We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best trip yet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Strathcona Park Lodge & Outdoor Education Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Nelson, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best trip yet”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I stayed at Strathcona Park Lodge in early May, and I had one of the best experiences of my life. My cottage was down by the water and the views were incredible. The cottage was rustic and quaint, and definitely had the "outdoor" feel (in a good way!). The bed was incredibly comfortable and I slept better than I have in a long time. Although the prices are a little higher than one might think as appropriate for the age of the buildings, it is all off-the-grid, so I felt ok about paying a little more for such good environmental ethics.

The food in the Whale Room was really delicious. It's a very similar food-style to what I generally eat (health-conscious, a lot of vegetarian options, etc) and I noticed that some of the dishes from lunch are transformed into another delicious dish for dinner. It's great to see a restaurant use creativity to minimize waste.

The property itself is breath-taking. It's situated right on Upper Campbell Lake, which is a truly beautiful sight to behold. On upper property there's quite a few trails that range from easy to difficult. There's lots of fruit trees, flower plants and gardens in canoes everywhere as well. It's all very sweet.

Last but certainly not least, the staff were brilliant. Everyone was incredibly friendly and personable. If someone didn't know the answer to a question, they found someone who did.

Thanks, Strathcona Park Lodge!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catheryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    31
    15
    8
    6
See reviews for
41
43
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed in cabin 15 overlooking the lake. We found the resort to be outstanding. Staff were very friendly and helpful, the views are spectacular and the cabin was one of the best we have stayed in. This was a true highlight of our stay. The food was good and provincial park itself was wonderful. We really recommend this lodge.

Room Tip: Choose cabin 15 overlooking the lake. Fantastic cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The lodge is located just outside Strathcona Provincial Park.

We reserved a "hotel" room in the Haig Brown building. The room itself was very basic (really one step up from camping), but it did have a deck (shared - not private) with nice view of the camp, lake and mountains.

The surroundings are beautiful and the meals at the main restaurant were buffet with family style seating but with a focus on healthy (lots of vegan, gluten free options) and a lot of local grown food.

All the staff were very friendly and helpful.

I cannot comment on any of the activities that the lodge offers as we really just used the lodge for meals and sleeping.

There is no WiFi in the hotel rooms, but it was available in the main lounge.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, BC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We just returned from a three night stay at Strathcona Park Lodge. After opting to spring for the extra money for a "Lake View" the first room we were given in Haig Brown had a peekaboo view (At best!). We went back and asked to be changed, which was done but when we saw the second room, we were again disappointed. The room was really tired, and had dust bunnies on the beams, and on the floor around the baseboards in the bathroom. We fortunately had inquired beforehand, and knew that there were no coffee makers or fridges in the rooms, so we had made our own arrangements. The plug in the bathroom did not work, and anything that was plugged into the plug in the living room kept falling out of the socket. There was a wedding booked in on the Saturday, and we were not told that this would affect the meal service for us (My question is "why??? were we not paying $ 160 a night like the wedding guests??) When we complained, we were told we could only order off the light menu, and when we continued to try to get the food we really wanted they comped us the salmon appetizer that we finally ended up ordering The Haig Brown building is tired, and past its best before date. There's rustic, and then there's just plain dirty. Other than the beautiful surroundings, I can't say that I would recommend this lodge. I will say they do have polite staff working there but I think they fact that they have a captive audience has let standards decline.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank islandgirl0609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We (family of 4-2 teenage girls) opted for the four day "Adventure Unlimited" package. We stayed in a lakeside cabin. The cabin was old and rustic but had electric, running water and a wood burning stove. There was one bedroom with a queen bed and a loft with two single beds. (I did not see lodge rooms.) The cabin did not have a television, telephone or WiFi. Nor was there a cell signal. So...we built a campfire by the lake every night. We were provided a guide who put together a program of outdoor activites-kayaking, ziplining, rock climbing and rapelling. The guide was excellent! He was with us everyday as long as we wanted him around. The activities more than met our expectations without pushing limits. All meals were provided. The evening meals were from a menu and served in a separate dining room. We did have choice of meat, fish and veggies. Breakfast and lunch we chose to eat the buffet in the large dining room. Two mornings the staff recognized us and cooked special meals-eggs to order and French toast. The sencery around the lodge is breathtaking. There are lots of trails. From the lodge you can also take day trips-King's Peak for example or drive to Gold River. Overall the cabin accommodations are above luxury camping but certainly not a luxury hotel. We thought the staff was great and very accomodating. We loved our stay at Strathcona Park Lodge and we hope go back.

Room Tip: I would go for a lakeside cabin. #5 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TODADDIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-on-Avon
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

If you take a room in the main lodge be prepared for large parties of teenagers here to learn to kayak or rock climb. A quieter option is to rent one of the chalets located by the lakeside. Meals out of high season are self-service with very limited choice and vegetarian. As a carnivore I did not enjoy an evening meal of limp green salad, followed by tofu curry, and carrot cake slice for desert. Not good value for Can$20

Room Tip: Choose a chalet, not a room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myke369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtenay, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

We booked this spot to celebrate our anniversary. We were very disappointed when we saw the rooms and realized we were paying over 300 dollars for a tiny bedroom with old carpet, a dingy bathroom and no privacy. We had seen the pictures of the cabins on their website under accomodation and assumed the rooms were modern with similar finishing. Very misleading and not worth the money. Our children were sleeping at the foot of our bed in two cots and there was only a loveseat and bench for a coffee table. Not to mention, our deck was 3 x5 with two plastic chairs. When we expressed our concern, they offered us a similar room. We had to insist on our money back and in the end we lost an 80 deposit and had no place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acclarke, General Manager at Strathcona Park Lodge & Outdoor Education Centre, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Dear Lisa:
How wonderful that you met your husband at Strathcona Park Lodge on a band trip several years ago. I was sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your accommodation. The Haig Brown penthouse room booked for two nights for your anniversary is approximately 525 square feet. While it doesn't offer the privacy that a waterfront cottage would, it is laid out in an 'L' shape, with the queen bed area separated by a sitting area with love seat and two soft chairs from the two twin beds at the other end of the L. The bench coffee table was custom made by Sam's Country Benches of Salt Spring Island. We use local artisans for furnishings wherever possible. The private deck is rather small, tucked under the eaves of the top of the chalet.

Our Interior Designer put us in touch with a flooring company with a wonderful eco record - Interface Flor. The carpet tile was replaced in 2011 and is from Interface Flor's Biodiversity collection.

Kind Regards,
Christine Clarke
Executive Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbell River
54.4 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
20.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
277 reviews
32.9 mi away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Best Western Austrian Chalet
Best Western Austrian Chalet
#4 of 16 in Campbell River
517 reviews
20.5 mi away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
338 reviews
20.7 mi away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#2 of 16 in Campbell River
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathcona Park Lodge & Outdoor Education Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathcona Park Lodge & Outdoor Education Centre

Property: Strathcona Park Lodge & Outdoor Education Centre
Address: 41040 Gold River Highway | P.O. Box 2160, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 5C5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Campbell River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Living on the edge since 1959, Strathcona Park Lodge pioneered self propelled and off the grid wilderness experiences on Vancouver Island, British Columbia, Canada. From the lake side cabins, chalets and rooms experience wilderness inspired summer holidays, guided trips and group gatherings. Home base for WYLD youth summer camps, the COLT leadership training program and outdoor education programming, SPL is a leader in experiential education and wilderness vacations. The setting The Boulding family chose well when they picked the site for Strathcona Park Lodge. From almost every room on the property you can get an amazing view of glacier carved valleys, big pristine lakes and rocky/snowcapped peaks. There are several hikes, viewpoints, protected bays and beaches, climbing bluffs, old growth trees, high ropes courses and zip lines -- and that's just on the property. Strathcona Provincial Park, B.C.'s oldest protected area, is just down the road. Within 30 minutes go whitewater paddling, mountain biking, more rock climbing, or lace up for interpretive walks, hikes and mountaineering routes. A little further is world class sea kayaking and whale watching on both sides of Vancouver Island. Summer vacations Perfectly poised between the mountains of Strathcona Provincial Park and a sprawling lake chain the Lodge is an ideal base for exploring the heart of Vancouver Island. Hike, paddle, climb or just sit back and relax on the beach. Stay in lake-side cabins, mountain view chalets or hotel style rooms overlooking it all. Refuel on delicious and healthy food. Disconnect from the wired world and return recharged. Group Gatherings The Lodge loves groups. Big or small, 200 to 10, we have the capacity, facilities and experience to make any gathering unforgettable. Every year we host multiple weddings, family reunions and other large groups on our picturesque and family friendly setting. With a dedicated staff we take care of every detail. Outdoor education/school programs In the spring and fall schools visit Strathcona to learn outside of the classroom. Removed from their everyday, challenged mentally and physically and exposed to new experiences, our specially trained leaders help students gain confidence, leadership, teamwork and camaraderie - skills that can't be learnt from a desk. These are experiences students remember forever. WYLD summer camps A summer camp like no other, Wilderness Youth Leadership Development (WYLD) Expeditions are 8 to 12 day expeditions for adventurous teens, 12 to 17 years old. Based out of the Lodge's lakeside location, the camps explore the hiking trails, lakes, inlets, beaches, islands and mountains of Vancouver Island by foot, sea kayak and canoe. COLT Leadership Semester We believe COLT is the best outdoor leadership program in Canada. Founded in 1977 by Canada's oldest outdoor education centre, COLT is a learn-by-doing program with the best job opportunities, instructors and learning environment. And for the price no other program comes close to offering as much. Participants graduate with hard skills, like sea kayaking, rock climbing, mountaineering, whitewater paddling, but even more soft skills, like leadership, group dynamics, teamwork, confidence and determination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Strathcona Park Lodge & Outdoor Education Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathcona Park Lodge & Outdoor Education Centre Hotel Campbell River
Strathcona Park Lodge And Outdoor Education Centre
Strathcona Park Lodge & Outdoor Education Centre Campbell River, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing