We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced and uninformed”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ocean Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Resort
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Overpriced and uninformed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

No Air Conditioning should definitely be mentioned when booking. It is not secure to sleep with windows open and uncomfortably warm if acclimated to A/C. They did give me a box fan with the ineffective personal fan after sitting in lobby. No lock on screen for sliding door. If coming for retreat, mandated to buy an expensive meal plan which works if you are vegan/vegetarian. Chicken THIGHS I would not say is worth $65/day with breafast options always oatmeal bread, eggs the way they want and fruit. Lunch meats or veggie wraps for lunches. Less than a "standard" hotel on breakfast. Beautifully decorated but wish more money spent in hotel basics. Beds are not comfy, cheap mattress on a wood frame, no springs and no boxspring. Small cupboard between beds couldn't hang a shirt without it dragging on base of cabinet. Then bathroom mirror at bar depth so the 2 feet narrow bathroom counter was a shock too. Ice bucket is that plastic uninsulated bin which doesn't work in the heat until your items get cold in the fridge (mini size). So if staying because you want middle of nowhere on ocean and not looking a resort, it's great. If going to retreat and looking "resort", advise drive in each day. Btw, not handicapped accessible either. Even if your room first floor, flight of steps to attend retreat or go eat. I could not get rental car with only debit card and cash so was at mercy to stay there. $50 taxi to town ONE way (Aug 2013). Ate ham sandwich and chicken thighs and no breakfast other than ham. Desk clerk laughed when I said how ridiculous it was...it was not funny. Also took 30 minutes to check out awaiting someone to figure out how to take days off for my leaving the"retreat" early.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HonestEval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis G, General Manager at Ocean Resort, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Thank you for your recent comments. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your recent stay. As you stated we do not have A/C in our rooms. Due to our mild climate most of the year heat is not a problem for most guests. For the meal plan there are a few pricing structures. The retreat you were in chose our enhanced meal plan. The costs are associated with the use of more organic and local foods. Our beds are high quality mattresses that receive regular inspection to ensure they are in top condition. Our ice buckets are standard hotel ice buckets. They are meant for the transportation of ice. If you need longer storage it would be recommended that you bring a cooler. Bigger fridges and full kitchens are available in our suite and cottage. We do have one accessible room on the first floor of the hotel and there is a chair lift in the retreat centre to get to the meeting space. We apologize for any challenges you had at check out. Again thank you for your comments and we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    11
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
7
22
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

Back property was great for relaxing. Ocean view, quiet, lots of sitting area with several chairs, benches, swings, etc. rooms were fairly basic but clean. Could use some ac for the summer months. Friendly staff with a nice little local shop incorporated into the lobby area.

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Cappy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

The perfect place to stay for a health (or other retreats).I attended ,along with my husband ,a Fresh Start health retreat,preceeded by a Painting Experience.The rooms are very clean.beautiful natural hair + skin products from Salt Spring Island.Spectacular view.Very casual..you can go to the tea station in your PJs.Plentiful library filled with inspirational reading.Steam bath .Remarkable body work practicioners in the spa.
Hotel Manager Travis + his wife Cherry are a delightful + dedicated young couple.eager to please,.They do everyting possible to make your stay comfortable + enjoyable.
It was a beautiful experience for which we are most grateful.

Room Tip: ocean view room sare more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caramia_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis G, General Manager at Ocean Resort, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
It is a pleasure to hear from you here on TripAdvisor. We are truly appreciative of your kind words and are thrilled to hear that you thought this was the perfect place to stay for a retreat. You couldn't be more right in that guests are our first priority and we want nothing more than for you to enjoy your time with us – whether you’re traveling for business or leisure. We take pride in our use of natural and environmentally friendly amenities that are of high quality and are pleased that you recognized these efforts.

Again we thank you so very much for your thoughtful comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Ridge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

Not the getaway I was expecting. Cramped rooms with limited services. However if you are looking for a cheap getaway this is the place. Bright rooms, poor ventilation and situated roadside this is not the luxury retreat some people have purported it to be. Not sure why it is ranked at number 2 in Campbell River as there are better properties.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SAEBIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis G, General Manager at Ocean Resort, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations on your past stay with us. Many guests often comment on the value they receive while staying at Ocean Resort. All rooms include HD TV, free wifi, free parking, free Long distance calls (North America), free daily use of steam room, exercise room, walking labyrinth, filtered water, 24hour coffee and tea station. The resort offers meditation, yoga and a variety of retreats. Most guests find our rooms very spacious, comfortable and always spotless. If more space is required we also offer a 1 bedroom suite and a newly renovated cottage. Both of which offer ocean views.

We take pride in assuring that all of our guests needs and expectations are being met. Its unfortunate that you did not inform our staff of your concerns while you were here as we are always looking for feedback on our services offered.

Thank you for your comments.
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

WOW !! the view of the ocean and mountains was breath taking GORgeous !! we (my hubby and i) were lucky enough that we had great weather this time of year for our trip up there. It was beautiful and sunny all weekend, even tho we saw snow on the mountains. Sunday morning we got a beautiful surprise when we were outside, an eagle was in one of the trees and my hubby got such a great picture of it.

The management team there are a beautiful couple and made us feel right at home. Any questions we had, they had answers. Anything we needed they could supply. It was like we had known each other for years. GREAT hospitality, super clean, wonderfully friendly.

My hubby and i also visited the spa while we were there and had a relaxing massage and was able to have friendly conversation with Christie our masseuse . She's just wonderful.

the layout of the resort is great, the whole facility...hotel, spa, grounds, rooms were clean and organized and had a calming relaxed, even romantic air to them...HIGHLY recommend this hotel for a getaway for any reason anytime of the year :) Many many thanks to Cherry and Travis for a awesome getaway weekend :)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pearlena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

Just returned from a weekend with my husband at Ocean Resort. We quickly realized that the charm of this resort is mostly for women. In fact, he was the only man on site other than the man at the front desk. There was a group of women there who were participating in a yoga weekend and they seemed to be having a wonderful time. I think I would have enjoyed that sort of weekend. We had to go off-site for meals whereas meals were provided to groups.
Our room was oceanfront and was smallish but adequate and clean. The front desk service was excellent. We got off-season rates but about $40/night more than another reviewer quoted (no white robes either!). It was lovely to walk the labyrinth and sit at the ocean in the chairs provided. We enjoyed that. We also booked spa treatments. They were expensive, and unfortunately I don't think I can recommend the spa. All in all, I would not return with a partner but would consider a group event at Ocean Resort.

Room Tip: The ocean front room was lovely. We could walk to the ocean in a few minutes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunshineinNanaimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

starting on the bright side, this place has large, well decorated, well equipped and clean rooms. It is basically on the beach, and has a quality feel to it, and is inexpensive to boot.
However, the rooms are a bit stifling, and as there is no air conditioning you have to open the window, which in our case meant we couldn't sleep because our room was facing a busy highway, and was therefore very noisy.
Furthermore, the wifi was not strong enough to work in the room, so we had to go to the lobby to use the internet. The hotel is too close to town to be secluded, and too far to be conveniently located
The breakfast was in a room with only two tables, occupied by two loud families, so we had to sit on chairs without dining tables. Personally I did not care much for the new age stuff, although it wasn't very offensive

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uncshai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Campbell River hotels
8.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet
BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet
#4 of 16 in Campbell River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
1.4 mi away
Oyster Bay Resorts
Oyster Bay Resorts
#8 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
10.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
8.5 mi away
Heron's Landing Hotel
Heron's Landing Hotel
#5 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
9.3 mi away
Anchor Inn & Suites
Anchor Inn & Suites
#12 of 16 in Campbell River
3.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Resort

Property: Ocean Resort
Address: 4384 Island Hwy S, Campbell River, British Columbia V9H 1E8, Canada (Formerly Bennett's Point Resort and Sandpiper Beach Resort)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Ocean Resort, located just south of Campbell River, features 28 beautiful Standard Hotel Rooms and 1 spacious one-bedroom suite. Ocean Resort is the idyllic setting for your holistic, spiritual or wellness retreat. Catering to group retreats and individuals stays, we are located on the east coast of beautiful Vancouver Island, and easy access from Vancouver, British Columbia and Seattle, Washington. You will experience a tranquil, natural environment supportive of personal transformation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Resort Campbell River, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing