We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel Ever”

The Harbourside Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Harbourside Inn
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Vancouver
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst Hotel Ever”
Reviewed 14 July 2008

This is quite possibly the worst hotel I have ever set foot in. Would you believe they have this hotel rated the same as the Best Western Chalet in Campbell River.

The dirtiest, seediest hotel on the planet. Floors were stained, elevator was disgusting, rooms had single pane windows with no A/C but a standing oscillating fan instead.

Stay elsewhere in Campbell River.

  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank huskygriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    7
    7
    5
    11
See reviews for
7
5
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2007

I spent two nights here over a weekend in different rooms, and when I woke up Sunday morning I was feeling itchy but also tired from the noise. I didn’t think anything of it until Tuesday, when I counted 24 bites on the front of my body, in little lines progressing up my arms, legs, and chest. Obviously disturbed I phoned the hotel to tell them that they likely have a bed bug infestation and that they should look at the two rooms I stayed in (and of course compensate me to some degree), but the manager was out at the moment. My message was not returned, and upon calling a second time two days later the clerk told me that I was a “sounded crazy” and was “a liar” and hung up on me!!! I would recommend sleeping in Foreshore Park in your sleeping bag before dealing with this disrespectful, arrogant, and downright rude “hotel” . Or bring your own bedding if you must.

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — gettiing eaten by bedbugs and called a liar when I complained
  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank darius_jackson_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Campbell River hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Berkshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2005

What a dive! The hotel looks shabby from outside and the appearance is not much better witin. Could see nothing but a parking lot from our room. Was clean (ish) but bathroom was very dated and bed was well-worn. Even for the cheap price we paid, I would never go here again. But then again, I found nothing in Campbell River itself that would draw me back again. If you are driving up Vancouver island and want somewhere to stay half way, try one of the lodges in the Stratcona national park - they looked lovely. I wish we had!

  • Stayed September 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz&Nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 15 September 2005

The hotel is located next to a liquor store. The safety issue would be a concern. The room and the hotel was old and stains were always visible anywhere in the room. Sheets were not changed for a two nights stay. Closed to the shopping mall. I've seen better for sure.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2005

The name is misleading, it's withing reasonable walking distance of the harbor but it's hardly harborside. We had three rooms on the 3rd floor, all showed signs of smoker damage, burn holes in seats and bed spreads. The wireless internet access was non-existant thought my machine could detect the network. The decor was worn. The windows in all rooms fitted poorly and were single glazed, in my mothers room they were sealed with tape, presumeably to prevent draughts. The beds were cheap and fairly uncomfortable. The noise insulation was poor and the view from the windows was worth keeping the curtains closed for. The hotel parking lot is grotty, I was somewhat surprised the car survived intact. We were pleased to drive away in the morning but since I booked the rooms I will be appologising to my family for some time. Curiously we all found the soap almost impossible to open, I resorted to a knife I was lucky to have with me and loaned it to other family members.

On the up side the staff were friendly and the linens and towels were the cleanest and most pleasant I have had in any class of hotel. As good as the best.

But in the end this is a dark and dingy hotel, if money isn't your primary concern you should blow the extra $30 to go somewhere with a real view and modern rooms.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cageordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 7 December 2003

I tried to book a weekend with you, even wrote a letter with the request = no reply. Eventually via the web page I learned you had no rooms available.

You might have let me know. Fortunately at a late date, I got in down the street at Coast Discovery.

So you are now definitly off my list!

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 19 October 2003

The Haida Inn was a very comfortable hotel with the most friendly staff. We felt very welcome. The rooms were clean and newly renovated.
The food in the restaurant was excellent!

I would recommend this hotel as it was affordable for the average couple and we were treated way above average.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Campbell River hotels
2.1 mi away
Best Western Austrian Chalet
Best Western Austrian Chalet
#4 of 16 in Campbell River
528 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
354 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Anchor Inn & Suites
Anchor Inn & Suites
#12 of 16 in Campbell River
194 reviews
2.2 mi away
Heron's Landing Hotel
Heron's Landing Hotel
#8 of 16 in Campbell River
199 reviews
1.1 mi away
Above Tide Motel
Above Tide Motel
#5 of 16 in Campbell River
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbourside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbourside Inn

Property: The Harbourside Inn
Address: 1342 Shoppers Row, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 2E1, Canada (Formerly Haida Inn)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Harbourside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Harbourside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haida Hotel Campbell River
The Harbourside Inn Campbell River, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing