We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Campbell River Whale Watching and Adventure Tours
Ranked #1 of 30 Tours in Campbell River
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We can be found in "The Floathouse" located on Dock E in the Discovery Harbour Marina in beautiful Campbell River, British Columbia.
Redmond, Oregon
Level Contributor
108 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

this is the second time I went out with Campbell river whale watching and adventure tours and it was awesome. the first time in 2011 we didn't see many bears this time clearly made up for it. I get that they are wild animals and you can't make them show up when you want, they either do or don't and we had 8 at one time pretty amazing. Jack was great and the boat trip was made more enjoyable with the information along the way he shared with us, but those bears. we saw a sow with 3 cubs which is unusual and watching them all interact and catch salmon was incredible. On the boat trip we saw sea lions, purpose and dolphins and two immature sea lions swimming with some dolphins I have never seen that before. so if you are looking for a truly incredible experience this is it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank airportcarrie n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    10
    6
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of the best days ever !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

19th Sept - we were lucky with the weather but even a downpour wouldn't have taken away our wonderful day with Jack - superb guide and captain - knowledgable and passionate about BC and it's riches - we are seasoned nature watchers across the globe and this day was an equal to some of our best experiences , a fantastic opportunity to get up close ( very close !) to a huge salmon eating male Grizzly who ate , caught and munched right before us -( plus about another 6 adults and 5 cubs ) we were safe , the first nation guides professional and respectful to their environment - after a superb lunch ( didn't expect to be commenting on the food !) the day managed to get even better with an orca pod apparently in pursuit of a porpoise ... Oh and don't forget the location and the welcome from Jack - thank you :)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BethSparrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“not so many bears”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

For years we have seen the iconic picture of scores of grizzly bears feasting on spawning salmon. On Sept. 16, the height of bear viewing season, we went with CRWW and AT to see the grizzlies. This company is terrific! Owner Jack and guides are great. But here is the reality. You go by boat out of Campbell River for two hours north to First Native lands. Scenery is awesom. Then you transfer to a First Nations bus with a guide. Then you drive a bit to viewing platforms along the river. And then, for two hours, we saw one bear at a distance for a few seconds. Seems that the day before there were also no bears to be seen. (In fact, we took this company on another tour to see whales and there were no whales to be seen.) My point is, British Columbia hypes bear viewing with all sorts of ads and publicity. But seems the bear population for the entire area where we were is only 25 bears. So the chances of seeing them are small. Forget those publicity photos . You won't see them out of Campbell River. You will see lots of porpoises.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle, Colorado
2 reviews
“Fabulous Even with Rain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We went out on August 27th as the first heavy rain of the summer arrived. We began with a fine latte at the coffee bar and then enjoyed watching excellent videos of wildlife seen on past trips in the comfortable waiting area. We were dressed warmly with sweaters and waterproof jackets and our boat was comfy, warm and had a bathroom. We saw an amazing amount of wildlife on the wildlife tour despite episodes of heavy rain throughout the day, since the animals were all out - many Orca, Steller sea lions, Dall porpoises, Harbor seals, many sea birds and even a Cinnamon bear on shore! Our excellent guide Aaron skippered the boat through smooth waters and provided a knowledgeable commentary about the places and the animals we saw. He lowered a microphone into the water so we could hear the Orca communicating - spectacular! He allowed plenty of time for photos and answered our many questions. A delicious lunch was served on a sheltered patio. Our fellow guests came from far and away and we enjoyed the international company. We traveled through passages where ocean rapids occur, learned about them and also some of the history of the area. The weather gave the day an ethereal, peaceful quality, especially since the entire trip was so professionally managed. Thanks Jack! for an unforgettable and wonderful experience and Thanks Aaron! for a great day on the water! Dr. Suzanne B., Colorado

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneBAlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent grizzly bear tour - Highly recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We went with CR Whale Watching to the Orford River. All I can say is WOW.. What an amazing experience. Comfortable aluminium boat with washroom facilities. Very kind & knowledgeable staff. We saw 6 grizzly bears including a mamma & 3 cubs. It was so good to see them up close and in their natural habitat. Lunch & snacks were provided & it was really nice homemade stuff! Saw 150ish pacific white sided dolphins, eagles & sea lions on the way home. Superb!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Campbell River Whale Watching and Adventure Tours also viewed

Campbell River, Vancouver Island
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Campbell River Whale Watching and Adventure Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing