We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Austrian Chalet
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The Austrian Chalet in Campbell River is simply wonderful! Housekeeping staff went out of there way to meet our needs, and the loft room was cozy and very pleasant. The outdoor appearance as well as interior decor were delightful. The outdoor breakfast area was superb...I could sit there all day enjoying the fresh air and ocean view!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Pamela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

I will be sure to share with our Housekeeping staff of your comments. Our team here really works hard to provide exceptional service so you can enjoy your stay. Great to hear you enjoyed our ocean view from our breakfast patio. Many guests enjoy this, some have even been so lucky to see whales pass by. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (575)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

392 - 398 of 575 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed for 2 nights on a pleasure trip. We chose this hotel mainly because we had a small dog and I am a BW member.
The hotel is about 2 miles south of Campbell River downtown, on Hwy 19 . You can look at the water and over to Quadra Island, depending on the room your in.The grounds are nicely kept with ample close parking. There is an indoor pool and hot tub, both well maintained. If you get the second or Third floors you should have a nice view. We were on the bottom floor since we had the dog. The staff are all very friendly and helpful, some of the nicest I have ever met. Anita was especially nice and helped us out with a lot of patience. We did get moved as the room we were in was in a dark corner. The rooms are clean with fridges , microwaves and flat screen TV's, however are in need of updating. The only con is that on Fridays and Saturdays there are numerous baseball teams that come in and can be quite noisy.
The breakfast was the standard waffles, eggs ,muffins, cereal and sausage patties that is common to all Best Westerns.
The location is close to The beach, downtown Campbell River and shopping.
All in all ,not a bad place to stay at!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank skyrider705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Great to hear our staff was able to make your stay that much more enjoyable. You are right, we are very lucky to have the gorgeous ocean views that we have. Even from the bottom level you are able to enjoy the scenery. We are in the midst of doing many updates. As you had mentioned we have put in new flat screen tvs complete with HDTV, we're working on getting new sofa beds in the lofts suites that will be arriving next week. All the rooms are equipped with mini fridges, and the kitchenettes have the microwaves.

Thank you again for your feedback, and I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your time here at the Best Western Plus Austrian Chalet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We spent a night there in early July. We had a loft which was very nice. When out on the balcony
you had a great view of the ocean. We sitting out side taking pictures of an Eagle that was in a tree
right across from us. You can't ask for much more. The room had to TVs a loft and fridge. I will definitely stay here again when in the area. For the price it was great.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GummyStewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Sounds like you had a great experience! We're happy to hear you enjoyed the loft units, the lend them selfs to great views of the ocean across the street. We recently installed the flat screen tvs with HDTV this past October. We are currently waiting on our delivery of new sofa beds for the loft units, so next time you visit us there will be some more updates to enjoy! We look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Free Wi-Fi - sometimes. System needs a serious upgrade. Walk-in-back-out bathroom. Neighbour's smoke drifting into our room. Ok breakfast. Good beds. LOTS of good towels. Expensive. This town is hardly the centre of the universe but the price is right up there with the stars.

Room Tip: Look at some other places first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 33,895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

I'm sorry to hear your stay was average. We are working hard here at the property on our updates. It's great to hear you did enjoy our comfortable new beds and our towels. We do look forward to seeing you again, have a great summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and had a great experience. The staff is very friendly and the property is spotless. They were power washing the outside on the first day. Although the hotel is an older property it is well maintained and visually appealing. I recommend this hotel to other travellers.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chimo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. All of our staff work very hard to provide an enjoyable experience for all of our guests. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Due to surgical complications we had to book two more nights. We were not told in advance that the room rate would go up. also the energy charge of 2.85 was not mentioned either. We have never encountered this charge in the past. When we are given a room rate it is understood about the PST and GST any other charges should be laid out up front.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Irene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

I apologize for the surprise on our rate change. Our rates fluctuate during certain periods. We do our best to indicate to guests when the rates change, however sometimes we do miss it. I will address with the staff the importance of indicating this when extending stay or changing dates. Thank you for bringing this to my attention, and we do hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I found the Best western in Campbell River, awesome. Even the housekeeper, Debbie and her coworkers, plus all the staff employed at the best western, have done a marvelous job. Keep up the good work. :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Lorelei T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Thank you for acknowledging our hardworking staff! Debbie and the team work hard on a daily basis to provide our guests with a comfortable stay. We are always pleased to hear that our property is the "Best Place to Stay!" We are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit with us and we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Campbell River hotels
1.9 mi away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#2 of 16 in Campbell River
409 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
336 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anchor Inn & Suites
Anchor Inn & Suites
#11 of 16 in Campbell River
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Heron's Landing Hotel
Heron's Landing Hotel
#8 of 16 in Campbell River
204 reviews
8.3 mi away
Oyster Bay Resorts
Oyster Bay Resorts
#7 of 16 in Campbell River
58 reviews
4.2 mi away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Austrian Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Austrian Chalet

Address: 462 Island Hwy S, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 1A5, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Price Range: £42 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Austrian Chalet 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visitors to Campbell River Hotels are bound to be overjoyed for selecting the BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet as the site of their next vacation or business trip. Guests can sit back in their rooms, our garden area, or huddle near the fireplace in the lobby to relax. They are sure to enjoy a spectacular ocean view of Discovery Passage, Georgia Strait and the Pacific Ocean. Meanwhile, their hosts will be glad to fill them in on the many leisure time possibilities in or near Campbell River, BC, includes golfing, salmon fishing, grizzly bear watching, kayaking, whale watching, skiing, mountain/rock climbing and horseback riding. Visitors can also enjoy our fitness facilities, pool, and hot tub Whatever accommodation they selected from the wide variety of loft rooms, suites, or kitchenettes, they will rest comfortably knowing that their friendly and knowledgeable staff is eager and ready to serve them to make their stay in their Campbell River Hotel a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Austrian Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Austrian Chalet Hotel Campbell River
Best Western Campbell River
Campbell River Best Western
Best Western Austrian Chalet Campbell River, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing