We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for a family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Austrian Chalet
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Just back from a week-long stay at the Best Western Austrian Chalet. Very clean rooms, very courteous staff, nice breakfast & great pool. Only complaint is the 'kitschy' exterior decor (but no doubt some folks find that to be a plus :-) )

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatriciaH-M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2012

Yes, we do have a unique exterior design! Though the main thing is exactly what you mentioned, rooms were clean and comfortable! Thank you for the great feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (567)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

426 - 432 of 567 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2012

Older place, but very nicely kept. Has a loft which had a great view of the ocean. Staff very friendly & helpful. Great cont. breakfast ( includes eggs & sausages ). Only knock is there is no a/c. Nice little balconies with ocean view. Even saw 2 cruise ships pass by last night. Old definitely stay here again

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank harleydon13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2012

Thank you for your compliment! We take pride in keeping our hotel clean and welcoming. As mentioned in other posts we are moving forward with updates to the guest rooms. Glad you got to enjoy the vessels passing through, hopefully you had a chance to see some of the wild life as well!!! Enjoy the rest of the summer and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

It's not the newest place but it offers great value for my family. I go there every year. Indoor pool / hot tub, barbque pit and complimentry breakfast makes it easy to entertain and feed my kids. The beach is right across the road and there's a pub next door for the adults.

Room Tip: No A/C but rarely that warm to need it. Ground floor rooms have easy access to the pool and lawn are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2012

It is always great to hear from our regulars!!! Glad to see we are providing great value for you and your family. Next time you stay our rooms will have completed the upgrades for your comfort and enjoyment. See you next time!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

This hotel is on Island Highway across from the water. No view to speak of. Price is high for the age of the hotel. Service was okay. We had to change rooms because of the cliental! Breakfast, which is included is a no go....very small space and I just walked away. I would suggest that you shop around for a hotel in Campbell River. We were visiting friends so we cancelled our second night and moved on to Comox. There is another hotel in Campbell River at the same location which is better.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynnwilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2012

We're sorry to hear your stay with us wasn't more pleasent. As a complimentary breakfast we feel we provide great value with an omlete, sauage, bagels, waffels, etc. However I do understand the concern of space. We have been looking at options to open this up. Please next time you come to Campbell River ask for one of our ocean view rooms!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

stayed here for 3 nights
we had a king bed loft room, which was very clean but somewhat dated, TV also needs updating.
The road outside is pretty busy and noisy most of the day, our bed was upstairs and comfy.
Compared to the rest of our hotel stays the internet was one of the slowest (dont know if thats because of where we were ...or not)
Free breakfast was ok with the normal offerings.
We did enjoy our walks along the sea pathway and watching the eagles soaring around us was brillant.
Overall a good stay, but did feel that the hotel having a B/W Plus status, I perhaps was hoping for more modern facilities which I have experienced with other Best Western Plus hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank t-m-c-m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2012

We are pleased to hear you had a wonderful time during your visit to Campbell River and during your stay with us at the BW Austrian Chalet. We have been replacing our tvs with new flat screens and will be continuing the updates throughout the rooms during the fall/winter. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We stayed 3 nights in July. It was clean. The bed was comfortable and the breakfast was decent. It was hot the week we were there and they do not have a/c. The cool breeze at night helped, but without screens on the windows it was not ideal. The high ceilings gave character, but the room felt a little small with all the furniture selections. Good value.

Stayed: July 2012
Thank Mcbears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2012

We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I can appreciate this feedback, we have been looking in to options for the screens for the sliding doors as the tracks wont allow us to install a screen door. It's also nice to have the door open to welcome the ocean breeze! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We were here for 3 nights the last week of June for a family event. The room was clean and reasonably comfortable, a bit dated but then the bed was comfortable after a busy day. The only negative was a backed up toilet however they brought up a plunger and that was soon solved. They have the decent breakfast which, although not fancy, made a nice start to the day. Overall we will certainly stay here again the next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Chilli56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

We look forward to having you again!! We have recently replaced all of our beds so we're happy to hear you had a good nights sleep!! Our breakfast provides a great start to any morning, omletes, sauage, waffles and a fresh cup of coffee!!! Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. Enjoy the rest of the summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Campbell River hotels
1.9 mi away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#2 of 16 in Campbell River
404 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
335 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anchor Inn & Suites
Anchor Inn & Suites
#11 of 16 in Campbell River
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Heron's Landing Hotel
Heron's Landing Hotel
#8 of 16 in Campbell River
204 reviews
8.3 mi away
Oyster Bay Resorts
Oyster Bay Resorts
#7 of 16 in Campbell River
58 reviews
4.2 mi away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Austrian Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Austrian Chalet

Address: 462 Island Hwy S, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 1A5, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Price Range: £47 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Austrian Chalet 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visitors to Campbell River Hotels are bound to be overjoyed for selecting the BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet as the site of their next vacation or business trip. Guests can sit back in their rooms, our garden area, or huddle near the fireplace in the lobby to relax. They are sure to enjoy a spectacular ocean view of Discovery Passage, Georgia Strait and the Pacific Ocean. Meanwhile, their hosts will be glad to fill them in on the many leisure time possibilities in or near Campbell River, BC, includes golfing, salmon fishing, grizzly bear watching, kayaking, whale watching, skiing, mountain/rock climbing and horseback riding. Visitors can also enjoy our fitness facilities, pool, and hot tub Whatever accommodation they selected from the wide variety of loft rooms, suites, or kitchenettes, they will rest comfortably knowing that their friendly and knowledgeable staff is eager and ready to serve them to make their stay in their Campbell River Hotel a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Austrian Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Austrian Chalet Hotel Campbell River
Best Western Campbell River
Campbell River Best Western
Best Western Austrian Chalet Campbell River, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing