We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn MetroTown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Burnaby
SF BAY AREA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Holiday Inn MetroTown”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We like the Holiday Inn Hotel Chain and stay there in almost every City we travel in. This was a good location away from the expensive Downtown Vancouver, but a quick train ride to most places. It is also next to the Metrotown shopping plaza. We enjoyed this location, but trying to get to Vancouver by car from here was a bit tedious because of traffic. Easier on the train if you can walk everywhere from your destination or take a cab.

Also, this place has a lot of construction going on in and around it, so the noise at 8:15am (jackhammer) is very annoying and well, crappy. I would not stay here again as long as they are under construction. Not the hotel's fault, but my recommendation is perhaps they can tell construction crews to start their JACK HAMMERING at 9am when we are getting up anyway. Also on our floor (3rd) it was very noisy as it seemed that crews were using this floor to access their work areas. But I liked this floor because it has the pool and laundry room and one floor above the free Breakfast room.

The Hotel did accommodate us with valet parking our rental car when the garage was closed down for work. The valet was fast and very courteous. I am glad that the hotel at least did this to help their guests who had cars.

But overall, it is a decent hotel. The staff was good and the property inside was good. I would NOT stay here again during the construction..it was just too stressful and that is why I gave this property 3 stars because I think a bit more could be done to make sure the guests are more comfortable at night and in the morning. Just *average*.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank COPWITHKIDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelgalvancouver, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for posting your review. It is true that there is a lot of building going on in our area. The mall directly around us is renovating, and while most of the demolition work is complete, there are some days when there is some noise. It is not consistent or constant, and it is restricted to between 8 am and 5 pm Monday to Friday. This portion of the construction should be complete very soon, and I am sorry that it affected your stay. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and our guest service. That is what we strive for, and we all do really care about making your stay comfortable. We hope to see you again when you next travel to our area. Linda Griffths - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    118
    56
    12
    14
See reviews for
82
63
29
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

I'll start with the bad first: the hotel is going through some major renovations and there is construction all over. It had them down to one elevator, so sometimes you'd wait an eternity to get to your room.
Everything else was great. Karina and Myra were the two desk staff that I saw most often due to my work schedule, and both were extremely friendly and helpful. The kind of friendly you should experience in a hotel. Personable and talkative, but very professional at all times. They were always eager to help or give recommendations for food in the area.
The mall is right next door and soo is the bus depot and skytrain station. I had a car, but if you didnt you could get anywhere in BC from4om this place. Also tons of great food options all walkable from the hotel.
Id recommend this hotelcto anyone going to the Burnaby area.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ma0Pa0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelgalvancouver, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you so much for posting a review of your recent stay. We really appreciate when guests who have had a great stay let others know about their experience. We are currently rebuilding one of our elevators, but it will be back in service within the next week, so that will help with the elevator wait times. The Metrotown area of Burnaby is certainly a busy place for building right now, and the mall adjacent to us is in the final stages of their major renovation. We hope to see everything back to normal within a few months. We are still one of the best locations in the Vancouver area, with great transportation and BC's largest shopping and entertainment complex right beside us. We hope to see you again when you are next in our area. Best Regards, Linda Griffiths - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitchurch-Stouffville, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The price point is right for an older hotel with a major construction development going on next door.
If you don't plan on sleeping in or choose a high floor you will be just fine. Free breakfast and free wifi always a plus.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the opposite side from the construction project.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mdlphins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelgalvancouver, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. While our hotel has been in the Metrotown area for over 20 years, it was completely renovated during 2006/2007, and we are embarking on another renovation beginning in just a few weeks. We will be completely renovating all of our guestrooms, including new furniture, draperies, seating, wallcoverings, and carpeting. We have already completed renovations to our meeting rooms, fitness centre, and breakfast room. We are located directly beside Metropolis at Metrotown and right across from the Metrotown Skytain station, making downtown Vancouver just a 15 minute ride away. Combine our great location with free breakfast, free wireless internet, and free parking and we think we have the right combination to give the best accommodation value. There are some construction projects ongoing around us, however, any noise from those projects is intermittent, and limited to between 8 am and 5 pm.

We hope to see you again when you next stay in our area.

Best Regards, Linda Griffiths - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Think twice before you book this hotel. Their cancellation policy is a trap . Be careful of the fine print written as:
- If you change or cancel your booking after 6:00 PM, 21/08 ((GMT-08:00) Pacific Time (US & Canada); Tijuana) you will be charged for 1 night (including tax)
• If you change or cancel your booking on or before 6:00 PM, 21/08 ((GMT-08:00) Pacific Time (US & Canada); Tijuana) you will be charged for 1 night (including tax)
One clause covers after the date and other covers on or before the date. This cancellation policy is as good as no cancellation is allowed

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank THLim2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelgalvancouver, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for writing a review of your stay more than 7 months ago. Our website offers many different rates, as do most hotels. You can choose a rate with no cancellation penalties, or you can choose a more discounted rate. Normally, the greater the discount, the greater the restrictions. The rate you describe is our Smart Saver rate - You receive a discount on all nights of your proposed stay, however, there is a one-night advance deposit required that is non-refundable. Many hotels have the same types of rates.

We always offer a rate that is easily cancelled without penalties. The rate restrictions are very clear on our website, they are repeated before you choose to purchase, and should you not want to agree to those restrictions, there is always a chance to back out of the process before you finalize your reservation.

Perhaps in future, you might want to choose a rate that has fewer restrictions so you won't be disappointed if your travel plans change. I am sorry that your travel plans changed and that your were not happy with the terms and conditions of the rate you chose.

Best regards,

Linda Griffiths
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tlell, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I had to stay here for work travel. It was the only place not close to any late night restaurants, I swear. Standard room and service, no balconies though. Surrounded by a concrete jungle. I think it's partially in a mall. Convenient for bus routes.

Room Tip: If you can find one with an opeining window
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SummerHaiku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelgalvancouver, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. I'm surprised that you did not find one of the dozens of restaurants directly around our hotel. We have a list of them at the front desk for you, as well as many delivery menus to suit every taste. We are located in the most popular area of Burnaby - Metrotown. There are 3 major office towers, as well as many residential towers. We are directly adjacent to the largest shopping and entertainment complex in BC, and directly across from the Metrotown Skytrain station, making downtown Vancouver a short 15 minute ride away on rapid transit.

We hope to see you again when your travels next bring you to our area.

Best regards,

Linda Griffiths - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Lost our keys to the house after a late night movie.. So crashed at this hotel around 2:30am.. Concierge was friendly, we didn't try room service. Tv service was good, wifi was good. Breakfast was very filling and fresh.
Overall, no complaints here. Also we happened to break the coffee pot by mistake but they Sid they won't charge us..

This is a central location with good commuting options via skytrain and bus.. That's why I live here! :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aarti s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear aarti s,

Thank you for your review. You have covered all aspects of your stay and I am particularly appreciative of your comments about our great location as well as friendly staff. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge their good stay.

I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer for to our guests.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

About 20 min ride by Skytrain to downtown, less than 3 minute walk from Skytrain exit, and supermarket(s) just beside it, for solo traveler with a tight budget (and a little spare time) ,this hotel is excellent for location and price.
The room is clean and comfortable. Did not expect speckless tiles or luxurious mood at the first place, so to my opinion, it's quite up to the standard supposedly to have. Breakfast so-so, staff helpful, no problem at all. .
Only thing to say is about the air-con machine:it got really noisy while it operates. Outside the window were air-con tanks form nearby mall, so it gets noisy even from the outside. If you are sensitive to noise and coming during summer, consider.

Room Tip: There was a large construction site just beside the hotel at 2013 summer. Ask a room NOT facing it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ziggy_lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelgalvancouver, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay at our hotel. I am sorry that your a/c unit was a bit noisy. I hope that you alerted our staff so our maintenance department could take a look at the unit. We have recently completed replacement of every unit in the hotel, and the newer units are much quieter when operating as they should. I hope that we can once again offer you accommodation when you are in our area.

Linda Griffiths - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnaby
Maywood
Element Vancouver Metrotown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Willingdon Heights
Executive Suites Hotel Burnaby
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#57 of 90 in Vancouver
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown
Address: 4405 Central Blvd. | Beside Metrotown Shopping and Entertainment Complex, Burnaby, British Columbia V5H 4M3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Burnaby > Maywood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Burnaby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely Renovated hotel, guestrooms, conference space and all public space. The Burnaby Hotel 18 min to downtown, BC Place, Rogers Arena & Vancouver Convention Centre by Skytrain. Connected to Metropolis at Metrotown the 2nd largest shopping and entertainment complex in Canada. The hotel also offers complementary full hot buffet breakfast, underground parking and wifi. The location is ideal for leisure and corporate guests looking for Greater Vancouver accommodations also close to companies like Translink, Electronic Arts, BC Hydro and Telus. The hotel offers conference space with natural light, the Fraser Ballroom can accommodate upto 150 for a sitdown dinner with outdoor terraces as well as a boardroom for upto 10 guests. Full service catering and A/V equipment. Additional amenities include outdoor pool and sun deck and business centre.The adjacent area is undergoing renovation and there may be construction noise during the day from 8 am to 5 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Burnaby
Holiday Inn Burnaby
Burnaby Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing