We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular natural beauty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Strathcona Park Lodge & Outdoor Education Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria Capital Regional District, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Spectacular natural beauty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Rustic accommodations with spectacular views, activities including kayaking, canoeing, swimming, paddle-boarding, hiking, with more adventurous sports available. Get to the breakfast buffet early to avoid drier food—a 10:00 brunch arranged as part of wedding celebrations was a disappointment. Wedding reception fare was very nice, being prepared specifically for the gathering.

Great staff, a sense of community, and an altogether splendid natural setting means we'll be back for sure. Bring a sleep mask if selecting a view room as the early sunrise fills space with light. Recommend bringing flashlights for evening returns to your cabin or chalet, corkscrew and bottle opener, pretty well all other needs are covered. Bring food & beverages - ice locally available ($2.50+ tax per bag) - very helpful team of outdoor enthusiasts staff the lodge.

Room Tip: Some rooms have private bathrooms, others do not. Roms in the chalets share a kitchen/living area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    31
    15
    8
    6
See reviews for
41
41
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Langley, Bc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We were just staying overnight…reserved a forest view with queen and bunk beds. What we got was a small garret up three steep staircases for an 83 year old to climb, a bed which was nestled under the rafters upon which you bumped your head when you got up. We should have complained earlier…c'est la vie!

Room Tip: Avoid room 46!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darlene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We came all the way from the UK for a stereo typical log cabin by the lake and we were not disappointed. We had booked cabin 5 which overlooked the lake and offered privacy and a calm, relaxing outlook on the stunning scenery. Kitchen was small but had everything we needed. Joined in the BBQ one night, delicious salmon, but self catered the rest of the time. Swam in the lake and two of the family went kayaking. Went off site to hike and visit a waterfall. Very relaxing. Staff super. Would love to return.

Room Tip: Worth having a lakeside cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Our family had 4 nights in Seale House, we thoroughly enjoyed the lodge. Very friendly and knowledgeable staff,The Strathcona Park lodge has a fantastic policy with regards to overall impact on environment. they are the only place I have ever stayed at that sorts the recyclable/waste as diligently as I do! Their commitment to environmental stewardship in tourism is pretty amazing.
In addition the location was great, with direct access to hiking local trails,The Strathcona Park trails are all within driving range for some awesome day hikes ( or longer) The youth programs and facilities were well organized and safe.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We recently revisited Strathcona Park Lodge and were relieved to find its unique spirit undiminished. We had arrived at Family Camp 15 years ago, with 2 sons of very different temperaments. They were both folded seamlessly into team-building, guided risk-taking and individualized encouragement that left them both walking taller by the week’s end. Our younger son was easily demoralized by new challenges. It was a moment to remember, to see him leave his great anxiety behind in little coached steps to success up the rock wall. It’s safe to say that mastering himself then, and during the zip line to follow, were defining moments in his life. To this day, we say, “Remember the rock-climb in Strathcona!”, when any of us needs to remember to tackle a new challenge by tiny bites.

Our older son who plowed into confidently into each new activity was also given the quiet encouragement he needed. Neither boy was compared to each other, but made to feel each had something to add to the group’s experience. It was no surprise that the families on our trip were pretty closely-knit by the week’s end, through kayak soccer, no-traces camping and the evening lakeside sauna swims. 15 years on at Strathcona, new staff have the same Strathcona spirit, and welcomed us warmly. We revisited favorite spots and experiences: the lake! Treasure Island! Bog Lookout! The food! They are undimmed. New groups are there now, and it’s fun to hear fresh laughter ringing through the woods.Here’s to you, Strathcona Park Lodge, for the experience you gave us, and have given so many, before and since. Long may you last!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyCamper10101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Strathcona Park Lodge for 2 nights recently. We choose the lodge due to its proximity to Strathcona Park because we planned to do some hiking. It was located on a very pretty lake and our room had a beautiful view. We expected the lodge to be rustic, and it definitely was. It was quite hot the days we were there although we did have our own fan which did help some. Unfortunately our room had only a small window in the bathroom and a patio door so we were not really able to cool the room off much at night. We were surprised that there was no shampoo provided in the room though we did have a small bottle from the previous place we stayed. They also were very big on "healthy" food so the small number of snacks they had for purchase were kind of different things, definitely come prepared with any snacks you might need. They also did not have any water in plastic bottles so be sure to bring your own water bottles. The breakfast buffet was quite good and we did eat dinner one night at Myrna's. The food was good though the service was really slow. Fortunately we had a good view so didn't mind the wait. There was wireless available at the office and in the lounge though it was quite erratic. The lodge was well positioned for the hikes we did so we would recommend it from that perspective.

Room Tip: The rooms looking at the lake had a great view though they got the afternoon sun which make them war...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldergrove, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed here for a wedding. We were in the Outdoor Centre building - one outlet in the room and none in the bathroom - not well received by three women trying to do their hair for the wedding. No A/C which we knew ahead of time however, we were on the second floor, the temperature soared to over 36* C and I ended up getting heat stroke and no sleep either of the nights I was there. On the plus side, the scenery and location is breathtaking, all of the staff encountered were all very friendly, we had amazing food at Myrna's, the lake is beautiful and the wedding ceremony and reception locations were great. My kids rented paddle boards and had a great time paddling around with their aunt and uncle. We got to spend some time in one of the cabins that some family rented and they were great. I would definitely book a cabin if I return.

Room Tip: Bring a fan or two if travelling in summer as it get HOT. Bring a mirror if you need to do your hair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelAgentRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbell River
20.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
20.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet
BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet
#4 of 16 in Campbell River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
19.4 mi away
Gold River Chalet
Gold River Chalet
#1 of 1 in Gold River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
20.7 mi away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#2 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
22.3 mi away
Brown's Bay Resort
Brown's Bay Resort
#2 of 14 in Campbell River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathcona Park Lodge & Outdoor Education Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathcona Park Lodge & Outdoor Education Centre

Property: Strathcona Park Lodge & Outdoor Education Centre
Address: 41040 Gold River Highway | P.O. Box 2160, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 5C5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Campbell River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Living on the edge since 1959, Strathcona Park Lodge pioneered self propelled and off the grid wilderness experiences on Vancouver Island, British Columbia, Canada. From the lake side cabins, chalets and rooms experience wilderness inspired summer holidays, guided trips and group gatherings. Home base for WYLD youth summer camps, the COLT leadership training program and outdoor education programming, SPL is a leader in experiential education and wilderness vacations. The setting The Boulding family chose well when they picked the site for Strathcona Park Lodge. From almost every room on the property you can get an amazing view of glacier carved valleys, big pristine lakes and rocky/snowcapped peaks. There are several hikes, viewpoints, protected bays and beaches, climbing bluffs, old growth trees, high ropes courses and zip lines -- and that's just on the property. Strathcona Provincial Park, B.C.'s oldest protected area, is just down the road. Within 30 minutes go whitewater paddling, mountain biking, more rock climbing, or lace up for interpretive walks, hikes and mountaineering routes. A little further is world class sea kayaking and whale watching on both sides of Vancouver Island. Summer vacations Perfectly poised between the mountains of Strathcona Provincial Park and a sprawling lake chain the Lodge is an ideal base for exploring the heart of Vancouver Island. Hike, paddle, climb or just sit back and relax on the beach. Stay in lake-side cabins, mountain view chalets or hotel style rooms overlooking it all. Refuel on delicious and healthy food. Disconnect from the wired world and return recharged. Group Gatherings The Lodge loves groups. Big or small, 200 to 10, we have the capacity, facilities and experience to make any gathering unforgettable. Every year we host multiple weddings, family reunions and other large groups on our picturesque and family friendly setting. With a dedicated staff we take care of every detail. Outdoor education/school programs In the spring and fall schools visit Strathcona to learn outside of the classroom. Removed from their everyday, challenged mentally and physically and exposed to new experiences, our specially trained leaders help students gain confidence, leadership, teamwork and camaraderie - skills that can't be learnt from a desk. These are experiences students remember forever. WYLD summer camps A summer camp like no other, Wilderness Youth Leadership Development (WYLD) Expeditions are 8 to 12 day expeditions for adventurous teens, 12 to 17 years old. Based out of the Lodge's lakeside location, the camps explore the hiking trails, lakes, inlets, beaches, islands and mountains of Vancouver Island by foot, sea kayak and canoe. COLT Leadership Semester We believe COLT is the best outdoor leadership program in Canada. Founded in 1977 by Canada's oldest outdoor education centre, COLT is a learn-by-doing program with the best job opportunities, instructors and learning environment. And for the price no other program comes close to offering as much. Participants graduate with hard skills, like sea kayaking, rock climbing, mountaineering, whitewater paddling, but even more soft skills, like leadership, group dynamics, teamwork, confidence and determination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Strathcona Park Lodge & Outdoor Education Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathcona Park Lodge And Outdoor Education Centre
Strathcona Park Lodge & Outdoor Education Centre Hotel Campbell River
Strathcona Park Lodge & Outdoor Education Centre Campbell River, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing