We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Little Cottages”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Driftwood by the Sea Inn and RV Resort
canada
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The Best Little Cottages”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

My husband and I stayed in the cutest cottage and it was so clean. I had seen the reviews on trip advisor and e-mailed up to see if they had a cottage and I received back the most friendly call. After we booked we received a list from the owner with places to eat and things to do which I had never had happen before. We tried most of the places and they were all very good. She also told us about a place to eat in Comox and again it was great. The cottage had everything you could need and the front porch was a great place to sit and have a cold drink after a day of sightseeing. The beach is right across the street we never got a chance to use the special bucket for the beach maybe next time. We will be back again for the cute clean cottage,#3, the friendly chats with the owners, and the chocolate. Great place to stay and see Port Hardy in one day.
Thanks Karen for a great 3 night stay. I almost forgot it was very exciting to see the cruise ships go by at night with all their lights.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadaPowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen b, Owner at Driftwood by the Sea Inn and RV Resort, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you so much for coming to stay with us!
We enjoyed your stay with us too.
#3 Cottage is waiting and the Cruise Ships will be starting again soon!
Hope to see you again,
Many Thanks,
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    16
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
43
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

When you arrive, you'll see that the cottages are connected (not separate) and that the RV park is just next to them. Don't let this deter you. This wonderful place is so clean and well appointed, it's amazing. Karen is possibly the most friendly hostess I've ever encountered. She let us know about all of the best sights and eateries, giving us a map and directions. She has a fun bucket all ready for her guests to take to the beach across the street (at the cross walk light, making it easy and safe), with a blanket, corkscrew, plastic wine glasses, fire starter items & cooking skewers (for your hot dogs or smores!). Karen has thought of everything. Oh yes, and I'm writing this review on her free Wi-Fi!! The front porch has lovely chairs to enjoy the view, and luxurious hanging floral baskets.
There is a kitchen, bathroom, living room and separate bedroom with CLEAN bedding. Nice. AND she comes in and makes the bed and leaves more chocolates (yeah!), coffee & tea. At half (or less than half) the price of local lodging her lodging is perfect for the budget minded.

Room Tip: We had room #5. You might get a better view closer to the office, but 5 is also on the end, so that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fortunateones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen b, Owner at Driftwood by the Sea Inn and RV Resort, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you very much for coming to stay with us!
I hope that your adventurous travels bring you back to Campbell River and to the Driftwood, sometime soon!
We enjoyed your visit with us very much.
All the Best,
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyster River BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

There are appearances and then there is the reality. We stayed in one of their "cottages" which was really a very tired ancient mobile house. Taps leaked, the bed was very hard softened only by our own 2 inch mattress topper. Pervasive smell of mildew in the kitchen. Rules, OMG such rules they have, right down to what one can and cannot cook. There was internet and lots of rules around that as well, which people didn't follow making the internet often unavailable. Spartan furnishings, big gaps in the poorly installed laminate flooring and very poorly decorated rendering a sad slap dashed ambience. Right on a very busy highway that reverberated through the mobile from early morning til mid evening. Finally, this may seem odd but discovered that a compass wavered dramatically within the walls of the mobile from front to back which may have explained why we felt tired and just off when we were inside. We would not recommend this as a healthy place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TheWanderers777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen b, Owner at Driftwood by the Sea Inn and RV Resort, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Response to: "Pays Paradise Live in a Parking Lot"

We do agree - there are Appearances and then there is Reality.
The Low Vacancy rate, and Loyalty from our many Repeat Guests, does not reflect the opinions of this review. Without exception, our many Guests from around the World have posted positve reviews on Trip Advisor.
If they experienced hardship with their Accommodation we are at a loss to understand why they would have remained as Guests for 9 Months.On inspection after the Guests left, a distinct "medical/ herbal/incense odor" permeated the Accommodation .
All Accommodation includes Free Hydro, Cable & Internet -with the opportunity to upgrade for High Internet useage.
As the Park is located 5 minutes to Downtown, we are unable to alieviate the flow of City Traffic. Also,we are unable to comment regarding the "Compass wavering within the walls" of their Accommodation.
Please see pictures of all Accommodation at Trip Advisor and our Website. We are proud to provide excellent Accommodation and Hospitality Service for all of our Guests. All Accommodtion is kept in a pristine and new condition.
We hope that these Long Term Guests,were able to secure other Accommodation that will fit their many needs.
Regards,
Driftwood by the Sea RV Park and Cottage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beloit, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

My husband and I flew into Campbell River to go on a kayak tour with West Coast Expeditions and needed a place to stay our first night chose Driftwood by the Sea. We only spent one night, but would love to stay there again. The owner is very friendly and helpful with local information and getting settled in. The location was great, being across the street from the beach. The cottage was very clean with a nice deck in the front and kitchen facilities.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen b, Owner at Driftwood by the Sea Inn and RV Resort, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
What a wonderful trip and adventure you were on when we had the opportunity to provide you with one of our Cottages for your stay.
Thank you very much for staying with us!
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We booked our cottage during a weekend that saw visitors for Campbell River loggers sports, a reunion of 600 people and a wedding. The RV lot was completly full, but Karen was more than accomodating with our addition of one more adult to our room. The cottage was perfect, pull-out couch, big screen TV, kitchen table and chairs, fridge, stove, coffee maker, toaster. All super clean, fresh paint, clean carpets and flooring. The bedroom has a comfortable queen size bed, made with clean crisp sheets and a fluffy duvet. The bathroom has a shower, no tub, clean fresh white towels, no grunge or mold, all super clean. Great value, close to town and across the street is the ocean, complete with a pedestrian walk way, great for a run.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen b, Owner at Driftwood by the Sea Inn and RV Resort, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you Louise for coming to stay with us at the Driftwood.
It was a busy time in Campbell River!!
We were so pleased that you chose to stay with us!
Thanks,
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We had three adults for our stay in one of the Driftwood by the Sea's cottages and we all thoroughly enjoyed our time there. The cottage we stayed in was not large but had everything we needed to be comfortable. The cottage was very well setup including a small kitchen that had stove, fridge, plates, cutlery - everything that we needed including coffee supplied for the morning. Everything from the cottage itself, the bath room and the bed linens and towels were super clean. The beds were very comfortable. The location was great with downtown a few minutes away and the property has a great view of the Straight of Georgia and a sea wall walk across the street. We all highly recommend Driftwood by the Sea to anyone visiting Campbell river that is looking for reasonably priced, comfortable accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikefromCoquitlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen b, Owner at Driftwood by the Sea Inn and RV Resort, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you Mike for coming to stay with us Driftwood by the Sea!
We hope that you are making plans to visit Vancouver Island again soon and that Campbell River and especially the Driftwood are part of your plans.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Many Thanks,
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We needed a place to stay for a couple of days while we made a plan for our time in Campbell River area. The folks at Driftwood by the Sea were so helpful, and got us settled in promptly. They have really nice cottages for people who do not have RV's. And they are a short walk to a lovely beach with lots to see. The only thing that was not great was the taste of the water, but that was easily fixed by buying a gallon of drinking water. Also laundry facilities are on the list of things to be added. I would highly recommend this place to stay.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad space anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MelissaWilkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Driftwood by the Sea Inn and RV Resort, responded to this review, 23 June 2012
We always enjoy welcoming our Guests and try to make their visit with us , one of the best memories of their trip!
The taste of water can vary so much from one locale to another. All of our Water is supplied by the City of Campbell River, as we are on the City Water and Sewer system. All infrastructure in the Park, is new too!
Thank you!
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbell River
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
288 reviews
1.3 mi away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
356 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anchor Inn & Suites
Anchor Inn & Suites
#12 of 16 in Campbell River
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Austrian Chalet
Best Western Austrian Chalet
#4 of 16 in Campbell River
529 reviews
82.3 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,430 reviews
9.6 mi away
Salmon Point Resort RV Park & Marina
Salmon Point Resort RV Park & Ma...
#7 of 15 in Campbell River
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood by the Sea Inn and RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood by the Sea Inn and RV Resort

Property: Driftwood by the Sea Inn and RV Resort
Address: 170 Island Hwy S | Campbe;; River, B.C, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 1A3, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Campbell River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Driftwood by the Sea Inn and RV Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Driftwood by the Sea Inn and RV Resort! We are a Year-Round, quiet, Adult oriented Inn and RV Resort offering Daily,Short, Longterm or Holiday stays for our Guests. Located across from the Beach, overlooking the Ocean and Mudge Point Lighthouse, we are on the main Ocean Passage for all vessels heading North to Alaska. From our Ocean View Cottages or our Level, Spacious RV Sites ( 30 or 50 amp power), enjoy sparkling Cruise Ship views, have a Beach Fire or walk our beautiful 8 km Seawalk. Our thoroughly pristine, well Appointed Cottages provide exceptional quality. Full Kitchens with all amenities, Flat Screen TV and DVD Player. Cable and Wifi for all Guests. We are located five minutes to Downtown, close to all Restaurants and Boutique Shopping. Come for Adventure - go Whale or Bear Watching, Fishing or Sailing. Enjoy Campbell River and our Outstanding Oceanview Cottages at Driftwood by the Sea Inn and RV Resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Driftwood by the Sea Inn and RV Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood By The Sea Inn And RV Resort Campbell River, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing