We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a very nice, quiet place to stay”
Review of Painter's Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Painter's Lodge
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“This is a very nice, quiet place to stay”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I don't fish. I've never met a fish that annoyed me enough to want it killed. You don't have to fish to stay here. It's just a lovely peaceful place on the ocean with good food and a sister hotel on a nearby island that has a water taxi (free) that goes back and forth. I almost forgot I was here on business. Oh, if you like to fish; I hear it's pretty good right our front.

Room Tip: the cabins look very interesting
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineFleming, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
I’m happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Anytime we can turn a business trip into a relaxing vacation we know we’re doing our job! And you’re right, there’s much more to do here than just fishing. With Wildlife Adventure Tours leaving daily, Wine & Cheese Cruises, a heated swimming pool and an Aveda Spa at April Point there’s truly something for everyone. Come back to see us again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    348
    170
    80
    38
See reviews for
305
487
22
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
cotswolds
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel in Sept 2014, the location overlooking the straights was 1st Class, the hotel spoilt us because we were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary with a beautiful fruit basket.
You must go and either fish or take a trip to sea the sea life or bears while here
Lots of VIPs have visited here over the years (see our photos)
THANK YOU FOR SPOILING US

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineFleming, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Happy anniversary! I’m so glad we were able to host such an important celebration for the two of you. Our goal is to exceed every guest’s expectations and give them the vacation they deserve. We were to make this happen for you and look forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria BC Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Visited Painters Lodge for the 1st time ( birthday celebration) the Spring Special , one night with one dinner each was exactly that "SPECIAL" . We had a loft room with balcony & partial ocean view and stayed an extra night. Wish we had been able to stay longer. Next time we will ask for full ocean view as there is so much scenery & activity to see. An abundance of Bald Headed Eagles soaring above. Lovely warm outdoors pool, very clean pool area with two hot tubs. Room was clean, asked for a bottle of wine that was waiting for us upon arrival. All staff were very friendly. Melody our waitress in the restaurant was one of the very best we have ever had. All breakfast items were at a reasonable price. We were able to take our Golden Retriever with us which was a bonus & as long as he was on leash they allowed him to go anywhere with us on the grounds, except where weddings are held. We can't wait to go back. Next time will be for a longer stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineFleming, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Happy belated birthday! I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay. It sounds like every facet of your vacation lived up to our high standards, which is excellent. Hopefully you can stay a little longer next time and take advantage of more of our activities, including fishing, wildlife tours or the spa at April Point.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, BC
Level 6 Contributor
460 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Spent two nights fishing and enjoying the amenities at Painter's Lodge. We've been there numberous times in the past and enjoy the overall experience. The resort is well laid out with pool, hot tub, meeting facilities, casual and whaite table cloth dining. But we go for the fishing which is dependent upont he salmon runs. The fish can be there today and somehwher else tomorrow so no guarantees. But if you want a combiantion of outdoor experience with amenties for all members of yoru family PL can work for you. The resort has two lodges, Painter's on the mainland and a short 10 minute water taxi ride across to April Point Lodge. There is lots of information on their websites so you can choose which works best for you. The guides are generally very good, they offer two options: Fishing from Boston Whalers with a guide or from a cruiser also with a guide. We choose teh 8 hour options in the cruisers to maximize fishing time in a larger boat. The Whalers can ahndle up to two guests; the cruisers can handle up to 3 guests comfortably and for 8 hours on the water this option works best for us. So depending upon your budget and how serious you are about fishing both can work for you. The Dining facilities at both lodgews are very nice, the lodges are only open May to October so they do experience some staff turnover as one would expect. With that said the food was good, service very good and overall dining experience good. When at lodges such as PL and AP one needs to keep their expectations in check, everyone from reception to service staff to our guide were friendly and service oriented. There is lots to do in the area if you want to combine golf, fishing, dining and eco-tourism. I was there with our two sons and we had a blast, but there were families, stags and stagettes, buddy groups and couples all enjoying the experience. We caught 8 chinook of various sizes with lots of action, all in all a great experience!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the cabins, well equipped (but not slick and fancy), you are at a fishing / outd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineFleming, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Wow, sounds like you guys had an awesome fishing trip! 8 Chinook, that’s impressive! I’m happy to hear everything met your expectations and you and your sons had fun at Painter’s Lodge. This year is supposed to be a record year for fishing according to the DFO. Fishing has already been great and it’s only going to get better once summer hits, so if you enjoyed your time with us in the spring maybe think about coming to see us in the summer when the fishing hits its peak!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Location right beside the water is amazing. Cruise ships going by so close you feel you could touch them. Cozy rooms with good comfortable beds. Water taxi over to April Point is a must with amazing views of the waterfronts from either side.

The downside is the pub at the lodge. Late night crowds can go till midnight or later and the parking lot spills out patrons who are noisy. Rooms in the lodge look out over top of the outdoor pub patio.

Easy to find just minutes north of the main city site. Overall a fantastic stay with world class views and relaxation.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineFleming, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
I’m so glad we were able to provide an enjoyable getaway for you. We’re truly fortunate to be in such a beautiful location and I’m happy you got a chance to enjoy the views and the scenery.

I apologize if any noise from the pub disturbed you during your stay. We are very conscious of this and try to keep the noise to a minimum at all times. If you’re looking for a quiet, romantic getaway I would recommend staying in one of our other buildings that are separated from the Pub and any noise it might produce. You may also want to try our sister resort, April Point, which also includes a spa, and is a great getaway for couples.

The next time you stay with us feel free let us know what kind of vacation experience you’re looking for. That way can make sure we do everything we can do deliver the location and atmosphere you were hoping for.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We only stayed one evening and night at Painters Lodge, so our experience is limited. We took advantage of their Spring special, which included one night's stay and dinner for two. The lodge is a series of two story units spread around attractive landscaping.Or room was a standard room overlooking a beautiful lawn and garden. The room itself was a bit larger than average, ample to hold two queen size beds, and there was about 10 feet clearance between the end of the bed and the wall. The room had the standard amenities, the beds were comfortable, the bathroom large and adequately supplied, and the room was clean and in good repair. The employees in all departments were cordial and competent. As part of their service they have a free hourly shuttle from Painters Lodge to their sister lodge on Quadra Island, but we didn't take advantage of it.

We'd have no hesitancy in staying again.

Room Tip: We found the standard room attractive and more than adequate. we didn't see the need to book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineFleming, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you so much for visiting us and I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully next time you’ll be able to stay a little longer and have a chance to go fishing, experience a Wine and Cheese Cruise or visit our sister resort April Point. We look forward to seeing you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher Lake, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This is such a beautiful place.... The setting for a wedding is perfect for an intimate family gathering. We had about 50 in the group... They had more than enough space for all...
The staff were VERY accommodating...friendly and just made you feel at home.
The rooms... Clean...bedding was clean....bed was very comfortable!
When the bride and groom were getting married...ceremony took place on the front lawn overlooking the channel.... Spotted a whale....how beautiful and fitting.
Cruise ships go thru the Channel a couple times a day... Fishing they say is fantastic... (We didn't have time)
This could most certainly be a perfect place for some R&R
They had a heated pool and 2 hot tubs.... Great place for couples...families...
The food in the lodge was fantastic... The prime rib was one of the best I have ever tasted... Husband likes his med rare and I liked mine med well... Both to perfection!
Breakfast is very tasty...
I can't say enough good about the place. We very much enjoyed it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room with the king bed in the loft... The bathroom is on the main floor...about 10...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineFleming, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
It sounds like you had a wonderful stay with us! And what a beautiful wedding it was. We’re honoured to have hosted the happy couple on their big day. I’m pleased that the staff, room cleanliness, and food exceeded your expectations. Come visit again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbell River
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
276 reviews
2.3 mi away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
338 reviews
4.2 mi away
Best Western Austrian Chalet
Best Western Austrian Chalet
#4 of 16 in Campbell River
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
135.8 mi away
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection
1.4 mi away
April Point Resort & Spa
April Point Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Quathiaski Cove
409 reviews
33.1 mi away
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Painter's Lodge

Property: Painter's Lodge
Address: 1625 McDonald Rd, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 4S5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Painter's Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the pristine shores of Vancouver Island, Painter's Lodge offers world-class salmon fishing, breathtaking wildlife and scenery and full amenities. When you're not fighting a mighty salmon on the line, soak in the outdoor pool, refine your serve on the tennis courts, or watch marine life play as you tour the coastline on a Wildlife Adventure Tour. Connected by water taxi, guests enjoy all the amenities including new Aveda Spa at April Point Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Painter's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Painter`s Hotel Campbell River
Painters Hotel Campbell River
Painters Resort Campbell River
Painter's Lodge Campbell River, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing