We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ORCAS, dolphins, and Sea lions, oh my!”

Discovery Marine Safaris Ltd.
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: YOUR ADVENTURE IS OUR PASSION! Join us on an educational wilderness adventure. View the iconic Killer Whale and the giant Humpback on our Whale Watching Safaris or see come along on an awe-inspiring Grizzly Bear Excursion! Discover in Comfort with Campbell River’s premier tour operator! Our onboard Marine Naturalists deliver an unparalleled experience that showcases our connection to wildlife and the world in which we all depend. WIR SPRECHEN DEUTSCH!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
370 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“ORCAS, dolphins, and Sea lions, oh my!”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We had THE best trip! Our Captain John, and Naturalist, Alison made the trip fun and exciting. We were the last to join the group of 30, and we can't thank them enough for the awesome trip. We saw Orcas within a half an hour of leaving the dock. We encountered 3 transient pods, with babies! The views were stellar! Alison was enthusiastic and shared her knowledge of the Porpoises with us, even helping us to identify the animals to individual from a research catalog showing identifying marks per each individual. We saw Pacific White-sided dolphins, Stellar Sea Lions, Harbor Seals and Bald Eagles, Marbled and Ancient Murrelets and lots of Pacific Loons in breeding plumage. This was a great trip!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sawwhetowls2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    20
    5
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Grizzly Bear Tour”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We have taken three Discovery Marine Safaris and they were all terrific! Today we did the amazing grizzly bear tour! Geoff and his crew did everything possible to make this a memorable experience and it was! We saw humpback whales, stellar sea lions, dolphins, seals, elk and the magnificent grizzly bears! It was an unforgettable experience to see all this wild life in their natural habitats. If you are visiting Campbell River or are a local islander, taking a Discovery Marine Safari is a must! Complimentary lunch and light beverages were served.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

We did the grizzly bear trip and the whale watching trip.

Just the boat trip up to view the bears was spectacluar but to see grizzly bears in their natural habitat was great.

The whales watching trip was great but the 5 orcas we saw were out performed by the pod of 100 dolphins performing all aroung us!!

The guides really know their stuff and the boats are comfortable.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Almost very good”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Compared to the whale watching trip we took the day before out of Tofino, this was much better. The cost was 50% greater but we had 6 hours or so instead of 2.5. Discovery Marine tours employ a captain for the boat and a naturalist for information and commentary. A captain on his own cannot do both. So we were informed about the whales before we saw them. The weather was atrocious but we still had a good time seeing a 18 whale pod of Orcas plus one or two dolphins. They really tried to make our trip memorable and it was. Mark is a great naturalist guide and really knows a fantastic amount about whales. The only negative is that maybe he is too passionate about conservation.It almost became like a sermon against eco vandalism. On the whole this was a really good trip and value for money.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank HunkydoryWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great choice”
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

After a late cancellation with another company we booked with this company last minute, what a fab choice. Excellent guide, Mark, who answered all our questions and went out of his way to ensure we saw as much as possible, boats captain was also very knowledgable and informative. would recommend them to anyone

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank millster3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Discovery Marine Safaris Ltd. also viewed

 
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Discovery Marine Safaris Ltd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing