We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Very Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Passage View Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Campbell River
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Passage View Motel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Fredericksburg, Va
Level Contributor
179 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“A Very Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2008

The Passage View is in a lovely location as its name suggests. The property is older, but has been well maintained. The rooms were quite large and a small balcony/patio offers very nice views. I wish I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Geographer08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    33
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
18
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newport
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2007

We recommend this place. An older, reasonably priced motel. The units are worn, but well-maintained, very clean and comfortable and reasonably spacious. Motel is on the east side of the road practically at the water’s edge. All rooms face the Passage and have unimpeded views.

Rooms have extra pillows and blankets, micro/refrig and Net. Good staff.

Problems: our room with a single queen had only one bedside lamp. Not enough outlets so we had to recharge the laptop in the bathroom. Motel is using octopus plugs for lamps and appliances.Little packets of shampoo were harder to open than blister packaging.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank barent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2007

This older nicely maintained motel has great ocean views and steep stair access to a rocky beach. Parking is free and it is within walking distance of downtown shopping, restaurants and museums. The ground floor is pet-friendly with a small lawn area and picnic tables (upper floor rooms have balconies), also a communal BBQ (without utensils). The kitchenette units have a small fridge, sink, all dishes and a two burner stovetop, no oven or microwave. Housekeeping staff is the best I've seen, the rooms are spotless; and you can expect a nice welcome from the front desk staff. During our stay the phone system was on the fritz and we were unable to make outgoing calls from the room phone, although they were gracious about letting us use the front desk phone. Grounds are nicely landscaped and we picked enough blackberries from the stairs to make dessert. The view is the big draw and a lot of guest just sit and look out at the ocean most of their stay - very peaceful feel to the place. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — cleanliness and view
  • Disliked — lack of oven/microwave
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank travelgalTacoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2005

I stayed in the winter just for a quick one-nighter on a road trip. The motel was clean and the beds were comfortable. I had two dogs with me and loved having the patio door out onto the lawn and the pooper-scooper at the end of the property. Beautiful views and a great rate! I quite liked this motel!

Helpful?
3 Thank gottalovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2003

We have stayed at this motel several times. The rooms are clean but basic. Coffee available in room. Excellent waterfront views from every room. Great value for money. $74 + 15% tax CAN

Helpful?
7 Thank 2oldtourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Campbell River hotels
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet
BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet
#4 of 16 in Campbell River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Anchor Inn & Suites
Anchor Inn & Suites
#12 of 16 in Campbell River
3.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
1.2 mi away
Heron's Landing Hotel
Heron's Landing Hotel
#5 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Above Tide Motel
Above Tide Motel
#7 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Passage View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Passage View Motel

Property: Passage View Motel
Address: 517 Island Hwy, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 2B9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront accommodations directly overlooking Discovery Passage and Quadra Island. From your private balcony or patio, view spectacular sunrises/sunsets and watch cruise ships, sailboats and fishing vessels sail past. Bald Eagles, Red Tail Hawks, Blue Herons and many other seabirds can be seen from your window. If you're lucky, you might even see the whales as they hunt for food. Guests are welcome to use the picnic tables and BBQ located on our grounds, while relaxing in the serene atmosphere of our gardens. Our guests enjoy private beach access. Centrally located, we are a short walk away from Fisherman's Wharf, Public Fishing Pier, unique shops and restaurants, museums, children's park and public pool. Salmon Capital of the World. Connections with Fishing Guides and information on other tourism activities and must sees. Ideal "home base" location for day trips. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Passage View Hotel
Passage View Motel Campbell River, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing