We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night became two! Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Heron's Landing Hotel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Australia
Level Contributor
202 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“One night became two! Great place”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Walked in off the street late in the day, a wonderful warm welcome. No problem showing us a room with King Bed on First floor. The place was spotless top to bottom with great views from the stairwell. Super comfy bed with duvet, good coffee and tea in the room, fridge, micro, balcony and the breakfast was fantastic especially given the omelette station. So good to be able to cook your own for brekkie under the title of continential breakfast. We then stayed an extra night, which again was great.
If there is one downside it would be the sound between the rooms.
Every member of staff we came across was so friendly and helpful, would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher level floor and if possible no neighbours, this would only be to avoid as much nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herons1, General Manager at Heron's Landing Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review!
We are so happy you decided to stay with us for an extra night.
It is so nice to receive such positive feedback.

Kindest regards,
Janet Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    78
    36
    7
    5
See reviews for
54
95
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

Staff were warm and friendly from the moment we arrived until we left three days later. Location is fabulous for walking or running and the rooms are very clean. Be warned however that there is very little soundproofing between rooms and floors at least in the older part of the hotel (our neighbours were only normally noisy and we could tell what channel they were watching on the tv!) other than that it was great and Tajia, Janet, Ann and the housekeeping staff should take a big bow for their hospitality!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herons1, General Manager at Heron's Landing Hotel, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review!
It was a pleasure having you stay with us.
I hope you can come back and visit again!

Kindest regards,

Janet Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed here for one night as part of our Knight Inlet trip. The staff were helpful giving us directions to seaplane harbour. They were very efficient at breakfast as most people had early start to the plane.No air conditioning in the room so had to use fan but room still stuffy. There was a strange smell in the room which we did comment about on our feedback sheet. No restaurants nearby so had to drive into town but not much choice of places to eat.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GJP542013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herons1, General Manager at Heron's Landing Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for your review.
We appreciate our guest's comments.
There is Freddie's Pub 2 doors down from us.
That is the closest place to eat.
Luckily it is only 3 km. to town to eat at any of the many restaurants Campbell River has to offer.

Kindest regards,
Janet Johnson

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma County
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Although the structure is old, the rooms and breakfast area were spotless. The rooms were small apts., fully stocked...China dishes, nice flatware, etc. Amazing! So nice to have a cup of tea in a nice cup and saucer! The staff was so friendly and helpful. Janet gave us a recommendation for a dinner spot (Quay West, I believe) where we had the best "house chowder" we've ever tasted. We would stay at Heron's Landing again, no question.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herons1, General Manager at Heron's Landing Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you for your lovely review.
It was a pleasure having you stay with us.
I hope to see you again!

Kindest regards,
Janet Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent uk
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

There were 4 of us staying in a one bedroom apartment. It was clean and well equipped and the bed in the lounge was very comfy. The balcony overlooked Campbell River and it was a delight to sit there on our return at night and have a drink relax and enjoy the view. Breakfast was plentiful and topped up constantly. We had 3 really great nights stay here.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nannyliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herons1, General Manager at Heron's Landing Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review!
I am so happy your time at Heron's was delightful.
I hope you will be able to come back and see us again.

Kindest regards,
Janet Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This is a lovely hotel.Our room overlooked the river which was a bonus but you can hear the traffic.[ keep window closed ] The room was clean and the bed comfy, shower good. Has a lift [which is always a bonus], helpful staff and continental breakfast. Wi-fi hit and miss. All in all liked it so much stayed another night.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank decaugnanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herons1, General Manager at Heron's Landing Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review.
I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and decided to stay another night.
We take great pride in providing a clean, comfortable, friendly hotel.

Kindest regards,
Janet Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights during a recent Grizzly bear tour.
First impressions were that the hotel seems a little dated. After reading reviews for other hotels in Campbell River, this seems to be a running theme!
The room we stayed in was spacious. There were adequate amenities (microwave, coffee maker, fridge - although no iPod docking station). Our room did have a musty smell when you first walked in through the door. The decor was a little dated, and although the hotel is described as homely, it is more like staying at your gran's home.. The bathroom had a great over the tub shower, but in general the bathroom needed updating (the sink was stained and looked like it had seen better days). Our view left a lot to be desired. From the balcony, you could see the ocean (if you looked to the left), but the main view was of the run down next door neighbours house which appeared to have a grow op going on (taped up window with a UV light on 24/7??). I have to say that the bed was very comfortable, however I found the pillows to be hard and lumpy for my liking (but I do often have trouble finding a comfy pillow). The walls seem very thin, and you can hear everything (and I mean everything!) going on in the adjoining room. There was a (locked) connecting door between the room we stayed in and the room next door, so this probably didn't help. I went to sleep listening to the couple in the next room complaining about how much money they spent in Tofino, heard her husband snore most of the night, and the woman telling her husband to hurry up in the bathroom in the morning because she needed to pee. Seriously!
Breakfast is a basic continental breakfast. There was gluten free bread available, however, it was in the same basket as regular bread. This is fine if like me, you are just sensitive to gluten, but not so good if you have a gluten allergy. I didn't see any milk alternatives available (I am lactose intolerant), but to be fair, I didn't ask either, so don't know if the hotel had these things available or not.
Secure underground parking was a bonus. The hotel is about a 5 min drive from downtown, maybe about a 30 min walk.

Pro's:
Spacious room
Powerful shower
Comfy bed
Secure underground parking

Con's:
Musty smell
Dated
Possible grow op next door
Thin walls

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank northernstar30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herons1, General Manager at Heron's Landing Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you for you review.
We appreciate feedback from our guest's.
The house next door is not a grow-op. The house is very old, and the fellow who rents it is a landscaper. The plastic on the windows helps keep heat in, as old houses tend to be drafty.
You mentioned the décor is dated. A lot of the furniture was brought over from Germany when the hotel was first built, which was 35 years ago.
You also mentioned the walls being thin. Unfortunately that is true. We have tried to soundproof the walls between rooms, but most have an adjoining door attached. We are trying to figure out a solution for this.
You also mentioned the continental breakfast was basic. We provide a lot of different choices for people. The meat and cheese platter, hard boiled eggs, yogart, fresh fruit, breads, English muffins, and bagels. 3 different types of cereal, fruit juice, toaster waffles, and coffee and numerous different tea choices.

Kindest regards,
Janet Johnson

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Campbell River hotels
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Austrian Chalet
Best Western Austrian Chalet
#4 of 16 in Campbell River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
2.0 mi away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Anchor Inn & Suites
Anchor Inn & Suites
#12 of 16 in Campbell River
3.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
7.4 mi away
Oyster Bay Resorts
Oyster Bay Resorts
#8 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
4.2 mi away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#2 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heron's Landing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heron's Landing Hotel

Property: Heron's Landing Hotel
Address: 492 Island Hwy S, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 1A5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Campbell River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Heron's Landing Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully renovated Campbell River Hotel with a mix of new amenities and antique European decor. Heron's Landing offers King and Twin rooms as well as spacious 1 and 2 Bedroom Kitchen Suites. Relax and enjoy spectacular sunrises and sunsets from your private balcony overlooking Discovery Passage, as well as the majestic cruise ships passing by on their way to and from Alaska. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heron's Landing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heron's Landing Hotel Campbell River, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing