We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place; bizarre smoking policy”
Review of Painter's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Painter's Lodge
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great place; bizarre smoking policy”
Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

Painter's Lodge is a wonderfully situated establishment, comfortably appointed (if a little dated) and well run. From the lovely gardens to the pool to free rides across to the sister lodge at April Point on Quadra Island and more, Painters gets it right in all respects except one.

As you check in you're asked to sign a waiver that you won't smoke in your room on pain of some draconian financial penalty. Yet when you get to that room you find that your balcony is equipped with chairs and ashtrays and the smoke is from your neighbours is billowing everywhere. Far from enjoying the view and fresh air, you are closeted in your room with the windows tightly closed. The whole seaside ambience - probably the main reason you chose Painters - is lost. We found this to be the most bizarre of circumstances and, although we loved the place, a return would depend very much on management addressing this issue. You may want to do so too in advance of staying there.

This is my reason for rating service as a 3. Otherwise it's 4 or 5

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin_Victoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    371
    183
    82
    41
See reviews for
337
508
23
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jabbeke, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We have visited this hotel on three occasions on two road trips through the western part of Canada. Of course we came back because we were very pleased on our first visit. The rooms are spacious and a lot have a private terrace on the gardens. The rooms are also modern. The different restaurants are all of high quality. The atmosphere is very relaxing. You can enjoy watching a couple of seals who practically live at the boardwalk of the hotel. You can book very special zodiac trips at their own Oak Bay Marine on which we saw on our first trip a dozen of white sided Dolphins at our fingertips! We will Always remember this hotel as a very special place which we were very happy to be able to enjoy on several occasions. Painetr's Lodge, you have a special place in our heart!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a terrace on the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IngeJabbeke_Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineFleming, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Thanks for your feedback. Everyone at Painter’s Lodge works extra hard to make sure every guest enjoys their stay so your compliments are greatly appreciated. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Hardy, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

My aunt and I stayed at Painter's Lodge earlier this month alas for only 1 night. The staff at check in were so friendly and professional. Our room was bright, airy and clean. I have never slept as well as I did in a hotel room - so comfortable and quiet.

It was nice not to have to go off property for dinner. The pub is charming with a great view. However, the carpet is old and very dirty looking - would not hurt them to put hardwood throughout the pub. Service was excellent. Food was ok, nothing outstanding, but the view made up for it.

I will always return to Painter's Lodge when I need to stay in Campbell River.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kari1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portchester
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Had a wonderful time there, a great wildlife tour. I would certinally return again. Very helpful staff especially Charlotte in the marine centre, nothing was too much trouble and she certainly gave great advise! A great pace to stay, not only for the day, spend several days there its defiantly worth it! The food it great too, great atmosphere. I couldn't fault this place

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderereturns1f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtenay, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This was our 49th Anniversary. We stayed for three (3) days.We arrived the last day of the Painters weekend, and still had no problems checking in. The staff did everything possible to make our stay memorable. When we arrived in our room we received a fruit basket and a note wishing us a happy anniversary. We had a beautiful dinner with our Son and Daughter-in-law . Everyone loved their meals . Two ordered steaks and two ordered seafood and all the plates were cleaned. The wait staff were great and did all the could to make the evening memorable. We found the staff very friendly and helpful. My wife has health problems so we were unable to try the spa and the weather did not cooperate for our wine and cheese cruise but all in all we had a wonderful three days.

Room Tip: Room 407 was a very easy accessible handicap room for someone who has a hard time with stairs if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We had originally intended to stay for only one night, but loved it so much that we stayed 2 extra days. The staff are very helpful, pleasant and friendly. When the sun is shining its fabulous to have your breakfast and other meals outside on the deck overlooking the docks and ocean activities. Food is amazing. Dining room is top notch. They have the best smoked seafood appy and the best notchos on the island. We also took their free shuttle across to April Point Lodge for lunch and enjoy their deck overlooking the ocean. My partner had a huge cod fish and chip plate while I had an amazing smoked salmon bunwhich. If you love the ocean, boats, watching eagles soar, and being out doors, this place is for you.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be great. Ocean views are nice but at a premium $$$. Remember that they can b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelsome R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slave Lake, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I just returned from a stay at Painter's Lodge during a work trip to Campbell River, my only complaint is that I didn't get to stay longer! The location is spectacular, you have a great view of all the ocean activity between Vancouver Island and Quadra Island. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable, with nice balconies or patios.

We had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant, my dinner was beyond amazing, the lamb shank was so tender and the meringue for dessert was great too. I didn't get to use any of the other amenities because of my short stay but would love to go back and use the pool and visit their sister property on Quadra Island, April Point Lodge, which you can access by a free shuttle ferry.

Looking forward to returning for another stay!

Room Tip: Pay the little bit extra for an ocean view room, it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbell River
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
284 reviews
2.3 mi away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
353 reviews
4.2 mi away
Best Western Austrian Chalet
Best Western Austrian Chalet
#4 of 16 in Campbell River
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
135.8 mi away
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection
1.4 mi away
April Point Resort & Spa
April Point Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Quathiaski Cove
432 reviews
33.1 mi away
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Painter's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Painter's Lodge

Property: Painter's Lodge
Address: 1625 McDonald Rd, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 4S5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Painter's Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the pristine shores of Vancouver Island, Painter's Lodge offers world-class salmon fishing, breathtaking wildlife and scenery and full amenities. When you're not fighting a mighty salmon on the line, soak in the outdoor pool, refine your serve on the tennis courts, or watch marine life play as you tour the coastline on a Wildlife Adventure Tour. Connected by water taxi, guests enjoy all the amenities including new Aveda Spa at April Point Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Painter's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Painter`s Hotel Campbell River
Painters Hotel Campbell River
Painters Resort Campbell River
Painter's Lodge Campbell River, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing