We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So worth the drive!!!”

Spice Hut Indian Cuisine.
Ranked #11 of 143 Restaurants in Campbell River
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$14
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Spice Hut is a authentic Indian Cuisine.
Courtenay, British Columbia, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“So worth the drive!!!”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We sat outside and right from the start I had a great experience,
Our waitress was friendly and super helpful.
We tried the veg pakora's and samosa's there were excellent!!!
Next we mixed things up a bit and ordered
Chicken masala and butter chicken with reg nan and garlic nan also rice.
The heat was what we asked for med/hot and it was just that.
chicken was moist...
Since moving to the island I haven't found a lot of WOW places....
It did not disappoint...I miss the big City and all the great restaurants they have.
This brought a little piece of home back....

portion sizes are not huge but than most places should cut back on their sizes.. If you split up the dishes and mix and match you can try a little of this and that...
Give it a try..
We will go back and drive the 40minutes to get there!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syed A, Manager at Spice Hut Indian Cuisine., responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Hi
Thanks for Coming to Spice Hut and Enjoying our Food. We really Appreciate your Comments. Thanks Again. Syed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    39
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Black Creek, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“It's a good thing the food was good.”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

And it was very tasty, but I have rarely experienced wait staff who were so completely disinterested in providing any service. We were one of 2 tables in the entire restaurant and had to wait, had to hail the waitress to order drinks and yes, I can confirm the previous review - our waitress delivered food to the table talking on the phone that was propped between her shoulder and her ear. Surely if she needed to be on the phone one of her co-workers could have delivered our dinner? We'll be sticking to the downtown location from now on. Too bad - this building has had 3 previous restaurants that have gone under with hardly any competition.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syed A, Manager at Spice Hut Indian Cuisine., responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Hi Gail
Thanks for liking our food and Thanks for Coming to Spice Hut and Thanks for bringing this to our attention after reading your review i called the staff meeting and had all of our servers read this review. Gail We WILL make sure this talking on the phone and delivering phone Does NOT happened again. I personally apologise to you because we take our Customer Service Very Seriously. Again Thanks for Enjoying and liking our Food and Thanks for Coming to Spice Hut.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell River, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great food, terrible service!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Just had dinner with our staff at Spice Hut in Willow Point, their new location!
Service was horrid from the get go, we had to ask for the drink order.
At one point our waitress actually delivered our food while she was on the phone? Really has that ever happened to anyone? Two other waitresses stood by the bar eating a bag of Doritos. Such a shame because the food was so great. Customer service always I think!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank SandiHengel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syed A, Manager at Spice Hut Indian Cuisine., responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Hi Sandi
Thanks for Coming To Spice Hut and Enjoying our Food and Thanks for bringing this to our Attention i personally Apologise to you for Server Being on the Phone Since this review we have Separate Server just answering the phone and Doing Take out Again i really apologise it was our mistake. We will Make Sure this does not happened again. Thanks again for Coming to Spice Hut. Syed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley City, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Over spiced and over priced!”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

I ordered medium spicy, but it was blazing hot!! The dishes are just okay. The entrees are over priced, especially when you have to order rice or bread to accompany your meal. You have to wrap up your own leftovers. The service was comical, from the beginning to the end when my husband was in the washroom, he had left his Visa card, the waitress inserted it into the portable debit machine and asked me to input his PIN number.

Helpful?
Thank Makingmemories1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syed A, Manager at Spice Hut Indian Cuisine., responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Hi
Thanks for Coming to Spice Hut i apologise if your food was Spicy Our Spice Levels are High and Servers are advise to let the Customers Know when they are ordering Medium Hot that its Higher Spice Level then Westren Medium Hot and We offer Raita (yougurt) to cool it down and if you still cant eat it we Cook another Dish in Milder Spice Level. I Can offer you full Refund for your Dish please Come to Spice Hut and ask for Syed. Thanks Again for Coming to Spice Hut and trying our Food. Thanks Syed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell River, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“sad but true”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Just dined this evening at the Willow Point restaurant at Campbell River, food was good, but when asked server to pack the left overs to take home she brought us a Styrofoam container and tin foil and told us to pack it ourselves, her name is Ann? This store with bad décor and service like that will only fail. It will not get good reviews tonight on the web.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Derek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syed A, Manager at Spice Hut Indian Cuisine., responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Hi Derek
Thanks for Coming to Spice Hut and Enjoying our Food. You had sent an email to Spice Hut Email address and i replied to it and apologised for what had happened and i told you that i have spoken with Ann regarding this matter. Again I Apologise to you. Thanks again for Coming to Spice Hut and Enjoying our Food. We take Customer Service very Seriously and i will make sure this does not happened again. Thanks Syed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spice Hut Indian Cuisine. also viewed

Campbell River, Vancouver Island
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
 
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Spice Hut Indian Cuisine.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing