We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It grows on you” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“It grows on you”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We typically stay at Best Westerns so we were excited to discover one on the Campbell River. Walking into the room, however, it felt aged and cramped, even though it was a loft. Like some other reviews have pointed out, the walls are thin, and the balconies are necessary for the fresh breeze off of the river. Unfortunately, the gentleman next door was a smoker and spent his time on his balcony. On the plus side, the beds were comfortable and put-put golf was fun. The front desk staff was very helpful, and beers next door at Freddies pub weren't bad at all.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Tanya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for your review. Guest satisfaction is important to us here at the Best Western Plus Austrian Chalet, and that is why we are undergoing a property improvement program. We have many updates scheduled over the next couple of years, our lobby will be redone this fall. I do hope you will return to see the results.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    199
    125
    38
    22
See reviews for
140
188
21
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is a decent hotel for the price. Staff is friendly and the breakfast varies from day to day. The location is central and the view from our balcony was awesome. Overall our stay here was a very good experience. The only drawback it can be a little difficult to exit the property during peak traffic time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank CalgaryVisitor154913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us! I am glad that you enjoyed our rotating breakfast menu. We do that so the guest doesn't get bored with the same set up every day. The highway can be a bit busy at certain times of day, but we are lucky that it quiets down in the evening to allow our guests to enjoy our lovely ocean views.

We look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We were competing in a sporting event while in town and found this hotel very pleasant to stay in. It is an older facility but very friendly staff and the overall experience would make me consider staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Carrie323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for choosing Best Western Plus Austrian Chalet. Your feedback is appreciated. We are an older hotel, but we are making efforts to improve our property and guest rooms while still trying to maintain our Austrian Chalet charm.

I do hope you will return and notice the changes that we will be implementing over the next few years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardsley, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

The Best Western at Campbell River is a nice motel with an enjoyable breakfast experience. The rooms are pleasant and comfortable. The staff is friendly and very helpful. It has a small golf putting course and ping pong table as well as a swimming pool and hot tub' It also has an exercise room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Joan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your review. It sounds like you took advantage of almost all the amenities we had to offer. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Best Western Austrian Chalet. We have been working very hard updating our property. There are still many updates that are planned over the next couple of years and I hope that you will come back to see the differences as we progress and become even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

A decent hotel win a decent price. The view of the water is great to watch the morning sunrise. Breakfast could be better though. Very few vegan options - just fruit and processed oatmeal. The staff is very helpful and were nice enough to upgrade us to the Eagle Room! Beds were comfortable. Overall a pretty good hotel, nothing too fancy but worth the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Your review is appreciated. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will look into providing more vegan friendly options for breakfast.

We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed here for one night in June 2014. We had a loft room which was south facing and was incredibly warm. The window to the rear of the loft bedroom had no view from it (in fact the window was onto the corridor!)

Despite having two floors to the room it still felt small somehow! We had a really horrible 'eww' moment when we found a half eaten peach in the ice bucket!!

Fortunately we were only staying one night... we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WildlifeMadTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
On behalf of the team here at the Best Western Plus Austrian Chalet, I would like to sincerely apologize for what you experienced. I have addressed the housekeeping staff and reminded them about checking ice buckets during room checks.

Originally, our Alpine building was an exterior entrance building. The reason why your bedroom has a view of the corridor is because said corridor was added on about ten years ago. This was to protect guests from the blustery weather we experience for most of the year. We are undergoing a property improvement program and by 2016 our guest rooms will have greatly improved in decor and furnishings. We have already installed granite counter tops, new vanities, updated lighting packages and bed skirts with matching bolsters. Drapes to match our new bed skirts will be installed by the end of the year.

As for the rest of the property, we have already expanded our breakfast room, we are painting the exterior this summer and we will be renovating our lobby this fall. Much more is to follow in the coming years and I do hope you will reconsider visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Campbell River hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Catawba, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We were delighted with the quality of this hotel, especially for the price. We were offered an upgrade to a room with a lovely view (because we're members of their priority club). The indoor heated pool and the hot tub were very refreshing, the beds and pillows were really comfortable, the kitchenette was well-stocked, and the hot breakfast was delicious! Staff was exceptionally helpful. We look forward to staying here again when we visit Campbell River.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Martha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have been working very hard to improve the quality of our breakfast room items and it is great when our guests recognize the variety we offer.

Our breakfast room is now operating in summer hours from 6 am to 10 am every day and we offer a rotating menu. Pancakes, french toast, crepes, eggs, bacon and sausage links are just some of the items you will find. We also offer a variety of healthy items such as oat meal, yogurt, fresh fruit and an assortment of organic tea.

Your review is appreciated and we look forward to you visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Campbell River hotels
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
2.0 mi away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heron's Landing Hotel
Heron's Landing Hotel
#5 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Anchor Inn & Suites
Anchor Inn & Suites
#12 of 16 in Campbell River
3.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
7.4 mi away
Oyster Bay Resorts
Oyster Bay Resorts
#8 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
4.3 mi away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#2 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet

Property: BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet
Address: 462 Island Hwy S, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 1A5, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visitors to Campbell River Hotels are bound to be overjoyed for selecting the BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet as the site of their next vacation or business trip. They will experience the outstanding quality standards recently confirmed by the hotel's achievement of the Best Western Director's Award which recognizes them as scoring in the top 20 percent of all 2400 North American properties. Guests will find the commitment of the BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet to meet their needs unmatched by other Campbell River Hotels or elsewhere. Guests can sit back in their rooms, our garden area, or huddle near the fireplace in the lobby to relax. They are sure to enjoy a spectacular ocean view of Discovery Passage, Georgia Strait and the Pacific Ocean. Meanwhile, their hosts will be glad to fill them in on the many leisure time possibilities in or near Campbell River, BC. The seemingly endless list of recreational activities, includes golfing, salmon fishing, grizzly bear watching, kayaking, whale watching, skiing, mountain/rock climbing and horseback riding. Visitors can also enjoy our fitness facilities, pool, and hot tub or catch up on their favourite movies on our satellite televisions. Whatever accommodation they selected from the wide variety of loft rooms, suites, or kitchenettes, they will rest comfortably knowing that their friendly and knowledgeable staff is eager and ready to serve them to make their stay in their Campbell River Hotel a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Austrian Chalet Hotel Campbell River
Best Western Campbell River
Campbell River Best Western
BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet Campbell River, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing