We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Austrian Chalet
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I stayed there for 2 nights. It was clean enough. The rooms are in different building so if you want to go at the pool, at the front desk or in a room of a friend... you may have to go outside.
The parking is a problem as there is not a lot of parking spaces and as it is in tight environnement. If you have a car with limited clearance to the ground you will have problems with the big bumps in the parking.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salutzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you for your response. As you mentioned our layout is separated buildings however all buildings are in close in proximity to our pool, excercise room, bbq area, minigolf, lobby and breakfast room. Parking is located all around the property as well as larger vehicle parking across the street. We try to direct larger vehicles such as buses and mobile homes to this area in order to keep single vechicle parking free.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (544)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Austrian Chalet
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 544 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

Hotel in Campbell River was difficult to find, parking was far from actual room and the room was very dark and dingy. Booking in was aloof. The room was dis-jointed Bathroom was two rooms from bedroom.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

On behalf of our team here at the Best Western Plus Austrian Chalet, I would like to apologize for not meeting your exptectations. It sounds like you had a loft unit? We do offer traditional rooms and suites that are all on one level. We are also in the process of improving our property's decor. Updating our lighting both interior and exterior is on that list and will be updated in 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed here in august 2013. The room was small completely occupied by two queen sized beds. No air conditioning. Service was really unpolite and if you are tempted by the breakfast included deal, forget it, food is not good, the breakfast room is small and full of bees.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobyBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. This is how we are able to make changes and improve upon our services. I apologize you didn't enjoy our breakfast, we have recently made changes to offer a variety of hot and cold items. Many of our guests are delighted to see that we offer hot eggs, sausage, hash browns along with make your own waffles and fresh fruit and yogurt. I do apologize for the bees; this year has been an unseasonably high population in our area. We've tried to keep them out, however with the great sunny weather many guests enjoy the doors open and understand nature has her way.

Again thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Planned to stay 2 nights but left after one. Although attempts have been made to upgrade the facility, it fails. There was black mildew all over bathtub/shower walls. Room smelled of mildew. Shower water leaks all over floor and flows on floor tile grout lines into room. Never used the jacuzzi tub as it was in the room and it already had a moisture issue. Breakfast was mediocre at best in a tiny room.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank 72GG_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Thank you for your feedback. I have discussed these issues with our staff and are working to rectify them. I apologize you had to experience this. You are right, we've been working hard at renovating the property. There are many aspects we are working on and this all takes time. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Weird room. Two levels. To get to the bed, you climb a steep open 13-step stairway on the first level of the room. But the bathroom is on the main level. So there you are up on the loft with no toilet or water.... not even a mirror and the stairs are STEEP. A handicapped person could not stay in this room. Using the toilet in the middle of the night was a challenge.
Also, ALL equipment in the exercise room was broken.
The breakfast room had chairs for only 12 people.
Staff very friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: Perhaps you can request a single level room. I don't know if they have any.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Thank you for your feedback. The room you had was our loft units. As you mentioned the sleeping area is up in the loft portion and the living and bathroom down below. We do have other rooms that accommodate the bathroom and sleeping in one area, however these may have been booked at time of your reservation. Many people do enjoy our loft units as they have the highest view point over looking Discovery Passage. Yes, our current breakfast room does have limited seating; however we are working on expanding this. With your regards to guest that may have troubles with stairs we do have rooms that are ground or entry level to accommodate wheel chairs or easier access. Again, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

When you arrive you are met with a lovely floral display and well maintained grounds. Plenty of parking and nice sea views although our room was on the side so not as good as a room facing the bay. Rooms are a good size nice comfortable beds and clean and tidy. We had a problem with the constant hum from, we think it was the pool air conditioning fan, but we're told hotel was full so couldn't move rooms, but we did get used to it by the second night. Being on the main road you do get traffic noise but it does quieter down at night so not to bad. The famous breakfast room is very small but we just got what we needed and took it back to our room to avoid the crush and it is complementary so can't really complain. Overall hotel is fine for a night or two wouldn't want to stay longer personally.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing forwards and away from pool fan.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

I apologize for the hum you had to experience. Our maintenance staff do try to keep on top of these types of issues, so thank you for bringing it to our attention. Happy to hear you were able to enjoy our breakfast, as you have probally read we are looking at ways to improve the space. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed here for two nights and had a room on the top floor with an excellent view to Discovery Passage, so we could watch the ships passing. Our room was very clean, tidy and comfortable. The breakfast was really good, with a wide choice of hot and cold items which were swiftly replenished as necessary. Despite some people's comments, we had no issues with the breakfast room and there was also extra space on the lovely patio. Most guests seem to leave early so it probably pays to have breakfast a little later if you are not in a hurry. The hotel was full but there were only one or two dog owners and balcony smokers on the premises so it wasn't disturbing. Everything is really well maintained and the flower boxes and gardens are beautiful, which makes the whole complex very appealing. The adjoining pub was very convenient for wining and dining with excellent service and good food/drink. There is a games room and indoor pool which we did not have time to use. Check-in/check-out was easy. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Overall, we were very satisfied and will stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thrifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at Best Western Austrian Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Great to hear you enjoyed our loft units over looking the Discovery Passage. As you mentioned, during the summer months you can watch the cruise ships sail through. Sounds like you enjoyed many aspects of our property and we are glad to hear that! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbell River
1.9 mi away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
376 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
309 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anchor Inn & Suites
Anchor Inn & Suites
#11 of 16 in Campbell River
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Heron's Landing Hotel
Heron's Landing Hotel
#8 of 16 in Campbell River
204 reviews
8.3 mi away
Oyster Bay Resorts
Oyster Bay Resorts
#7 of 16 in Campbell River
56 reviews
24.3 mi away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Austrian Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Austrian Chalet

Address: 462 Island Highway S, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 1A5, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Price Range: £55 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Austrian Chalet 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visitors to Campbell River Hotels are bound to be overjoyed for selecting the BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet as the site of their next vacation or business trip. Guests can sit back in their rooms, our garden area, or huddle near the fireplace in the lobby to relax. They are sure to enjoy a spectacular ocean view of Discovery Passage, Georgia Strait and the Pacific Ocean. Meanwhile, their hosts will be glad to fill them in on the many leisure time possibilities in or near Campbell River, BC, includes golfing, salmon fishing, grizzly bear watching, kayaking, whale watching, skiing, mountain/rock climbing and horseback riding. Visitors can also enjoy our fitness facilities, pool, and hot tub Whatever accommodation they selected from the wide variety of loft rooms, suites, or kitchenettes, they will rest comfortably knowing that their friendly and knowledgeable staff is eager and ready to serve them to make their stay in their Campbell River Hotel a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Austrian Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Austrian Chalet Hotel Campbell River
Best Western Campbell River
Campbell River Best Western
Best Western Austrian Chalet Campbell River, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing