We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“That was funny”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Heron's Landing Hotel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Certificate of Excellence
Campbell River, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“That was funny”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

Hello. That today was so cute when i was sitting there and to see how all you were having fun.
I Brenda Brandon came in just to ask if there was anything in housekeeping and just to have a chat love it there already hook me up for a job.You guy"s are so cute and the dog too.
Thank you for your time today it was a blast hope to hear rom you soon.
Brenda Brandon.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrendaBrandon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    78
    36
    7
    5
See reviews for
54
95
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

We stayed here en route to The Knight Inlet Lodge...much to my disappointment. Our room was stuffy, I slept on a pull-out bed from a wardrobe which was covered in dust in extreme heat, with the only thing cooling down the room being a tiny fan. Breakfast was poor, I had a cold waffle, and when I left the hotel, I felt like I had just left a youth hostel. Terrible experience.

Room Tip: Try to ask for more fans in your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herons1, General Manager at Heron's Landing Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor.
The feedback we get from guest's is important to us. It helps us to improve anyway we can.
I'm sorry your guest experience while here was not satisfactory.
You mentioned the fan was small, yet all the fans in the 1 Bedroom suites are stand up, full size fans.
You also mentioned for breakfast you had a cold waffle. They are meant to be toasted in the toaster, which is why they are situated in front of the toaster. We offer a wide variety of choices at breakfast, so I wondered why you didn't try some of the other things available.
We have yogart, bagels, english muffins, bread, 3 different types of cereal, a meat and cheese platter, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit, fruit juices, etc.
The Murphy bed which you slept in is quite comfortable. It is a full size bed. I am sorry if you found dust anywhere. Our cleaning standards are very high.

Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,
Janet Johnson

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Qld, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

My husband and I stayed at Heron's Landing for five nights (11-16 August 2012) and thoroughly enjoyed our home away from home. We had a one bedroom suite and it was very spacious and we were lucky enough to have a room facing the ocean - spectacular views from our room and balcony. The kitchen is fully equipped: large fridge, oven, microwave, cutlery etc and even a dishwasher! The news beds are super comfortable.

The hotel has free wi-fi, free underground secure car parking and a coin operated laundry. The continental breakfast provides a variety choices. The hotel is not air-conditioned however due to the sea breeze and the fans provided this was not a problem.

The staff are extremely friendly, informative and eager to help with any request. We would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Thank you to all of the staff at Heron's Landing you made us feel right at home :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herons1, General Manager at Heron's Landing Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review.
I am thrilled that you were happy with your stay with us.
I hope you will come back again some day.
We strive to create a homey, comfortable, clean place for our guest's to stay.

Sincerely,

Janet Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

I am in Campbell River often on a company business and stay in Heron's Landing practically every time. There are probably better hotels somewhere, but not in Campbell River, I tried them all. I always chose room with kitchenette, those are big, almost appartment-size rooms. From bottom to top: secure underground parking, luggage carts, elevator, nice clean rooms, TV and fast internet, kitchen is basic but good enough for my needs. Balconies are particularly cozy and add charm to the place. There is no A/C, but when I stayed there this summer I had fan going, and for "hot BC" summer it was adequate. Staff is corteous and friendly. Location is somewhat noisy, but rooms at the back aren't too bad at all. There is a nice seawalk across the street, great for rollerbades or bike ride.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed here with our two teenagers en route to and from Knight Inlet Lodge - and the first night was included in our package. This is a convenient hotel, and very comfortable although there is no air conditioning and no screens on the windows to enable you to open them, so it was a bit hot and stuffy. There is no restaurant in the hotel and the only place to eat within walking distance is a pub which doesn't allow under 18s which was annoying, so you have to drive into the downtown area to eat.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackfords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
208 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012 via mobile

The hotel was very clean & well maintained. We were in room #211 & there was a lot of noise in the evening with people walking around on the floor above us. As well, while the beach location is pretty, as it is located on a busy road, there always seemed to be traffic noise. So we had to sleep with the window shut. The compliamentary breakfast was lovely: hard boiled eggs, cheeses, salami, fresh fruit, cereals, yogurt, breads, etc Good value.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank htravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

Staff was friendly and helpful.
Rooms were very clean and very big and very impressive.
Balconies were very good.
Ventilation was very good.
Service was very good.
Very comfortable.
Very Good Breakfast!
Very good Wifi!
Very Charming place!!

Very impressed!

We stayed three nights and couldn't speak highly enough about this place!
It really brightened up our stay!

Thank you so much!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThatCanadianGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Campbell River hotels
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet
BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet
#4 of 16 in Campbell River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
2.0 mi away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Anchor Inn & Suites
Anchor Inn & Suites
#12 of 16 in Campbell River
3.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
7.4 mi away
Oyster Bay Resorts
Oyster Bay Resorts
#8 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
4.2 mi away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#2 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heron's Landing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heron's Landing Hotel

Property: Heron's Landing Hotel
Address: 492 Island Hwy S, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 1A5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Heron's Landing Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully renovated Campbell River Hotel with a mix of new amenities and antique European decor. Heron's Landing offers King and Twin rooms as well as spacious 1 and 2 Bedroom Kitchen Suites. Relax and enjoy spectacular sunrises and sunsets from your private balcony overlooking Discovery Passage, as well as the majestic cruise ships passing by on their way to and from Alaska. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heron's Landing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heron's Landing Hotel Campbell River, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing