We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean place and nice staff. Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean place and nice staff. Perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at this Hotel-Motel twice in the last month period and it is very nice location. Rooms had ocean view so that was enjoyable. It was very clean and staff were friendly and competent.
I would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bojan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Thank you for your review! It is always nice to hear our guests sharing their experiences with others. Our rooms over look the ocean and with the spring days coming we are fortunate to experience beautiful views. We have been working hard all winter to update each guest room with granite counter tops, new bathroom vanities and update our kitchenettes with new cabinets, cooktops and granite counter tops. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    201
    125
    38
    22
See reviews for
141
189
21
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night and here is the breakdown of our stay:

1. Location: Superb. Located directly across from the water, you can hear the waves from the room (which can be a good thing or a bad thing since the heavy rainfall on the night of our stay meant the sound of the waves was a lot louder than usual). We stayed in a room on the ground floor and had a decent view of the water from our room.

2. Room: We stayed in a slightly smaller than average room with a king-sized bed. The bathroom was small but very clean. The bathroom amenities included face soap, bath soap and Pantene shampoo and conditioner. The room also came equipped with a small kitchenette including a refrigerator, stove top and microwave. An unexpected but pleasant surprise was a "fresh" remote control for the flatscreen television in the room.

3. Breakfast: Continental breakfast was included in our rate, which was a nice touch. The breakfast spread included waffle maker, selection of cereal, yogurt, coffee and tea, toast, scrambled eggs and fresh fruit.

Overall, we were pleasantly surprised with our stay. There aren't a lot of options for high-end accommodations in Campbell River so we were hesitant about staying at the Best Western but we would stay here again. There isn't much of a chalet feeling and the place has more of a motel feel but it was clean, good value and good location.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenApple07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and that we will be able to see you again! The room you had was our traditional king Kitchenette. We have just redone these rooms with new cabinets, bathroom vanities, granite counter tops, new cooktops and fridges. Our views of the ocean across the way are one of a kind! It was also a pleasure to hear you enjoyed our continental breakfast. We are looking at other options to offer to add variety. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nanaimo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

I had a great stay at the hotel. Staff was friendly, room was clean, and the breakfast was enjoyable. Some newly renovated rooms. Quiet, well-kept, and managed well! I will be staying here next time I am in town on business.

Room Tip: There are some newly renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jill c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Great to hear you will be booking with us in the future! We are finishing up our upgardes to the rooms with granite counter tops, new bathroom vanities complete with granite counter tops and undermounted sinks. The kitchenette units are all new cabinets, granite counter tops, cooktops and stainless steel fridges.

Great to hear you enjoyed the breakfast, and your stay! We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
158 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

I have stayed in another accommodation in the past here, which I rated very good for $$ affordablility... but for comfort and overall modern amenities this is the best option I have found in Campbell River. Great view overlooking the water and right at the 50th Parallel marker. Just 5 minutes south of town on the Old Island Highway - hot and cold options for continental breakfast as well as an exercise facility and next to a pub.

Room Tip: A room in the south-back would be the quietest as the Highway goes by, and the pub is on the north s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Thank you for your review! We take pride in our ocean view rooms and cleanliness. We are working hard every day to provide high value to all our guests. As mentioned we do have the deluxe continental with hot and cold items, along with indoor pool and hot tub. Currently finishing the updates to the rooms with granite counter tops, new bathroom vanities and some rooms with modern kitchenettes. We have also replaced all our tvs with flat screens complete with HDTV. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
113 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013 via mobile

It felt like I checked in a roadside motel , the layout and the exterior looked like one of those drive inns. Nothing wrong with that , but this carries the "best western" name. Large flat screen in my room is good, however tv programs are limited. Bed is comfortable , nice clean linens and pluffy pillows. Breakfast has good selections or pastries, pancakes, eggs, sausages, fruits. Wifi works well within the compound.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay! We get lots of compliments on our beds!! They have all just been replaced along with the flat screen tvs!! Thank you for comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Ridge, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

Only stayed one night. The accommodations were great for 5 adults and 2 teenagers, we had the 3 bedroom suite above the lobby. Great location to breakfast room. Easy to go down and bring your breakfast back up to the suite, which had a dining room to have breakfast. It isn't the most modern hotel, but is well kept and is right across from the ocean.....beautiful view from the hotel rooms. Would stay at again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank NADINE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Thank you for your review! The suite you mentioned is a great one for any family travelling together! We are in the middle up upgrading each room with granite counter tops, new bathroom vanities, drapes, bed skirting and sofas. We look forward to hosting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Campbell River hotels
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
1.9 mi away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heron's Landing Hotel
Heron's Landing Hotel
#5 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Anchor Inn & Suites
Anchor Inn & Suites
#12 of 16 in Campbell River
3.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
7.4 mi away
Oyster Bay Resorts
Oyster Bay Resorts
#8 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
4.2 mi away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#2 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet

Property: BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet
Address: 462 Island Hwy S, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 1A5, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visitors to Campbell River Hotels are bound to be overjoyed for selecting the BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet as the site of their next vacation or business trip. They will experience the outstanding quality standards recently confirmed by the hotel's achievement of the Best Western Director's Award which recognizes them as scoring in the top 20 percent of all 2400 North American properties. Guests will find the commitment of the BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet to meet their needs unmatched by other Campbell River Hotels or elsewhere. Guests can sit back in their rooms, our garden area, or huddle near the fireplace in the lobby to relax. They are sure to enjoy a spectacular ocean view of Discovery Passage, Georgia Strait and the Pacific Ocean. Meanwhile, their hosts will be glad to fill them in on the many leisure time possibilities in or near Campbell River, BC. The seemingly endless list of recreational activities, includes golfing, salmon fishing, grizzly bear watching, kayaking, whale watching, skiing, mountain/rock climbing and horseback riding. Visitors can also enjoy our fitness facilities, pool, and hot tub or catch up on their favourite movies on our satellite televisions. Whatever accommodation they selected from the wide variety of loft rooms, suites, or kitchenettes, they will rest comfortably knowing that their friendly and knowledgeable staff is eager and ready to serve them to make their stay in their Campbell River Hotel a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Austrian Chalet Hotel Campbell River
Best Western Campbell River
Campbell River Best Western
BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet Campbell River, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing