We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Burnaby
A TripAdvisor Member
27
Reviewed 12 June 2006

We had a brilliant six-night stay here. The room was bright and quiet (we took note of the other reviews on this site and requested a room away from the SkyTrain and, in fact, it was so quiet we could have the window open overnight). It was very clean and comfortable. The hotel is conveniently situated right next to a SkyTrain station and with trains arriving every three minutes, you can be into downtown Vancouver within 20 mins. It was cheaper than staying downtown and we enjoyed the more suburban atmosphere - and not having beggars right outside your hotel, which I've experienced at central Vancouver hotels. Very friendly staff and a lovely stay, but don't look forward to the 'free' breakfast too much - let's say you wouldn't worry if you overslept and missed it.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

300 - 306 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2006

Great location right opposite a sky train station and next to shops/cafes and entertainment. Rooms were spacious. Staff were friendly. Breakfast was basic, but effective. Gym was a bit small, but usable.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank infolondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
california
211
Reviewed 15 November 2005

horrible first of all our stay in the room was nice rooms are great, service in the front desk were nice people parking good. cafes and eateries were near walking distance and starbucks was near the hotel too. but until i got the payment i remember i cancelled it but they charged me anyways, i talked to a guy who was going to help me cancel because i wanted a larger room and told me i didn't have to pay, then when i got back that bill was shocking. even though the property was very nice not bad. i still don't want to stay there.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2005

First time in B.C. Arrived 10/12, departed 10/17. There for sightseeing and to attend a 3 day workshop at the hotel. Firstly, location of this hotel was wonderful for us, as we did not have a rental vehicle to get around and relied solely on public transportation. The hotel is connected to a Skytrain terminal and there is a bus terminal just east of the hotel. If you plan on doing a lot of sightseeing in and around Vancouver, the all day pass is the way to go. It allows you to travel among all zones; metro bus, skytrain, and sea bus. There is also a huge mall, the Metropolis, that the hotel is connected to, for all us shop-a-holics. The hotel is close to so many places to eat, your head could spin. Our advice: skip the Thai House (mediocre Thai food compared to what we have available at home), but catch a cab to Mr. Ho's - excellent Chinese food! And the staff is a kick. Secondly, our room was very clean and quite comfortable. What a great bed! There is a good size tv for the size of the room. Tasteful decor. Bathroom is very nice with its granite countertops and modern fixtures - the Kohler Stay Smart showerhead is a nice touch, as is the warming light and the nice, thick towels that are provided. Housekeeping was outstanding. In fact, we tipped them nicely at our checkout. We were very impressed with how quiet the hotel was, where we were. We never heard anyone else's voices, tvs, or radios. (I was told by the front desk that the hotel was booked, so it wasn't because there were vacancies there.) Make sure you request a room that faces west (towards Vancouver). We had a nice view from our window, although we were low enough (4th floor) to have a rooftop as part of the view. Our friends were on the 6th floor, in a room that faced the Skytrain. Unfortunately, they dealt with the rattling sounds of the trains all night. I think we were on a non-smoking floor, which was great. Thirdly, staff was very courteous. Cheryl, at the front desk, gave us very good directions to Grouse Mtn., Stanley Park, and Granville Island. Housekeeping staff was very kind and courteous, and the staff that attended to the free continental breakfast was quick to clean up areas and replenish food. For a freebie continental breakfast, there was quite a good variety of things to choose: instant oatmeal, regular and decaf coffee, numerous flavored tea bags, different cereals, juices, milks, hard-boiled eggs, a variety of fresh fruits, muffins, bagels, various types of breads, jellies, jams, honey, cream cheese and mini sweet rolls - yum! We'd be happy to return to this hotel anytime! PS: Can't comment on the workout facility or pool, as neither were used during our trip.

  • Stayed: October 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank LuvScuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2005

The room was clean & comfortable, if not particularily spacious. Free broadband internet access, but only for people with laptops. A public workstation would have been nice, if only to check airline reservations. This place was attached to a mall, and was quite close to the skytrain. Add to that their inclusion of a mini-fridge, and we wanted for very little. The one thing I did hope for was some sort of weight machine in their exercise area. They did have 4 cardio machines, though.

The free continental breakfast was quite good, with a nice selection. Parking was very secure.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank weaselking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2005

The Holiday Inn Express Metrotown is all about location. Barely one block from the Hilton Metrotown and access to Metropolis and skytrains without ever hitting the ground are a draw that could make you over look some of the flaws.

The Interior has some updates, although a few more are needed. The window closures were broken, elevators slow, the fitness centre has only four machines (two of them didn't work) and with my reservation I requested Internet access in my room for my laptop, however the room I was given was not "wired" for the access with no alternative available.

If you are going to the mall and the Hilton is booked solid, this hotel is an OK alternative.

  • Stayed: June 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JannaG23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2005

The hotel is very well located near the huge shopping mall and the skytrain station as well as a bus terminus. The free continental breakfast is a bonus. The hotel facility is adequate though the lift is far too slow.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JKWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnaby
Maywood
Element Vancouver Metrotown
Willingdon Heights
Executive Suites Hotel Burnaby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#59 of 92 in Vancouver
957 reviews
The Met Hotel
#2 of 3 in New Westminster
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown

Address: 4405 Central Blvd. | Beside Metrotown Shopping and Entertainment Complex, Burnaby, British Columbia V5H 4M3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Burnaby > Maywood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Burnaby
Price Range: £81 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely Renovated hotel, guestrooms, conference space and all public space. The Burnaby Hotel 18 min to downtown, BC Place, Rogers Arena & Vancouver Convention Centre by Skytrain. Connected to Metropolis at Metrotown the 2nd largest shopping and entertainment complex in Canada. The hotel also offers complementary full hot buffet breakfast, underground parking and wifi. The location is ideal for leisure and corporate guests looking for Greater Vancouver accommodations also close to companies like Translink, Electronic Arts, BC Hydro and Telus. The hotel offers conference space with natural light, the Fraser Ballroom can accommodate upto 150 for a sitdown dinner with outdoor terraces as well as a boardroom for upto 10 guests. Full service catering and A/V equipment. Additional amenities include outdoor pool and sun deck and business centre.The adjacent area is undergoing renovation and there may be construction noise during the day from 8 am to 5 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Burnaby
Holiday Inn Burnaby
Burnaby Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing