We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired but serviceable” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heritage River Inn

Heritage River Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Heritage River Inn
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Port Hardy, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Tired but serviceable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

My friends and I ended up here when our usual hotel was sold out and we were in the midst of a family emergency. We were in the suite as there were 4 of us. Think 1970's if you will. Very old decor and obviously very few upgrades have been done. I will say that the beds were comfortable. But I don' t think I have ever seen such a small bathroom. And I got a neck cramp watching the flat screen TV on top of the fridge. The $145 we paid was definitely overinflated. The suite was clean and the staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kari1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    20
    11
    0
    3
See reviews for
9
17
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I usually stay south of Campbell River due to the availability and selection of hotels, but decided to give it a try and found Heritage River Inn.

Aside from the motel being a little dated, the room was spacious and clean, and the grounds are beautifully located along the river. The continental breakfast was a little skimpy, but not a big deal.

The desk staff were great, and we couldn't argue with the price.

We will definitely come back!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 24kjer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed here for one night because they take pets. Price not bad and located on the river, but in an industrial zone close to downtown and walking distance to licensed cafe. Clean unit, but not modern.

Room Tip: Some have full kitchens
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coal Harbour, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Clean place with good/friendly service, but the noise from the highway was too loud and the beds weren't particularly comfortable. Great for people just on a short business trip or for someone who needs a room at the last minute!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
323 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stopped here for one night. The desk person was fun and friendly and a hoot to talk to. She gave us good info for the 24 hours we were going to be in the area.

The room was large, clean, and well appointed, with a stove and full sized refrigerator. Breakfast was included in the price of the room. Considering the prices of the surrounding hotel/motels, it was a steal.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CommanderChip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed 3 nights in their kitchenette room with a dog. It is a lot nicer than many pet friendly places. The river is nice for a quick am dog walk. Stove/oven seems barely used. The two closet spaces are perfect to keep all our junk. Other than the foot steps above us, the room was pretty quiet. Breakfast was some oranges, bananas and toast. If you want coffee, don't be lazy and brew yourself a fresh pot; the coffee i had seemed like it was there for some time. We bought food from the nearby Walmart Supercenter and made our own breakfast the next day.

Great reception service! We had to change our booking twice and they were really nice about it and didn't charge us. We're glad to know that there is a place perfect for us next time we visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tlee604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Nothing was spectacular but nothing was terrible. It was cute and clean. The breakfast was fine- coffee was not. It had a little fridge that we didnt use. We were really only there about 10 hours so dont have much to write about.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Campbell River hotels
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet
BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet
#4 of 16 in Campbell River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
1.5 mi away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Heron's Landing Hotel
Heron's Landing Hotel
#5 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Harbourside Inn
The Harbourside Inn
#16 of 16 in Campbell River
3.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
2.4 mi away
Anchor Inn & Suites
Anchor Inn & Suites
#12 of 16 in Campbell River
3.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage River Inn

Property: Heritage River Inn
Address: 2140 Island Hwy, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 2G7, Canada (Formerly Rustic Motel)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Heritage River Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Heritage River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rustic Hotel Campbell River
Heritage River Inn Campbell River, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing