We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great afternoon lunch experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salmon Point Restaurant

Salmon Point Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 139 Restaurants in Campbell River
Price range: US$10 - US$19
Cuisines: Bar, Canadian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, View, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great afternoon lunch experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

I enjoyed one of the lunch specials, quesadilla with a pesto sauce, great combination of goodies inside. The ambience is fantastic with a lot of local wood in the structure, a fire place and a huge deck for outdoor seating right along the ocean. Lots of activity on the water with tugs and barges, boats of all kind.

Washrooms were clean and there is a ramp to get into the building but there are stairs separating the different corners of the restaurant. The staff were very friendly and I saw the chef talking with one of the guests about a sauce (that was all I could eaves drop on). I was surprised to see how full the restaurant got in the 1 1/2 hours that I was there with friends. A large group of about 20 were in one section of the restaurant, so if you have a large group I am sure with advanced notice they could accommodate.

Lots of variety on the menu to please a group or children.

Location location location.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bunchkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    82
    35
    22
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
235 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Awaking to my Sense of Taste”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Thank you to Chef Dave Millar for his selection of dishes to satisfy every palate from taste, appetite, stomach and some say the heart.
I had the privilege to enjoy a seafood chowder like non other with large pieces of salmon, shrimp and clams in a delicious creamy broth. Fabulous. I also had the Carmel Soy and Whiskey Crusted Salmon Salad . The Carmel crust was made using brown sugar in the marinade, accompanied with Asian noodles, fresh greens, cucumber, tomatoes almonds with an absolutely flavourful ginger vinaigrette . Wow ! Hard to believe food could be so pleasing to the taste.
Outside seating, large windows viewing the ocean.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IslandPrairieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell River, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to celebrate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

We had our wedding reception here last October. They were very good to us and I would highly recommend this place for an event! Our reception was small, less than 40 guests, and everyone REALLY enjoyed the food (buffet style). Because of years of not so great food here, I was hesitant to have our reception here. But lucky for us they had a new chef and he did an outstanding job! We have since been back for my husbands birthday, our group tried the seafood crepes, the half chicken, and the pulled pork - all with great reviews. We will certainly keep coming back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Schrodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island BC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great view and nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Nice Oceanside restaurant with pub seating as well as outdoor in the summer months. Usually has a good selection on the menu and pretty good service. Close to my home so eat here often.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nobarcelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“5 times.....all terrible”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

My husband loves the view, I enjoy walking the trail prior to dining, so we thought we would reluctantly give it one more shot.

Our meals in the past have been barely OK. Heard there was a new chef and thought it may have improved.

We are Schnitzel fans and had heard the advertisements, so that is what we ordered.
News flash......the schnitzel was very poor quality, dry and flavorless.

Too bad, no more coming back here when there are plenty of other good restaurants to choose from.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank committedfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salmon Point Restaurant also viewed

Campbell River, Vancouver Island
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
 
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
 
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Salmon Point Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing