We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Austrian Chalet
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Reviewed 24 April 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Janice P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

395 - 401 of 568 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2013

Had a great 2 night stay in a 2 story room with 4 beds and 4 TV's! Room was really clean and in great shape. New bathroom vanities and kitchenette unit. Hotel has a great complimentary breakfast with 3 hot items, cereals, yogurt, fruit, waffle maker, etc. My son and I enjoyed the mini golf, swimming pool and ping pong table as well. The beach is right across the road and has a great walking path. Staff was really friendly too.

Room Tip: This room would sleep 10 people and has 2 bathrooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrissyJ768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

Thank you for your review. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay and the newest updates we have done to the rooms. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Good clean hotel with good amenities at good value. The 2 queen room was incredibly small feeling but had everything you need. The pool area, mini golf, free breakfast and ocean view were all great. However I did find that the walls are paper thin, we literally could hear every step the people on either side of us and above us made as well as every car that went by. We happen to be there while two hockey teams were there also and the entire hotel ran out of hot water by 7:30 in the morning the day we checked out. I have never experienced a hotel running out of hot water before....Having said that, I would likely stay here again due to the price, the location and the free breakfast.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the third floor with a direct ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3jellybeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and liked our mini golf and pool! Great for the spring/summer season! Our hotel is an older building but has lots of charm and we work hard to keep it updated and clean. As you noticed with the new HDTV flat screens, new bathroom vanities, granite counter tops. Our breakfast room will also be going through a transformation! thank you again for taking the time to submit a review and we look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at this Hotel-Motel twice in the last month period and it is very nice location. Rooms had ocean view so that was enjoyable. It was very clean and staff were friendly and competent.
I would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bojan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

Thank you for your review! It is always nice to hear our guests sharing their experiences with others. Our rooms over look the ocean and with the spring days coming we are fortunate to experience beautiful views. We have been working hard all winter to update each guest room with granite counter tops, new bathroom vanities and update our kitchenettes with new cabinets, cooktops and granite counter tops. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night and here is the breakdown of our stay:

1. Location: Superb. Located directly across from the water, you can hear the waves from the room (which can be a good thing or a bad thing since the heavy rainfall on the night of our stay meant the sound of the waves was a lot louder than usual). We stayed in a room on the ground floor and had a decent view of the water from our room.

2. Room: We stayed in a slightly smaller than average room with a king-sized bed. The bathroom was small but very clean. The bathroom amenities included face soap, bath soap and Pantene shampoo and conditioner. The room also came equipped with a small kitchenette including a refrigerator, stove top and microwave. An unexpected but pleasant surprise was a "fresh" remote control for the flatscreen television in the room.

3. Breakfast: Continental breakfast was included in our rate, which was a nice touch. The breakfast spread included waffle maker, selection of cereal, yogurt, coffee and tea, toast, scrambled eggs and fresh fruit.

Overall, we were pleasantly surprised with our stay. There aren't a lot of options for high-end accommodations in Campbell River so we were hesitant about staying at the Best Western but we would stay here again. There isn't much of a chalet feeling and the place has more of a motel feel but it was clean, good value and good location.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreenApple07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and that we will be able to see you again! The room you had was our traditional king Kitchenette. We have just redone these rooms with new cabinets, bathroom vanities, granite counter tops, new cooktops and fridges. Our views of the ocean across the way are one of a kind! It was also a pleasure to hear you enjoyed our continental breakfast. We are looking at other options to offer to add variety. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I had a great stay at the hotel. Staff was friendly, room was clean, and the breakfast was enjoyable. Some newly renovated rooms. Quiet, well-kept, and managed well! I will be staying here next time I am in town on business.

Room Tip: There are some newly renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jill c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Great to hear you will be booking with us in the future! We are finishing up our upgardes to the rooms with granite counter tops, new bathroom vanities complete with granite counter tops and undermounted sinks. The kitchenette units are all new cabinets, granite counter tops, cooktops and stainless steel fridges.

Great to hear you enjoyed the breakfast, and your stay! We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

I have stayed in another accommodation in the past here, which I rated very good for $$ affordablility... but for comfort and overall modern amenities this is the best option I have found in Campbell River. Great view overlooking the water and right at the 50th Parallel marker. Just 5 minutes south of town on the Old Island Highway - hot and cold options for continental breakfast as well as an exercise facility and next to a pub.

Room Tip: A room in the south-back would be the quietest as the Highway goes by, and the pub is on the north s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Thank you for your review! We take pride in our ocean view rooms and cleanliness. We are working hard every day to provide high value to all our guests. As mentioned we do have the deluxe continental with hot and cold items, along with indoor pool and hot tub. Currently finishing the updates to the rooms with granite counter tops, new bathroom vanities and some rooms with modern kitchenettes. We have also replaced all our tvs with flat screens complete with HDTV. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Campbell River hotels
1.9 mi away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#2 of 16 in Campbell River
405 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
335 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anchor Inn & Suites
Anchor Inn & Suites
#11 of 16 in Campbell River
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Heron's Landing Hotel
Heron's Landing Hotel
#8 of 16 in Campbell River
204 reviews
8.3 mi away
Oyster Bay Resorts
Oyster Bay Resorts
#7 of 16 in Campbell River
58 reviews
4.2 mi away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Austrian Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Austrian Chalet

Address: 462 Island Hwy S, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 1A5, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Price Range: £47 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Austrian Chalet 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visitors to Campbell River Hotels are bound to be overjoyed for selecting the BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet as the site of their next vacation or business trip. Guests can sit back in their rooms, our garden area, or huddle near the fireplace in the lobby to relax. They are sure to enjoy a spectacular ocean view of Discovery Passage, Georgia Strait and the Pacific Ocean. Meanwhile, their hosts will be glad to fill them in on the many leisure time possibilities in or near Campbell River, BC, includes golfing, salmon fishing, grizzly bear watching, kayaking, whale watching, skiing, mountain/rock climbing and horseback riding. Visitors can also enjoy our fitness facilities, pool, and hot tub Whatever accommodation they selected from the wide variety of loft rooms, suites, or kitchenettes, they will rest comfortably knowing that their friendly and knowledgeable staff is eager and ready to serve them to make their stay in their Campbell River Hotel a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Austrian Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Austrian Chalet Hotel Campbell River
Best Western Campbell River
Campbell River Best Western
Best Western Austrian Chalet Campbell River, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing