We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, stiff prices, unimpressive food”

Legends Dining Room
Reserve with OpenTable
Legends Dining Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #62 of 143 Restaurants in Campbell River
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great view, stiff prices, unimpressive food”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We stayed at Painter's Lodge while vacationing on the island and came here for the Sunday brunch ($27). Service was a bit irritating - we felt like they were trying to rush us out. What's the point of having brunch on a resort patio if you aren't going to hang around for an hour grazing and enjoying the view? Anyway, the food was not special. Bennies were dry, the cheese selection was uninteresting, the fruit was a bit old... we'd expect this level of cuisine from a $14 buffet at Bonanza, not an expensive brunch at an expensive resort. And the coffee... the coffee was atrocious.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    16
    15
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“don't miss the brunch or the view”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

The brunch was one of the best we have enjoyed in several years. Incredible assortment of seafood, roast beef, vegetarian dishes, cheeses and WOW desserts.
The view from the deck or the dining room is right close and above the strait between Campbell River and Quadra Island with the Coast Range in the background.
well worth going to.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sandy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic location but very disappointing main course”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I was a bit wary of this restaurant because of previous reviews I had read, we decided to eat here rather than over at April Point (where in the past we've had fantastic meals) because we were staying in the Lodge. The location is brilliant and we were seated where we had a great view. Don't remember our starters (not sure if that is good or bad) but the main course which we had both chosen "halibut with risotto" was extremely disappointing. The halibut was over cooked and the risotto stodgy! We were asked whether we were enjoying our meal and told the waiter no and why. The waiter seem unable to know what to do......

When we checked out of Painters Lodge the next day the receptionist asked if we had enjoyed our stay and I told him of the disappointment we both had with the main course. To be fair he did give us a refund on one of the main courses but not on both - which was a pity.

We would not eat here again if we happened to stay at Painters Lodge again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jillybeans88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Always Enjoyable”
Reviewed 2 September 2012

The Legends with its elegant wall of windows and comfortable outdoor patio is our favorite dining venue in Campbell River, not least because they do an excellent job of preparing our salmon in their "cook your own catch" menu. There are three choices of cooking methods and sauces-- their "whiskey salmon" is quite tasty. Other entrees, such as steak, are also nicely prepared. Service is fantastic, thanks to attentive servers who move at lightning speed to take care of both the restaurant and outdoor deck. On request, the staff cooked up our leftover salmon and prepared take-out salmon sandwiches. Delicious!
HANDICAP / ELDERS TIP: The upper level of this restaurant can be accessed without using stairs, but multiple stairs lead to the deck which is on a lower level.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seasonedtraveler067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
842 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 735 helpful votes
“Superb dinner in Campbell River”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Located in Painter's Lodge, a fishing resort, right on the waterfront in Campbell River, Legends restaurant offers both indoor and patio dining to resort guests and other visitors. On this warm summer evening, we chose patio dining with its wonderful view across the water over to Quadra Island and nearby dock activity. We were promptly seated at a white clothed table at 6pm on a midweek evening without reservations. To get us started, the server brought out small chunks of focaccia bread with a saucer of oil and balsamic vinegar. We opted just for main course dining. Both of us enjoyed a generous serving size of thick halibut fillet prepared differently. Mine (at $29) had a delicious blackberry sauce while my husband's was the special of the day encrusted with panko crumbs, coconut and a raspberry sauce ($31). The meals were simply delicious (yes, i put my fork into my husband's meal for a taste) and filling! I preferred my dish as I found the coconut overwhelmed the halibut taste. The raspberry sauce was a good cook's choice though. No dessert needed. Prices for main choices are what one would expect in other fine dining BC restaurants. Salmon, for example, was $24 while desserts, around $9 (Chocolate strudel), were pricier, IMP. Good selection of wines, with a glass at $7. Although the dining room and the menu suggests fine dining, most patrons were very casually dressed this evening. After dinner we took advantage of the free shuttle over to April Lodge on Quadra Island, about 7 minutes away, walked around this resort and caught the next shuttle back to Painter's Lodge. It was just a wonderful way to end the day. I would definitely return to eat at Legends again when in Campbell River. Look at their website, as we did, to read the menu in order to make your dining decision. A local resident, during a casual encounter on the town's seawalk, directed us to this restaurant and made us aware of the free passenger shuttle ride over to Quadra Island as well. Without this recommendation, we would not have been aware of this great place to eat in Campbell River.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank retireeVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Legends Dining Room also viewed

Campbell River, Vancouver Island
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
 
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
Quathiaski Cove, Quadra Island
 

Been to Legends Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing