We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday at Painters Lodge”
Review of Painter's Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Painter's Lodge
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Certificate of Excellence
nanaimo
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Birthday at Painters Lodge”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We went for my BD, and did the 145 dollar special. It included your one night stay and a 3 course dinner. Wow!! It was awesome, our room was huge and the view lovely. The dinner was fantastic and so good. We took the boat over to April point did a hike and popped in for a drink on the patio deck. While we were enjoying the view whales came by so cool! It was a great get away and I recommend it to anyone. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineFleming, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
It sounds like you really got the most out of your visit! I’m thrilled you enjoyed your room, dinner and drinks, and the views at both resorts. Of course it doesn’t hurt that the whales decided to put a little show on for you as well. Thank you for celebrating your Birthday with us! We hope to have you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    348
    170
    80
    38
See reviews for
305
487
22
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I've just returned from a weekend called "Painters at Painters" that is a gathering of West Coast artists and art enthusiasts in the gardens and conference rooms of Painter's Lodge. The setting couldn't be more perfect. Everywhere you look there was a painting - misty islands at dawn, sun drenched gardens, romantic sunsets over the water, close up views of Eagles, harbour porpoises, and lush vegetation. My husband and I stayed two nights and had a large double room at the main lodge on the island April Point. A 5 minute ferry carried us to the dock at Painters where we had enormous buffet style breakfasts with everything from Oysters Casino, Eggs Benny, omelettes made or order, cascades of fruit, roast beef if that is your fancy at breakfast and hot and cold seafood dishes, salmon, halibut, crab and a table laden with every kind of sweet treat imaginable. The staff were caring and friendly, the rooms clean and decorated with a rainforest theme with fine quality duvets, curtains etc. no detail was spared. We hope to go back next year - a memorable experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineFleming, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Wow—thank you for your amazing review. We too find our property rather beautiful and inspiring, like a Toni Onley piece. It sounds like you had lovely stay at April Point, and enjoyed the event. We hope to see you at Painter’s at Painters again next year, if not sooner!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niwot, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

While historically many famous people (Bob Hope, President Johnson, Jessica Lange, Susan Hayward, etc.) have stayed at Painter's Lodge to fish the Tyee salmon as reflected in photos on the main lodge walls, this place makes a romantic getaway as well. My husband had business meetings in Vancouver for a few days, and we decided to take the BC Ferry over to Vancouver Island and drive up the scenic coast to Campbell River. This lodge was recommended to us. It had only been open a week after closing for the winter, but was fully staffed and ready for a busy season. It is located along the ocean such that seals can be seen poking their heads out of the water near the shore and bald eagles are flying overhead. We stayed in the main lodge upstairs to the right of the stairway and had a beautiful view. Our room was clean and comfortable. The front desk staff was friendly and the wait staff in the restaurants were on top of everything. Dinner in the main dining room was the best we had while in Vancouver/Vancouver Island. We were told a pod of orcas had come through a few days earlier, and had hoped to see some, but weren't so fortunate during our one nights' stay. We would stay here again for a much longer period of time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineFleming, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you so much for all of your positive feedback. We’re thrilled that you had an exceptional experience here. We hope to have you again soon- maybe next time you’ll see those Orcas!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Great food in the restaurants, watched seaplanes take off and land. Magical place to stay. Booked a salmon fishing expedition thru the front desk. Staff friendly, room clean except for some mold in the closet area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stayed 3 nights and they arranged 2 guided fishing trips. They suggested one of their 2 level lodge style rooms for our group of 3 guys to keep the cost down. The 2 beds downstairs are in the same room, but compared to the quarters we're in when we're tailgating (4 guys crashing in a 30ft RV) there was a ton of room.
The lodge is wonderful. Incredible views, great service, and the food was great for a fishing lodge. Not world class food, but good for the setting.
The town isn't anything special. We golfed and hung out a few extra days and found the Comox Valley to be a much better choice. Downtown Comox had great pubs and the golf courses were decent.
Back to Painter's.....The package price was the most amazing thing. When I told the other guys what the total was for lodging and fishing, they thought I meant "each" instead of the total. Everyone was floored by how inexpensive it was for a great guided fishing experience and a really nice lodge. I'm definitely going back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed for two nights primarily to take a Grizzly Bear tour from Campbell River. We booked an Ocean front room and stayed in Room 124 one of the signature rooms, Alan Wylie(Redonda building).

The room had two queen beds, TV, fridge, coffee making and room fan no A/C so could be hot in summer. Bathroom was a very strange arrangement only containing bath with shower over it and a WC. The wash basin was outside the bathroom in the bedroom and separated from the sleeping area by a small wall. The room was clean but the carpet was very stained with what looked like oil! View from the balcony was fantastic and definitely worth paying the extra for the ocean view if you have time to sit out and enjoy it.

As the lodge is beyond walking distance to Campbell River we ate in the Fireside Lounge both evenings. We had been going out to eat for the past 2 weeks as we had been staying in B&B’s so it was a nice change not having to find a restaurant or bar for food. We ordered from the bar menu and found the food to be of a good standard at a reasonable price. The second evening we were rather rushed to pay the bill so that the waitress could leave rather than the tab being passed over to another waitress. Besides that the service we received was very good.

The Wi-Fi reception was terrible even in the main building.

We would defiantly stay at Painters Lodge again and if we did would allow more time to enjoy the facilities.

Room Tip: Pay extra for an ocean view room if you are going to have the time to sit on the balcony and enjoy i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineFleming, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
I’m so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully next time you visit you’ll have more time to enjoy all the activities and services we have to offer. Please come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed at your establishment in August, sent an email and never received a reply. Since we have traveled there twice since then and stayed elsewhere I wanted to ensure you noted our feedback on our stay. I travel a fair bit and have stayed in many hotels.
Upon our arrival the host was great. The resort itself was very nice, the view was amazing, food was great as were all the staff.When we entered our room it was unbearably hot with only a double bed and a shared balcony with another room. Having never stayed in your resort prior, and with the very late arrival time we decided to stay. Unfortunately, the bed was very uncomfortable caused a pinched nerve in my back and neck, and the room was like an oven it was impossible to sleep, it was hot and had to have the door shut and window as we did not feel safe to have open with access to our room from the shared balcony. I must question why when I made a reservation for my wife and I, we were not inform us would be sharing a balcony with strangers.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineFleming, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
I’m so sorry your stay was not up to your standards, or mine. Thank you so much for your feedback. I assure you your concerns have been addressed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbell River
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
277 reviews
2.3 mi away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
338 reviews
4.2 mi away
Best Western Austrian Chalet
Best Western Austrian Chalet
#4 of 16 in Campbell River
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
135.8 mi away
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection
1.4 mi away
April Point Resort & Spa
April Point Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Quathiaski Cove
409 reviews
33.1 mi away
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Painter's Lodge

Property: Painter's Lodge
Address: 1625 McDonald Rd, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 4S5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Painter's Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the pristine shores of Vancouver Island, Painter's Lodge offers world-class salmon fishing, breathtaking wildlife and scenery and full amenities. When you're not fighting a mighty salmon on the line, soak in the outdoor pool, refine your serve on the tennis courts, or watch marine life play as you tour the coastline on a Wildlife Adventure Tour. Connected by water taxi, guests enjoy all the amenities including new Aveda Spa at April Point Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Painter's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Painter`s Hotel Campbell River
Painters Hotel Campbell River
Painters Resort Campbell River
Painter's Lodge Campbell River, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing