We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid rustic motel!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Heritage River Inn

Heritage River Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Heritage River Inn
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Victoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Avoid rustic motel!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2009

I just spent 2 days at the Rustic Motel in Campbell River BC and have never been treated with such disrespect by a host in all of my life. We arrived late on Friday evening and the owner, Stephen [--], used rude and foul language to describe my family and our behavior--arriving late. My brother made an apology and Mr [--]'s response was "Don't patronize me". The next day Mr [--]'s attitude hadn't changed. He was rude, condescending, and had racist undertones to his speech in the morning. Before checkout on Sunday morning a large woman with dark hair and glasses pounded on our door and rudely demanded we put the "do not disturb" indicator on our door before walking away. Shortly after some elderly people went to ask Mr [--] why he was behaving so rudely and why they had not taken down their reservations when they called in. Mr [--] continually cut off the 3 elderly people became agressively argumentative leaving the two women in tears.
If you are going to Campbell River and need accomdations AVOID THE RUSTIC MOTEL!!! There are plenty of accomdations in Campbell River that will be HAPPY to treat you with respect.
After my experience this weekend I sincerely believe Stephen [--]does NOT belong in the hospitality business and I will be writing a letter to the Better Business Bureau outlining my treatment in his establishment.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KnifemakerC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    20
    11
    0
    3
See reviews for
9
17
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2009

My advise would be to avoid this hotel. There are much better places to stay in Campbell River, that are way closer to town. This place is too far outside town to walk. They overcharged us for our room and accused us of having two pets when we only had one. They lied to us when we tried to resolve this issue and it took three phone calls to get it resolved.

The place is shabby, run down, the bathrooms and microwave weren't clean, lights didn't work and the shower was very difficult to use. The so called breakfast consisted of stale cereal and cookies with over ripe fruit. Breakfast wasn't restocked the entire time we were there. All I ask when I stay somewhere is that the rooms are clean, and the shower works properly. I got neither in this case. Stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank canadiansurfsister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria, bc
Level Contributor
103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2009

great family room for all six of us, and nice self-serve breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rtsvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2009

Very nice and peaceful, very friendly staff. Away from hustle and bustle. Had a great breakfast in the morning. Definately coming back!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spey49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okanagan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2008

we had a very nice stay at the Rustic Motel-stayed in one of the back rooms-it was very quiet-clean-employees very helpful and nice-overall experience very acceptable-will probably stay again.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank deloss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2007

Motel shown on the website as a park like setting. This was true in part but a lot of rooms opened onto the parking courtyard. On our visit what we saw from our window was a dirty truck and garbage bins set at waist high directly in the middle of our window. Room was adequate although the ceiling fan could not be turned off without turning out the light. Staff were friendly and the breakfast (included) good.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2007

Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent Motel accommodation. Spacious suite and rooms, fully equipped. Fantastically comfortable beds. Nice river side location. Well maintained grounds with several bbq and other rest areas, laundry and other facilities for guest use. Reasonable breakfast included in price. About 5 minutes outside Campbell River centre on road heading north to Port Hardy, so easy road in, and out. Really good value for money especially in comparison with many hotels. We liked it a lot and would definitely recommend it.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Slightly dark inside the suite
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Iantofullpelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Campbell River hotels
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet
BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet
#4 of 16 in Campbell River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Heron's Landing Hotel
Heron's Landing Hotel
#5 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
2.4 mi away
Anchor Inn & Suites
Anchor Inn & Suites
#12 of 16 in Campbell River
3.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Harbourside Inn
The Harbourside Inn
#16 of 16 in Campbell River
3.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage River Inn

Property: Heritage River Inn
Address: 2140 Island Hwy, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 2G7, Canada (Formerly Rustic Motel)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Heritage River Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Heritage River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rustic Hotel Campbell River
Heritage River Inn Campbell River, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing