We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch the cruise ships at night.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Austrian Chalet
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Delta, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Watch the cruise ships at night.”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We specifically asked for a room with a good view overlooking Discovery Passage and over to Quadra Is. so that we could watch the cruise ships pass by at night with all their lights. The front office was very helpful - we chose a top room at the back with a loft bedroom. The unit was only 1 flight up from the back parking lot - the unit was very roomy, the small kitchen quite adequate and the view was great. The unit was clean and well stocked and had lots of room for all our extra luggage. TV reception was excellent. Very quiet place. The breakfast was average and the pub next door had great pub food and offered take out. Although there is a road infront, it was not busy and the beach walk on the beach side was great for an evening walk. There were amenities like a pool, ping pong and laundry but we stayed only two nights so did not get an opportunity to use them.

Room Tip: Stay at the back of the U shaped buildings, away from the road and on the 3rd gloor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitefllier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Great to hear you had a very enjoyable stay with us at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet. The cruise ships are a sight to see passing through the inlet. Did you get to enjoy any of the sunrises? Great photo opportunities!

The loft unit you had stayed in are some of our best selling rooms. The kitchenette is handy to have with a 2 stove top burner, mini fridge, microwave and all the cooking untensils. We are happy to hear you enjoyed this room type.

Hopefully next time you will have the opportunity to take advantage of our other amenities as you mentioned - the pool, hot tub, sauna, mini golf, and BBQ area.

Happy September and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    205
    128
    38
    22
See reviews for
145
196
21
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cloverdale, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. I booked this hotel because it had the loft so we'd have some privacy from our kids. The loft has both the beds in it so that didn't happen. Also no AC and the loft gets hot. I had to go downstairs and sleep on the couch at 4am because it was unbearable. The breakfast room is small and crowded with few options. Also the rooms without the lofts have more kitchen equipment...you'd think for the price difference the lofts would have more than just a fridge. Also it's non smoking but our room smelled like a stale ashtray.
Did enjoy the ocean view. I'll give it that. Also, the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goby2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
I am sorry to hear you didn't enjoy our loft units. They do provide the best ocean views as they are on the top floor over looking the ocean. I apologize the layout wasn't as you may have imagined and that you didn't get the privacy from your children as you were looking for. In the futurue we do have rooms that offer seperate sleeping areas.

As mentioned in some of our other responses, over the next six months we are focusing on the renovation of our breakfast room. We will be increasing the seating capacity to allow for more guests to sit inside should they choose.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and provide us with your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Campbell River hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Selected this hotel as it offered breakfast included, as we were on a daily schedule of tours in Canada, thought this would be beneficial. Our Room was accessed via a side door which led us into a gloomy corridor, not a nice welcome. However the room was clean, two queen beds and had a fridge and lots of clean fluffy towels.

On second day we went for breakfast before setting off on our tour. The breakfast room was not much bigger than our hotel room. Juice, coffee, waffle, was all via a self service machine. There was egg and sausage but it did not look appetising. It was raining outside and there was insufficient space to sit guests inside so we, along with others guests stood almost shoulder to shoulder with our strange tasting juice and coffee, moving around to allow those brave enough to eat the egg access to it. There were lots of glum faces.

There is a bar next door which serves ok bar meals, but nothing else close-bye You will need access to transport to visit central Campbell River, it's approx 4 kilometres walk.

There is an indoor pool but did not have time to use it so can't comment.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms (sea view) seemed to be brighter than side facing rooms (overlooking other rooms)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William190793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Our breakfast room currently is cozy, however over the next six months we will be working on transforming the current space to provide more seating.
We offer a roating menu of breakfast items one day it is scrambled eggs, plain omelette or a cheese omelette paired with hashbrowns, bacon, sausage patty or Kielbasa sausage. Of course we also offer the staples such as bagles with cream cheese, toast with jam & peanut butter, cold and hot ceral, english muffins, yogurt, fruit and make your own waffles.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed 2 nights while on a grizzley bear tour Aug. 26-28. Had a ground floor room next to the mini-golf area. I thought it might be noisey but no one played. The hotel is on the main highway with non-obstructed views from the entrance to the motel of the ocean. From room 111 it was peekaboo views. There were 2 queen beds,very clean. There was a long cob-web i could see when the light hit it extending from the ceiling down to the TV. In the BR a long black hair was sitting on the rim of the tub. Otherwise, looked and smelled clean,no lingering odors of any kind. Small fridge/freezer which was very handy and the usual other amenities. Flat screen was great. The only 2 " complaints " I have is the breakfast room needs to be enlarged and from other reviews this has been an on-going issue. I hope this Best Western will heed the many reviews and make it better,and not just say, yes, we realize it blah,blah. Also the gym could use a few extra items such as a mat,exercise ball, a better quality bike & treadmill and disinfectant to clean the equipment off after we use it. I never did use the pool, but each day, it was in good use by other patrons. I loved the breakfast. bacon ,eggs, potatoes, cereal, fruit, yogurt,pastries, toast, waffle-maker, great coffee, it really was yummy and a good start to the day. Doesnt matter what time you eat, hours are from 6 -10 am, its pretty busy/crowded, hence more space is needed. The outdoor patio is quite large, I say extend the eating area out to the patio, and make the outdoor space smaller. A waste of space when the nice weather is short-lived up in Campbell River. Very beautiful hanging baskets adorn the motel and it gives it that Austrian look. I will stay here again definitely. Its a ways from city centre, a bit far to walk. I really thought Campbell River was very pretty along the water. Would like to see more of it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janetw154945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you for your feedback, it is great to hear guest's perspective. You are right, there have been a few mentions about the size of the breakfast room. We had looked at the option of closing in the patio as you have mentioned, however due to building codes we can not. In any case we have come up with a plan to supply the area with more seating and this is to be put into action this fall. I am glad you enjoyed the breakfast items! I do apologize for the room issues and will discuss this with the housekeeping department to make sure they do not miss this moving forward. Again, thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback and experience with other guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Stayed here on August 20-22. Very clean rooms. The staff were super helpful, especially a lady named Debbie who gave us assistance to finding places in town. Breakfast was great, I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area. Some really great views of the ocean from here as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spenser2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you for your kind words, I will be sure to pass on the great feedback to Debbie. Debbie and her team work very hard keeping the hotel spotless. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed yourself and that you are passing on the good word! We look forward to hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nederland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

The BW Austrian Chalet actually does have an Austrian Alps look and feel to it. It lives up to that name. It's probably not the best hotel in Campbell, but there isn't much wrong with the rooms either. The only thing i missed was air conditioning.
The ocean view is wonderful as well, looking out over the Discovery Passage. You expect to see dolphins and orcas any minute, which of course doesn't happen ;-)

The breakfast room is very tiny and there is not enough room to move around. For the next renovation i would put extending it top of the list.
The breakfast variety isn't very big either and not at all like they would serve breakfast in the Austrian Alps. It could use some more fruit, pastries and some rolls and buns.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GW1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It is great to hear you enjoyed our hotel. I understand your concerns with the breakfast room space and we are working at expanding the seating area. We are hoping to put plans in to action this fall. Thank you again and we look forward to meeting again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel, right off the ocean and close to downtown. It has a decent pool, sauna, hot tub and a small mini golf course. The rooms are a good size, not too small. There was no air conditioning but being close to the water it would be rarely needed. Complimentary breakfast was good. The only negative was the beds, they were just ok. This place would be great if they invested in better quality mattresses.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tree899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I apologize you didn't enjoy our beds. We had just purchased all new pillow top mattresses last spring. We're happy to hear you enjoyed our amenities and the breakfast. We do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Campbell River hotels
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
259 reviews
1.9 mi away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
318 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heron's Landing Hotel
Heron's Landing Hotel
#5 of 16 in Campbell River
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Anchor Inn & Suites
Anchor Inn & Suites
#11 of 16 in Campbell River
187 reviews
7.4 mi away
Oyster Bay Resorts
Oyster Bay Resorts
#8 of 16 in Campbell River
49 reviews
4.2 mi away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#2 of 16 in Campbell River
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Austrian Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Austrian Chalet

Property: Best Western Austrian Chalet
Address: 462 Island Highway, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 1A5, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Austrian Chalet 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visitors to Campbell River Hotels are bound to be overjoyed for selecting the BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet as the site of their next vacation or business trip. They will experience the outstanding quality standards recently confirmed by the hotel's achievement of the Best Western Director's Award which recognizes them as scoring in the top 20 percent of all 2400 North American properties. Guests will find the commitment of the BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet to meet their needs unmatched by other Campbell River Hotels or elsewhere. Guests can sit back in their rooms, our garden area, or huddle near the fireplace in the lobby to relax. They are sure to enjoy a spectacular ocean view of Discovery Passage, Georgia Strait and the Pacific Ocean. Meanwhile, their hosts will be glad to fill them in on the many leisure time possibilities in or near Campbell River, BC. The seemingly endless list of recreational activities, includes golfing, salmon fishing, grizzly bear watching, kayaking, whale watching, skiing, mountain/rock climbing and horseback riding. Visitors can also enjoy our fitness facilities, pool, and hot tub or catch up on their favourite movies on our satellite televisions. Whatever accommodation they selected from the wide variety of loft rooms, suites, or kitchenettes, they will rest comfortably knowing that their friendly and knowledgeable staff is eager and ready to serve them to make their stay in their Campbell River Hotel a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Austrian Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Austrian Chalet Hotel Campbell River
Best Western Campbell River
Campbell River Best Western
Best Western Austrian Chalet Campbell River, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing