We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Heron's Landing Hotel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver Island, Canada
1 review
“Great stop”
Reviewed 8 January 2012

My family stayed in the two bedroom suite with kitchen. This was a very clean room and the beds were comfortable. There was plenty of room for our family of five to feel very at ease. The breakfast was simple. The decor is straightforward. The service from Janet and Melissa were great. With three t.v.s there was no arguing over channels!

Room Tip: Pick one of the bedroom suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    78
    36
    7
    5
See reviews for
54
95
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

As many others do, we stayed at the Heron's Landing Hotel for one night prior to going to Knight Inlet.
I wasn't expecting much but am pleased to report we were pleasantly surprised. We were given a room at the front of the hotel and had a beautiful view.
The room itself was spacious, clean and comfortable. The kitchen was well appointed and there was undercover parking.
Breakfast was nice and the computer with free internet was great for catching up with e-mails.
Our hostess was very friendly and knew the drill backwards for the Knight Inlet guests.

Room Tip: Stay at the front for a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickoMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Washington
Level Contributor
186 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We stayed two nights in this small hotel/motel and couldn't have been more pleased. True, our stay was during mid-week in the "off" season so it wasn't crowded so we pretty much had it to ourselves. We had a second floor, front corner suite. It had a full size refrigerator/freezer,
kitchen (even dishwasher), sitting room with TV, separate bedroom and full bath. We enjoyed our smoked salmon, wine and cheese on the deck overlooking the inside passage as the sun set. Sunrise was spectacular the next morning. We had been looking for accommodations in Campbell River on our drive on the east side of Vancouver Island and finding decent lodging with our small dog, even on the mid-week-off-season was proving frustrating until we found this one. We were so pleased with our stay and friendliness of the staff that we returned after our day trip to Port Hardy the next night. Breakfast downstairs is mostly continental in the morning but plenty of it. Thank-you to the staff for making our Campbell River stop memorable and enjoyable.

Room Tip: Select a suite overlooking the inside passage and watch the water traffic in and out of the port of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

I'm not entirely sure why this place is referred to as 'boutique'. I don't think there is anything unique about it. It is like a generic motel.

The bed was quite uncomfortable and I ended up with a bad back. Breakfast was fine but there is not enough seating so we were encouraged to either come in shifts or take a plate back to our room.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KandJtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herons1, Manager at Heron's Landing Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Thank you for your review. Your comments are important to us. We always strive to create a positive guest experience.

You mentioned you were not quite sure why we call Heron's Landing a boutique hotel. The usual definition for a boutique hotel is that it is unique in it's decor. Usually a smaller size hotel with a higher level of personal service.
Each of the rooms and suites have different antiques which were brought from Germany as well as some of the furniture pieces, making each room different from the next.

You also mentioned how uncomfortable the bed was. I felt very bad upon reading this. This summer was the first time we had a comment about the comfort of the beds, so we are replacing all the mattresses immediately.

You also commented on the seating in the breakfast room. Unfortunately there is a limited amount of seats in the breakfast room. The suites are outfitted with full kitchens, including toaster, dishes, untensils etc. We provide trays in the breakfast room that allow a guest to pick out what they like from the buffet and take it back to their suite.

I'm glad you found the staff to be friendly and helpful. We try to make every guest feel welcome, and well taken care of.

Sincerely,

Janet Johnson
General Manager
Heron's Landing Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We stayed for one night prior to travelling to Kinght Inlet. This hotel was excellent in our opinion and we thoroughly enjoyed the stay. Our bedroom was large, very comfortable bed and had an adjoining sitting room and kitchen. All very clean and spacious. Receptionist extremely helpful and allowed us to use the telephone to book a return ferry to Horseshoe Bay following our time on Knight Inlet. A fair walk into Campbell River but well worth it. Visit Dick's floating Fish and Chip bar - fantastic!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dorsetgra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
91 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We stayed at Heron's Landing for one night as part of a package before flying to Knight Inlet the following day. The Hotel is situated approximately 30 minutes walk from the centre of Campbell River, but only a short distance by car. Situated across a road from the river. We were pleased with the room we were allocated, not only was there a bedroom, bathroom, but also a comfortable lounge with kitchenette, and a balcony overlooking a neighbouring property but also with quite a good view of the river. The room was very clean. The Hotel provide a washing machine and tumble drier, costs 1 dollar to use each, useful for washing clothes during the holiday. Our bed was comfortable. We walked in to Campbell River and had fish and chips at Dick's fish and chips on the river front, very good. However there is also a pub which serves food near the hotel, and other guests commented the food there was good. There was a continental breakfast available the following morning, fruit juice, rolls, cheese etc..
Staff pleasant and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelcaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We stayed prior to a trip to Knight Inlet, and I guess that it is part of the arrangement. The hotel overlooks Campbell River itself and the passageway through which the Alaska cruises pass, what a sight that is. The town itself whilst quite a walk away is pleasant and worth a stroll around. Watch out for the heritage boards all around, very interesting. The old pier was worth a stroll as well, as we saw seals. The evening meal is recommended at a neighbouring pub, but be warned - the portions are huge, and I mean huge. Great value and good food but too much of it. Back to the hotel. The suite was large, clean and very pleasant. However, it has to be said that t was the worst nights sleep that I had in Canada due to the awful bed. It was very noisy and had a serious dip in the middle. The breakfast was disappointing and there was not much left by the time I got there. It could be so much better.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simply9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herons1, General Manager at Heron's Landing Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2011
Thank you for your comments and feedback on Heron's Landing Hotel.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed visiting the Campbell River area on your way to Knight Inlet Lodge and that you enjoyed your suite and found it clean and pleasant as this is what we strive for.

Since your stay we have replaced many of the mattresses in our rooms, had we known that your bed was uncomfortable in any way we would have gladly moved you to another suite. Once again, we appreciate your comments and it is the feedback like yours that helps us better our guests stay. In regards to our breakfast, I would like to inform you that as the general manager I have taken the neccessary steps to make sure that breakfast stays replenished and has everything to offer all guests at all times. We hope you stay with us in the future, as you would get to enjoy one of our new heavely beds.

Sincerely,
Janet Johnson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Campbell River hotels
2.0 mi away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
319 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Austrian Chalet
Best Western Austrian Chalet
#4 of 16 in Campbell River
505 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Anchor Inn & Suites
Anchor Inn & Suites
#11 of 16 in Campbell River
187 reviews
7.4 mi away
Oyster Bay Resorts
Oyster Bay Resorts
#8 of 16 in Campbell River
49 reviews
4.2 mi away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#2 of 16 in Campbell River
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heron's Landing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heron's Landing Hotel

Property: Heron's Landing Hotel
Address: 492 Island Hwy S, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 1A5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Heron's Landing Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully renovated Campbell River Hotel with a mix of new amenities and antique European decor. Heron's Landing offers King and Twin rooms as well as spacious 1 and 2 Bedroom Kitchen Suites. Relax and enjoy spectacular sunrises and sunsets from your private balcony overlooking Discovery Passage, as well as the majestic cruise ships passing by on their way to and from Alaska. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Heron's Landing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heron's Landing Hotel Campbell River, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing