We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real food”
Review of Kawasa Cafe - CLOSED

Kawasa Cafe
Cuisines: Cafe
Restaurant details
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Real food”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Good home cooked food and bakery like mom or gramma makes ,soups , gluten free bread ,salads and more u can tell this is a well know secret for the locals .

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bkhence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    3
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
370 reviews
259 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Great hearty breakfast!”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stopped here just before our Orca adventure tour. Te breakfast sandwiches were great! A soft delicious roll buttered and toasted, with egg and bacon. The place is clean, and bright. The woman who we assumed owned it, was very friendly and pleasant and gave us suggestions for additional art activities for our trip. The coffee was bold and delicious, which was the norm on Vancouver Island. Parking was easy because it was very early in the morning, but I suspect it can be tricky later in the day during and in tourist season.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sawwhetowls2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keedysville, MD
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Slightly hidden gem”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Would be easy to miss this little locally-owned cafe, as it is not on one of the main streets and is small. However, just a block or so away. Wonderful homemade soups and sandwiches at reasonable prices. We had the daily lunch special of toasted grilled chicken sandwiches, which were yummy: interesting sauce and just the right amount of it. The spicy beef soup was awesome--thick, DEFINITELY had a kick to it without being overwhelming. Would absolutely return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ak13197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell River, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Soup Master!”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My experience with the Kawasa Café has always been an amazing one! I have tried almost all of the soups and ALL of them are just Outstanding!! The best one by far I would have to say is the creamy asparagus soup. She is truly the soup and sandwich master! Along with her salads and sweets, it is the perfect home cooked meal!
If your in Campbell River It Is An Absolute Must Try!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CatchUp744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Always good food!!!”
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

Great homemade soup, sandwiches, salads, goodies. Locally owned & operated. Lots of seating inside, & outside.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kawasa Cafe also viewed

Campbell River, Vancouver Island
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
 
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing