We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed the view!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Passage View Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Campbell River
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Passage View Motel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Port Alberni
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the view!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I would have liked to have rated this motel higher, especially after reading others' comments, but other than the view was rather disappointed. Paper cups for coffee and plastic 'glasses' doesn't go with spending $100 for a room. The bed was comfortable and enjoyed the view of course.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    33
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
18
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

This motel was old from the outside but we were highly surprised with the quality of the rooms. The room standard is much higher than some more modern hotels. Once we saw the room we made no hesitation to stay. Great beds.

Room Tip: We were up stairs in the middle looking over the Campbell river
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTaylors350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

I stayed at the Passage View for two nights while staying in Campbell River. I have stayed there before and it continues to be good value with drop dead gorgeous views of the ocean. For a better view ask for the second or third floor. The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. Staff are friendly and helpful. Good place if you are on a budget or don't need a luxury resort. If you have mobility issues ask for first floor as there are no elevators. First floor is beach level and still has a good view. It can be noisy at night as it is close to the main road. Will stay again next time I am in town

Room Tip: Ask for second or third floor for better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
419 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

On the main highway into town, this motel was very handy for a walk into town for dinner. Reception staff were very welcoming, giving us the choice of 2 suites. The unit had stove, fridge, kettle and plenty of utensils. The bed was comfortable and the room opened out onto the water so that passing cruise ships and other water activities could be seen. No problem in returning to this motel.

Room Tip: Ground floor suited us (we are senior citizens!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jin6x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

I love this kind of place: a mom-and-pop roadside motel, clean basic, affordable, and quiet enough for a quick overnight. No frills, but I wasn't looking for any. Great location, and every room with a view. Check in/check out - no hassles. No complaints. Thank you, Passage View Motel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gravelburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Although dated the Passage View was very comfortable and thoroughly enjoyed being on the ground floor and the use of the picnic table. 6 Cruise ships sailed by while enjoying our glass of wine. Friendly helpful check in also made this annual trek enjoyable, will return again next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Msgmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Arrived after a seven hour ride to a relaxing, clean room that opens out onto a patio facing Quadra island. Couldn't have been more pleasant. Cruise ships passed by and we sat and drank our wine and watched the lights of the sunset's reflection. It's not the Ritz but neither is Campbell River a Ritz kind of place. The beds are a bit soft, the bathrooms are dated and the sheets are not 800 thread. But for a quiet sleep, a clean room, wifi a nice view and a very small TV, it is a perfect stop.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor because there is no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sailhersue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Campbell River hotels
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet
BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet
#4 of 16 in Campbell River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Anchor Inn & Suites
Anchor Inn & Suites
#12 of 16 in Campbell River
3.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
1.2 mi away
Heron's Landing Hotel
Heron's Landing Hotel
#5 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Above Tide Motel
Above Tide Motel
#7 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Passage View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Passage View Motel

Property: Passage View Motel
Address: 517 Island Hwy, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 2B9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront accommodations directly overlooking Discovery Passage and Quadra Island. From your private balcony or patio, view spectacular sunrises/sunsets and watch cruise ships, sailboats and fishing vessels sail past. Bald Eagles, Red Tail Hawks, Blue Herons and many other seabirds can be seen from your window. If you're lucky, you might even see the whales as they hunt for food. Guests are welcome to use the picnic tables and BBQ located on our grounds, while relaxing in the serene atmosphere of our gardens. Our guests enjoy private beach access. Centrally located, we are a short walk away from Fisherman's Wharf, Public Fishing Pier, unique shops and restaurants, museums, children's park and public pool. Salmon Capital of the World. Connections with Fishing Guides and information on other tourism activities and must sees. Ideal "home base" location for day trips. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Passage View Hotel
Passage View Motel Campbell River, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing