We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You Will Not Be Disappointed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brown's Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brown's Bay Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Comox, Canada
1 review
“You Will Not Be Disappointed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

What an amazing location. From the moment you open the front door you are in love with the cabin and spectacular view of Discovery Passage. Our family has enjoyed these luxurious cabins on numerous occasions. We have seen orcas, dolphins and seals less than 50 meters away from the deck.
Cruise ships and huge barges pass by frequently on their way to Alaska. (track them www.marinetraffic.com) Everything is supplied just bring food, camera and binoculars.
The most friendly staff you could ask for.
There you go the secret is out.
The Thomson Family

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    5
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
27
34
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We have been enjoying Browns Bay for over 25 years. Residing in Calgary, Alberta, we found this gem in the early 90's and our family has been faithfully returning ever since. We own a place there now however we have used the RV park which is World Class, the cabins, cottages, marina, restaurant, trails and recreational facilities. It is family run by a team of awesome people who go out of their way to make sure you want to return. If you want a unique oceanfront experience, Browns's Bay Resort because you can't get any closer to the Pacific Ocean without getting wet. Dr. Jed Snatic

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsnatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

My husband and I spent three days at the Brown's Bay cottages on our trip back from northern British Columbia. What a fantastic find! The design of the cottages achieves a perfect combination of luxury and function. Every detail of the guests' needs has been anticipated - a well appointed kitchen, very comfortable linens, privacy from other resort guests, and in-cottage washer/dryer. We so enjoyed sitting on our deck overlooking the bay, watching dolphin and a sea lion so close you could almost touch them. The cottages are as comfortable as home.

Everything about Brown's Bay shows that the ownership and staff take pride in their attention to detail. The staff is warm and welcoming. Common areas for social gatherings are throughout the resort. The resort layout allows a guest to comfortably be as social or as private as they desire. With an on-site restaurant and stores, it isn't necessary to leave the property; however, town is only about 20 minutes away for a guest who wants or needs a visit.

This was our first visit, and most definitely will not be our last. Brown's Bay is a new favorite place!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BVI_Vail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent uk
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We were shown around these lovely chalets by the owner and boy they are gorgeous with a gorgeous view as well.
We have family who live at browns Bay so next time we visit this is definitely where we will lay our heads!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank nannyliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

I did not realize that Browns Bay was on trip advisor or I would have put in a review years ago.Read all the positive reviews on this location as I do not want to say what already has been said.I live in B.C and love to travel within B.C .I have visited dozens of Lodges etc on the ocean as I am a fisherwoman.This resort is by far my favourite and our family was hooked on it from our first visit in 2006 .We have returned every year for 9-18 nights a year.The owners Brent and Esther and all the staff are awesome.We as a family look forward to seeing them all every year.The staff has remained constant over the years which tells you they are happy employees and it shows in their personal world class service.They are organized, friendly, efficient and will do anything to help ensure you a wonderful visit.The Chum Derby is so fun,well thought out and contributes to Salmon enhancement.I have been in Derbies that were a gong show of disorganization, not here .They run it like a well oiled machine.Everyone knows exactly what to do and when.We have stayed both in the park and in the cabins ,all facilities are perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank raeann01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richmond
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We just finished a phenomenal stay at this lodge. The "Swede" is a joy with a big soft heart....but don't tell him so !!! The food was excellent, the staff and Kitchen superb and the cabins were cozy and clean and well stocked. I cannot say enough good things about this place. Grizzly watching couldn't have been better especially with their new Grizz viewing platform. Fishing in the river was what dreams are made up. Keep up the great work Swede and staff.....we will be back but this time with 14 other guests !!!!.
George from Vancouver

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgerichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keedysville, MD
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Was able to stay for only 2 nights but would have gladly stayed longer.

We were originally a little apprehensive about booking here, as the entire title of the property is "Brown's Bay Resort, Marina, and Ripple Rock RV Park." We were looking for quiet and solitude, and had concerns that an RV park on the grounds would compromise this. Not to worry--the RV park is visible from the cabins, but sits a bit apart. Even though it accommodated a fair number of vehicles we never heard a peep.

The cabins are just incredible: we stayed in the middle unit of 3. Everything is done in knotty pine: floors, walls, furniture. Woodsy decorating theme (think Cabela's). Full kitchen, large, with plenty of counter space. And get this: the dishes all matched, the glassware all matched--even the cooking utensils matched (Kitchenaid). Other than one small stain on the kitchen table, everything looked new.
Bed incredibly comfy, 2 sinks in the bathroom.
Another thing we noticed that is a definite plus: all the windows and the deck sliding door have screens. We have noted a distinct LACK of these on the island, limiting the ability to leave the windows open if there are any skeeters about.

Crowning touch is the deck: the cabins sit up above the water a bit, allowing for amazing unobstructed views of the small marina to the left and the strait out in front of you. Sat out on the deck in the mornings and evenings and watched the boats and ships go by.

The only negatives for some people would be the fact that the resort is several miles north of Campbell River proper, and then about 2-3 miles down a well-maintained dirt road. No grocery or liquor store at the marina, just snacks and a few basic meal prep items such as hot dogs. However, there IS a restaurant on site (we did not go there so we can't rate it). Also, be aware that there frequently is no one in the office, which can be a little annoying. But there is an intercom right by the door to summon someone if needed.

Overall a wonderful experience--we would come back here in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Choose the left or middle units if you like to sit on the deck in the mornings--the unit on the righ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ak13197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbell River
20.3 mi away
Oyster Bay Resorts
Oyster Bay Resorts
#8 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
12.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet
BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet
#4 of 16 in Campbell River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
10.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#2 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
9.2 mi away
April Point Resort & Spa
April Point Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Quathiaski Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
14.2 mi away
Tsa-Kwa-Luten Lodge
Tsa-Kwa-Luten Lodge
#2 of 9 in Quadra Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown's Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown's Bay Resort

Property: Brown's Bay Resort
Address: 15021 Browns Bay Rd, Campbell River, British Columbia V9H 1N9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Campbell River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Salmon Capital of the world known as Campbell River. Brown’s Bay Resort is just a short 5 km drive off hwy 19, this unspoiled Resort includes Ocean front rental Cabins and RV Park, full service 100 slip Marina with fuel barge, tackle shop, restaurant and launch facilities. From our ideal location, a Tyee salmon is waiting for you only a 5-minute boat ride away!! So come and join us and have an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Brown's Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown's Bay Resort Campbell River, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing