We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Destination fishing at a all time high!”
Review of Steep Island Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Campbell River
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Steep Island Lodge
Reviewed 17 September 2012

The incredible views from the helipad are only one of the many gifts that this island has to offer. Fishing guides met us at the dock each morning to take us either north or south as its centrally located on the Campbell River. Upon return we would be greated with snacks, cocktails and fabulous dinners. Our accomodations had everything and were very comfortable! Choose this destination for an unforgettable getaway outdoor fishing experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2012

For those looking to relax from a fast paced, stressful lifestyle or simply take the family for some fun on the water, this place is perfect in every way! Beautiful bald eagles perch in the tall evergreens surrounding the lodge while seals play in the water below. Kayaking, salmon fishing and an Eco tour of the island are among the activites offered, as well as, tossing a ball (or pine cone) to a few furry friends. Delicious meals and desserts, along with homemade cookies and fabulous appetizers, are served each day in the dining room. Chantal and crew also can pack an awesome lunch for those trips on the water! Every need is taken care of...the Steep Island Lodge staff are beyond THE BEST!

The memories from Steep Island Lodge will last a lifetime, but chances are a return visit will be in any future plans! We can hardly wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms...the views are incredible! There is not a swimming pool, but they do have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan_K0110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

What a spectacular place with a special charm and personality all attributable to Chantal and her staff. Everyone made our guys fishing trip totally comfortable, carefree and casual. The food was outstanding, the guides were terrific and the accommodations perfect. I have and will continue to recommend Steep Island Lodge to anyone looking for the perfect visit to this scenic part of the world for fishing or just sightseeing and relaxation.

Room Tip: Perfect size and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fisherman08142011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Steep island is simply the best. This was my second year fishing there and I don't think I could ever go anyplace else. There is nothing more that I could ask for from a lodge. The staff at Steep Island makes you feel like you are visiting an old friend. They only use the BEST guides in all of Campbell river. The island is quiet and peaceful. Lots of eagles and
deer. Incredible views from the cabins. Landed a 33lb salmon, best fishing trip ever.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

I was for 4 nights and 3 days at Steep Island Lodge . It is a beautiful place , with nice and friendly staff , that are always happy in helping you . The food was good , accomodations were much above the standards of fishing places ( I have been doing the same in Alaska before , and this place is much better ) .
We were in a group of 8 people ( friends ) : 5 brazilians and 4 americans . We had a great time , and besides that , we brought back home 25 kg of Salmon each !
I trully recomend this place .

Room Tip: Clean , new , clear and warm .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcoRodrigues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Great setting, Ten minute boat ride outside Campbell River but the feeling of a remote Island. Rooms, lodge, grounds and meals were over the top! Why would you stay at a hotel? Staff gives great service and meals like your dining in Vancouver or Seattle. Good for business gatherings or family vacation. You've got to try this place and include some guided fishing from Steve at Tall Tale Charters.
Dale

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaleHenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

This is my 3rd trip to Steep Island and I can not say enough about the incredible service that has been griven to us from everyone . It starts with Chantel and her group to the best fishing guides yoou could ask for, If you are looking for a 5 star fishing trip this is a place to go to. Thanks again to all.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RJG56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbell River
135.5 mi away
Westin Bear Mountain Victoria Golf Resort & Spa
6.6 mi away
Tsa-Kwa-Luten Lodge
Tsa-Kwa-Luten Lodge
#1 of 9 in Quadra Island
238 reviews
1.8 mi away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
April Point Resort & Spa
April Point Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Quathiaski Cove
470 reviews
2.4 mi away
Heriot Bay Inn
Heriot Bay Inn
#5 of 9 in Quadra Island
123 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gowlland Harbour Resort
Gowlland Harbour Resort
#4 of 9 in Quadra Island
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steep Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steep Island Lodge

Address: #1 Steep Island | PO Box 699, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 6J3, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Campbell River
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Steep Island Lodge all-inclusive private island lodge, where guests experience the natural beauty, world famous salmon fishing, wildlife and scenery of the west coast. The heart of Discovery Passage, a perfect starting point for a day's sports fishing adventure, fly-fishing the streams on Vancouver Island, eco-touring, golfing, kayaking, and diving. Friendly personable, outstanding accommodations with stunning views. Accommodates 22 guests. Ideal for Family/Corporate Group. Reserve island exclusively with group of 12 or more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Steep Island Lodge Campbell River, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing