We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No foood or bar service”

D.I. Restaurant & Lounge
Ranked #69 of 143 Restaurants in Campbell River
Price range: US$8 - US$24
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Buffet, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Buffet, Reservations
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“No foood or bar service”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

no food or bar service what so ever other than the free breakfast that was served for about 3 hours in the morning

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gunner116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    13
    9
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parksville, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Adequate, but not a "wow" experience....”
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We spent the day and evening in Campbell River and wanted a nice place to eat dinner. Since we had been to the Coast Discovery restaurant several years ago, we thought it fit the bill.

Our server brought two of us the gluten-free menu, which had three items on it. Our orders included gf pasta with a cream-based sauce and prawns, and two spinach blueberry/orange salads with seafood.

The salads were basic (spinach and fruit), so the addition of smoked salmon on one and a skewer of scallops on the other made for a flavourful combination.

There was a great deal of sauce on the pasta, which was just ladled into the bowl. Although I'm not a chef, the thought was that it could have been garnished with a sprig of parsley or a sprinkling of herbs around the rim of the bowl.

Overall, we felt the experience was adequate, but lacked the ambiance of fine dining that the Coast Discovery Inn may hope to convey. Something needs to be improved....the decor? The presentation of the meals? Not sure.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Islander280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Mediocre in all ways”
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Campbell River has incredible restaurants. It's a wast of your time to eat here.

We had fish and chips. They grossly overcooked the halibut and the chips were nothing to boast about. We also had the Caesar salad which was limp due to all the dressing.

Helpful?
Thank Terry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potters Bar
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good hotel with a view”
Reviewed 21 October 2012

This hotel has a great view of the inlet, and we saw Dolphins swiiming from the window! The restaurant served good breakfast and dinner, rooms very clean and comfortable at a good rate too.
Very helpful staff!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank JunePottersBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Coast Discovery Inn”
Reviewed 5 October 2012

What luck. Our first stay in any hotel of this group. A lovely welcome from reception, an excellent spacious room with all amenities and a cracking view of Quadra Island. from the 4th floor. Supper menu and service are good, as is the wine list. Breakfast buffet was ordinary but adequate. Very adjacent to the ferry....and parking right next to the hotel. Lovely happy atmosphere...we stayed 3 nights.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank NBG0301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed D.I. Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

Campbell River, Vancouver Island
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
 
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
 
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
 

Been to D.I. Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing