey, friendly motel is almost directly across the highway from the fabulous Campbell River Museum. Yes, the walls are cinderblock, but the beds are quite comfortable and the furniture is definitely not the creepy, standard-issue cookie-cutter stuff you see in chain motels. The drinking glasses are actual glass, not cheap plastic cups. The bath was just fine. And the view! Wow! We spent two enjoyable nights. The motel is very close to the highway, but you don't hear any highway noise unless you need to leave the bathroom window open. This affordable motel is a really great value.

Room Tip: I would go for the 2nd floor rooms. They all have private balconies. I think the first floor rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aanaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Campbell River hotels
1 mi away
Best Western Austrian Chalet
Best Western Austrian Chalet
#4 of 16 in Campbell River
583 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
342 reviews
0.9 mi away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#2 of 16 in Campbell River
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Anchor Inn & Suites
Anchor Inn & Suites
#11 of 16 in Campbell River
220 reviews
1 mi away
Heron's Landing Hotel
Heron's Landing Hotel
#8 of 16 in Campbell River
204 reviews
9.2 mi away
Oyster Bay Resorts
Oyster Bay Resorts
#7 of 16 in Campbell River
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Above Tide Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Above Tide Motel

Address: 361 Island Hwy, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 2B5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Price Range: £55 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Above Tide Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under New Management: Denise and Peter will be happy to greet you! *Peter Spricht Deutsch (Peter speaks German) ~ Ocean front motel. All rooms have beautiful ocean and mountain views. 16 rooms offer private balconies with this view. Free wifi and the usual standard amenities in all our rooms; kitchen suites are especially spacious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Above Tide Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Above Tide Motel Campbell River, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing