We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,384)
Filter reviews
1,386 results
Traveller rating
524
442
246
117
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
524
442
246
117
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsapril pointthe pubfishwater taxisister resortmarine centerdining roomwildlife tourwhale watchingquadra islandtennis courtsbeautiful locationmain buildingnew ownersbald eaglesdiscovery passagelovely view
Filter
Updating list...
1,033 - 1,038 of 1,386 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel in Sept 2014, the location overlooking the straights was 1st Class, the hotel spoilt us because we were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary with a beautiful fruit basket.
You must go and either fish or take a trip to sea the sea life or bears while here
Lots of VIPs have visited here over the years (see our photos)
THANK YOU FOR SPOILING US

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lovehols_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineFleming, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Happy anniversary! I’m so glad we were able to host such an important celebration for the two of you. Our goal is to exceed every guest’s expectations and give them the vacation they deserve. We were to make this happen for you and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Visited Painters Lodge for the 1st time ( birthday celebration) the Spring Special , one night with one dinner each was exactly that "SPECIAL" . We had a loft room with balcony & partial ocean view and stayed an extra night. Wish we had been able to stay longer. Next time we will ask for full ocean view as there is so much scenery & activity to see. An abundance of Bald Headed Eagles soaring above. Lovely warm outdoors pool, very clean pool area with two hot tubs. Room was clean, asked for a bottle of wine that was waiting for us upon arrival. All staff were very friendly. Melody our waitress in the restaurant was one of the very best we have ever had. All breakfast items were at a reasonable price. We were able to take our Golden Retriever with us which was a bonus & as long as he was on leash they allowed him to go anywhere with us on the grounds, except where weddings are held. We can't wait to go back. Next time will be for a longer stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Audrey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineFleming, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Happy belated birthday! I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay. It sounds like every facet of your vacation lived up to our high standards, which is excellent. Hopefully you can stay a little longer next time and take advantage of more of our activities, including fishing, wildlife tours or the spa at April Point.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Spent two nights fishing and enjoying the amenities at Painter's Lodge. We've been there numberous times in the past and enjoy the overall experience. The resort is well laid out with pool, hot tub, meeting facilities, casual and whaite table cloth dining. But we go for the fishing which is dependent upont he salmon runs. The fish can be there today and somehwher else tomorrow so no guarantees. But if you want a combiantion of outdoor experience with amenties for all members of yoru family PL can work for you. The resort has two lodges, Painter's on the mainland and a short 10 minute water taxi ride across to April Point Lodge. There is lots of information on their websites so you can choose which works best for you. The guides are generally very good, they offer two options: Fishing from Boston Whalers with a guide or from a cruiser also with a guide. We choose teh 8 hour options in the cruisers to maximize fishing time in a larger boat. The Whalers can ahndle up to two guests; the cruisers can handle up to 3 guests comfortably and for 8 hours on the water this option works best for us. So depending upon your budget and how serious you are about fishing both can work for you. The Dining facilities at both lodgews are very nice, the lodges are only open May to October so they do experience some staff turnover as one would expect. With that said the food was good, service very good and overall dining experience good. When at lodges such as PL and AP one needs to keep their expectations in check, everyone from reception to service staff to our guide were friendly and service oriented. There is lots to do in the area if you want to combine golf, fishing, dining and eco-tourism. I was there with our two sons and we had a blast, but there were families, stags and stagettes, buddy groups and couples all enjoying the experience. We caught 8 chinook of various sizes with lots of action, all in all a great experience!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the cabins, well equipped (but not slick and fancy), you are at a fishing / outdoor resort and there is a good selection of rooms that overlook the water at both locations.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulowlcourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineFleming, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Wow, sounds like you guys had an awesome fishing trip! 8 Chinook, that’s impressive! I’m happy to hear everything met your expectations and you and your sons had fun at Painter’s Lodge. This year is supposed to be a record year for fishing according to the DFO. Fishing has already been great and it’s only going to get better once summer hits, so if you enjoyed your time with us in the spring maybe think about coming to see us in the summer when the fishing hits its peak!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Location right beside the water is amazing. Cruise ships going by so close you feel you could touch them. Cozy rooms with good comfortable beds. Water taxi over to April Point is a must with amazing views of the waterfronts from either side.

The downside is the pub at the lodge. Late night crowds can go till midnight or later and the parking lot spills out patrons who are noisy. Rooms in the lodge look out over top of the outdoor pub patio.

Easy to find just minutes north of the main city site. Overall a fantastic stay with world class views and relaxation.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank yvrtravelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineFleming, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

I’m so glad we were able to provide an enjoyable getaway for you. We’re truly fortunate to be in such a beautiful location and I’m happy you got a chance to enjoy the views and the scenery.

I apologize if any noise from the pub disturbed you during your stay. We are very conscious of this and try to keep the noise to a minimum at all times. If you’re looking for a quiet, romantic getaway I would recommend staying in one of our other buildings that are separated from the Pub and any noise it might produce. You may also want to try our sister resort, April Point, which also includes a spa, and is a great getaway for couples.

The next time you stay with us feel free let us know what kind of vacation experience you’re looking for. That way can make sure we do everything we can do deliver the location and atmosphere you were hoping for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We only stayed one evening and night at Painters Lodge, so our experience is limited. We took advantage of their Spring special, which included one night's stay and dinner for two. The lodge is a series of two story units spread around attractive landscaping.Or room was a standard room overlooking a beautiful lawn and garden. The room itself was a bit larger than average, ample to hold two queen size beds, and there was about 10 feet clearance between the end of the bed and the wall. The room had the standard amenities, the beds were comfortable, the bathroom large and adequately supplied, and the room was clean and in good repair. The employees in all departments were cordial and competent. As part of their service they have a free hourly shuttle from Painters Lodge to their sister lodge on Quadra Island, but we didn't take advantage of it.

We'd have no hesitancy in staying again.

Room Tip: We found the standard room attractive and more than adequate. we didn't see the need to book a water view room.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dldcw2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineFleming, General Manager at Painter's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you so much for visiting us and I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully next time you’ll be able to stay a little longer and have a chance to go fishing, experience a Wine and Cheese Cruise or visit our sister resort April Point. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews