We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family diner”
Review of Ideal Cafe

Ideal Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Nanaimo
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great family diner”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Great atmosphere. Food excellent. We were served by the daughter of the owner. She was attentive, informative & really enjoyable to have looking after us. We had the monte cristo & fries. And a cheeseburger & fries. They were awesome, but way too much food for us to finish. Gotta eat there

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Blintzbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    36
    4
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Courtenay, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“old style settings”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Have been here many times for lunches the staff is very friendly and fast too the specials are at reasonable price too. The only bad meal that my wife and I have had there was the Ideal breakfast boat it was greasy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank retepremhel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell River, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Truck Stop at its Best”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I love the Ideal Cafe. Friendly service, comfortable surroundings, plenty of good home style food at reasonable prices. We have had many an enjoyable breakfast at the Ideal. It's not much to look at from the outside, but don't be put off. It's a good restaurant.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ReneeMarieJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell River, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not so Ideal!”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The service was good but I ordered the 2 egg breakfast with sausages (an extra charge of over $2 for 3 sausages!) eggs over-easy & got eggs over HARD & not very warm. The shredded hash browns were mushy & also not overly warm. The place also looked like a dump. My husband's club sandwich was alright but that, plus a plain breakfast cost $21.21 not including the tip!! Will not be going back for that kind of food for that price!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell River, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Bonnie K and Kristy 34 you both stole the words from my mouth, great job ideal cafe this really is an idea to go and eat

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tye C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ideal Cafe also viewed

Campbell River, Vancouver Island
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
 
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
Campbell River, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Ideal Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing