We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great accommodations, inexpensive and nicely maintained”
Review of Passage View Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Campbell River
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Passage View Motel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
West Sacramento, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great accommodations, inexpensive and nicely maintained”
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We stayed here enroute and returning from Quadra Island on our kayak trip. Room included a 2-burner mini-stove, mini-refrig, dishes and small sink. VERY CLEAN and nice accommodations, and very engaging owner Gary. This is not 5-star big city type place, but an excellent motel. We were very pleased and a very good price. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a place to stay in Campbell River. View of Discovery Passage from our balcony (plus seating!) was excellent. We were very happy here and will return on our next trip.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrankS670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    34
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
18
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I stayed here a little over 3 weeks in a light house keeping room where I could make my own meals. Excellent view of the ocean from all room. Walking distance to the pier and downtown. Kitchen contained adequate pots, utensils and dishes for cooking. My room was cleaned daily and internet service was strong. A BBQ, picnic table and patio were also available.

I stayed on the 3rd floor where the view was terrific but it would not be suitable for those with mobility issues as there are no elevators.

I plan to stay there on my next fishing trip. While it is not the cheapest, it is less expensive than many and gives the best value in terms of lodging and closeness to town and fishing pier.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clamato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2009

This motel overlooks the Inside Passage with views of the passing cruise liners.
We had a ground floor room and access to the beach was directly opposite down steep steps. The beach was very rocky with lots of midges and huge logs to climb over - not pretty! We were awake early and enjoyed a beautiful sunrise.
The room was clean with everything we required and at $79 Can definitely value for money.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckie, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2008

Have just come home after spending two weeks at the Passage View Motel, Campbell River. The room was basic, but clean and spacious. We had a small kitchenette area and a nice seating area and of course, the small balcony. We had room service every day and an abundance of fresh clean towels. The view over the water was magnificent, there was always something different to look at every day, something we are going to miss now we are home! We would definately recommend this motel.

  • Liked — The magnificent view from the balcony.
  • Disliked — Lack of wardrobe space, but we did have a kitchenette and seating area, which instead of. Suppose you cannot have everything at those prices!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagicWriter2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft Worth, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2008

We loved the Passage View Motel! The view is outstanding, steps from the Inside Passage, patio door views of the Passage. Older motel but impressed with cleanliness, bathroom very clean, no mold to be found. Extra towels and pillows provided in room. We had two rooms, one with kitchenette, and one with microwave & fridge. The only problems encountered were a couple of spiders in one room, and not enough electrical outlets. Running the bath's heat lamp and the microware tripped a breaker, with breaker box in the next room! Luckily, that was our other room, so no problem, but if you only had the one room, it would be a real problem if happening when office is closed. Still, we'd definitely stay there again.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank ILoveBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2008

We had picked this motel to stay in for one night during a mini-tour of Vancouver Island because of the high rating on Trip Adviser. The motel was older and interior furnishings and appliances very outdated, but overall clean. There was a bad smell (old musty odor) that we tried getting rid of by opening both doors and using air freshener. It proved to be only temporary relief because the smell never left. There were two burners and we cooked a couple of small meals, but it would have been more convenient to have a microwave and oven. It was easy walking access down to the water from the back of the property, but a little tricky walking on the medium-size stones. My advice to others considering this motel is if you are not particular about the age and interior of a room, but rather just looking for a moderately clean place to crash for the night that has a spectacular unobstructed view of the water and is reasonably priced, then this would be fine. Personally, the odor bothered us enough that we did not enjoy our stay and would choose another place next time even if it was a little more money.

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — Bad Odor
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Demi_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Va
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2008

The Passage View is in a lovely location as its name suggests. The property is older, but has been well maintained. The rooms were quite large and a small balcony/patio offers very nice views. I wish I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Geographer08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Campbell River hotels
0.7 mi away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
339 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
277 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anchor Inn & Suites
Anchor Inn & Suites
#11 of 16 in Campbell River
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Austrian Chalet
Best Western Austrian Chalet
#4 of 16 in Campbell River
518 reviews
1.2 mi away
Heron's Landing Hotel
Heron's Landing Hotel
#8 of 16 in Campbell River
196 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Harbourside Inn
The Harbourside Inn
#16 of 16 in Campbell River
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Passage View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Passage View Motel

Property: Passage View Motel
Address: 517 Island Hwy, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 2B9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront accommodations directly overlooking Discovery Passage and Quadra Island. From your private balcony or patio, view spectacular sunrises/sunsets and watch cruise ships, sailboats and fishing vessels sail past. Bald Eagles, Red Tail Hawks, Blue Herons and many other seabirds can be seen from your window. If you're lucky, you might even see the whales as they hunt for food. Guests are welcome to use the picnic tables and BBQ located on our grounds, while relaxing in the serene atmosphere of our gardens. Our guests enjoy private beach access. Centrally located, we are a short walk away from Fisherman's Wharf, Public Fishing Pier, unique shops and restaurants, museums, children's park and public pool. Salmon Capital of the World. Connections with Fishing Guides and information on other tourism activities and must sees. Ideal "home base" location for day trips. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Passage View Hotel
Passage View Motel Campbell River, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing