We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oasis of calm and fascination”

Quinsam River Hatchery
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
283 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm and fascination”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We were in Camp ell river 3 nights and we visited here twice! There is a free information centre with a display that is informative and sweet and if you walk through, you can visit the river. The salmon started their run early this year- July 2014- and the river was heaving with fish. It was captivating to watch them swarm in the river and the wildlife was equally fascinated which is what prompted our return visit. Bald eagles and heron visited whilst we watched and we were told by one of the workers that the bear would be there in the evening.- possibly wortyh a walk in cos BEWARE! the gates close at 4pm and your car would be trapped there!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank happytravellady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    35
    11
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fascinating at any time of the year”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

A great place to visit. Lots of riverside trails & always lots of wildlife trying to get a piece of all those salmon. The small on site museum is pretty cool too ... & free !

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
“Who knew it was so neat!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Just up the road. Very informative and who knew it was like that. Watch for bears though! They love the fish. Got to see eagles all over the place too.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowichan Station BC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Learn something new about the fish in our area”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Friendly staff and well thought out display of hatchery procedures. Enjoyable to see the fish at the different stages of their lives when visiting at different times of the year.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank tikitorte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell River, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“River runs through it”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Try and get there once a year. When the fish are in the River it's a photographers dream. Eagles maybe a bear or two, makes for such a great experience. The info centre on site is very well done.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Quinsam River Hatchery also viewed

Campbell River, Vancouver Island
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
 
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Quinsam River Hatchery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing