We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view rooms need updating” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Painter's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Painter's Lodge
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great view rooms need updating”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed at your establishment in August, sent an email and never received a reply. Since we have traveled there twice since then and stayed elsewhere I wanted to ensure you noted our feedback on our stay. I travel a fair bit and have stayed in many hotels.
Upon our arrival the host was great. The resort itself was very nice, the view was amazing, food was great as were all the staff.When we entered our room it was unbearably hot with only a double bed and a shared balcony with another room. Having never stayed in your resort prior, and with the very late arrival time we decided to stay. Unfortunately, the bed was very uncomfortable caused a pinched nerve in my back and neck, and the room was like an oven it was impossible to sleep, it was hot and had to have the door shut and window as we did not feel safe to have open with access to our room from the shared balcony. I must question why when I made a reservation for my wife and I, we were not inform us would be sharing a balcony with strangers.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Craig4377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineFleming, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
I’m so sorry your stay was not up to your standards, or mine. Thank you so much for your feedback. I assure you your concerns have been addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    309
    145
    71
    36
See reviews for
271
443
19
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheridan, Oregon
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Painter's Lodge on the Campbell river in British Columbia is a fisherman's dream. I stayed with my father and brother for 3 days, and enjoyed every minute. This resort is A+ all the way. The rooms were very nice. Dinning was superb. Great meals, with a service staff that performed simply outstanding. We went for the salmon fishing. Wow, that was fun. We caught quite a fue salmon. The 20 foot boston wailers were perfect for the job, and the guides really knew their stuff. If you get a chance to visit this fine destination, you will not be dissapointed.

Room Tip: River side rooms have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Casey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineFleming, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
I’m so glad you enjoyed your fishing trip! Campbell River isn’t called the salmon capital of the world for nothing, and our guides know these waters better than anyone else!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We spent one night here in late September and loved it. Front desk staff and bar staff were friendly and helpful. We ordered from the restaurant but ate in the bar area next to the window and watched the night come in over the water. The food was good, and the view was wonderful. We had much the same view of trees, sky, and water from our room as well. This is a lodge, so the rooms are rustic but very comfortable. We also had a good breakfast (again with that lovely view) the next morning. We would definitely stay here again--hopefully longer next time. It would be a great place to relax, even if you don't enjoy fishing!

Room Tip: Definitely go for a water view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rebecca287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineFleming, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you so much for staying at Painter’s Lodge! Hopefully next time you can stay a little longer. And yes, we have lots of activities other than fishing, including wildlife tours, and kayak and scooter rentals at our sister resort April Point. Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here this summer for a wedding nearby. The service on arrival was excellent and the staff were friendly and helpful throughout. The room was huge and was well appointed. Breakfast was excellent and good value (not included in our price) and the bar serves good snacks too.

The site has a nice lodge atmosphere with separate blocks. We'd love to have got an ocean view and we recommend asking about this in advance.

The views are excellent and there was a free water taxi to another resort across the water. You can fins another lodge there with a great deck - seals came to see us while having a drink.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulk431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineFleming, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
I’m so happy to hear you enjoyed your time at Painter’s Lodge. We have lots of ocean view rooms available, just make sure you mention you’d like one next time you book. I’m looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in a waterfront room - very pleased we chose this option. The views over the water were amazing, with a constantly changing stream of boats from small private craft to tugs with loaded barges and huge passenger liners passing by. We also saw orca and a pod of dolphins right from our balcony. The furnishings were maybe a little 'tired' but the room was always clean, and was very comfortable. Food in the restaurant was excellent, but service could be a little slow at busy times. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and would return.

Room Tip: choose a waterfront room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank callybobstaf4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineFleming, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay. Seeing orcas and dolphins up close is a once in a lifetime experience, and I’m so happy we could make that happen for you. Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alveley
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

The position of this hotel on the waterfront and the general atmosphere of the hotel makes this a great place to stay.Amanda and (?) Shay on reception were magnificent.There's free parking and the food is of the best.The rooms are different but very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alveleydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineFleming, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words. I’m really happy you enjoyed your stay and I’m looking forward to seeing again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Great location, great views if facing the water. We saw the Fall Special in the local newspaper – an excellent deal which included one night accommodation and dinner for two. Dinner was very good – my choice the ‘West Coast Fish & Chips’ – Halibut baked in a very tasty bread crumb topping and served on piping hot plates. Desert was a mini apple pie with vanilla bean ice cream – excellent. The starters were a little disappointing. I had the west coast chowder – it must have been sitting a little too long as it was not warm and in a cold bowl. My partner ordered the beet salad – expecting various types of beets but mainly got just red ones on a bunch of lettuce. Her main was also a little disappointing – nowhere near the flavour of mine. Her desert was a chocolate mousse which was very big but nice. Unfortunately there was a large crowd of guests that were very noisy and should have been asked to quieten down as this is not a pub but a dining room.
The room was past it best by date but still comfortable – outfitted with 2 queen beds. A small balcony faces the water – very nice but some of the wood could do with replacing – they appear to be going through that process now as some banisters have been completed. If we went back I would book the lower rooms over in the 101 -125 where you can get direct access to the outside from your room – the balcony’s’ are above.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beach1171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineFleming, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
I’m so glad you enjoyed the special, and thanks for your feedback. In case you don’t know, we offer the same special in the spring as well, so make sure to check it out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbell River
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
2.4 mi away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet
BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet
#4 of 16 in Campbell River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
April Point Resort & Spa
April Point Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Quathiaski Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
71.2 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
78.5 mi away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Painter's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Painter's Lodge

Property: Painter's Lodge
Address: 1625 McDonald Rd, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 4S5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Painter's Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the pristine shores of Vancouver Island, Painter's Lodge offers world-class salmon fishing, breathtaking wildlife and scenery and full amenities. When you're not fighting a mighty salmon on the line, soak in the outdoor pool, refine your serve on the tennis courts, or watch marine life play as you tour the coastline on a Wildlife Adventure Tour. Connected by water taxi, guests enjoy all the amenities including new Aveda Spa at April Point Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Painter's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Painter`s Hotel Campbell River
Painters Hotel Campbell River
Painters Resort Campbell River
Painter's Lodge Campbell River, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing