We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Burnaby
Reviewed 20 June 2007

The location of the Holiday Inn Metrotown was perfect - the mall was right next door, and it was a BIG mall. Everything from good food to good shopping. The staff were very kind, from checkin to checkout. Several times, we asked for directions and they printed them out for us everytime. Breakfast was also really good. And the rooms were beautiful, clean, and well kept. On top of that, their parking is free and its under the hotel; its completely insulated so that no sound gets out and into the hotel. All in all, perfect, and I highly recommend..!

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank steez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

293 - 299 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2007

I normally stay at the Hilton around the corner from this Holiday Inn Express, but decided to stay here after hearing of the recent renovations. This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel (I stayed in 2005 on a family vacation). This time I stayed for 7 nights for business in early March and found my stay to be very comfortable and enjoyable.

What I like about the Holiday Inn Express Metrotown is that it simplifies everything. To begin with, they offer plenty of free parking in their own underground parkade. With the exception of a few spaces, guests can park anywhere they like. It's one of the most headache-free hotel parkades in Vancouver.

Next, they provide a free breakfast bar 7 days a week (from 6:30 to 9:30 a.m., if I recall correctly). I find that foraging for food in the morning is such a chore (and can get quite expensive when it's for an entire family), so I really appreciate that they offer this complimentary breakfast bar. You're probably thinking, "Well, how good can it be if it's complimentary?" It's actually great! They offer fresh fruit (apples, bananas), bread and bagels (with a toaster), yogurt cups, delicious warm cinnamon rolls that are baked fresh daily, a variety of cereals, coffee, tea, juices, water, jams, butter -- and I believe I even saw hard boiled eggs. It's a great way to start your day. A tip to keep in mind: If you can, get there no later than 6:45 a.m. because if there are any school groups staying at the hotel, they invade right around 7 a.m. and you'll have to wait in line.

There are several room types to choose from in this hotel. The regular rooms (with 2 double beds) are a comfortable size for a family. For this stay, I was staying in an executive room with a king size bed. The room was a very nice size. I booked online on the Holiday Inn's website and for a rate of $109 (Can) per night I got the king size bed, mini-fridge, microwave, working desk and desk chair, and also a cozy armchair with a nice little table that was perfect for working on my laptop while watching TV. It was also a nice place to enjoy my evening meals.

As noted on the Holiday Inn website, they have revamped their beds. The new bed linens are a big improvement over the old ones they used to have. I can't say that their beds are as comfortable as the Hilton's, but they are very clean, soft, and cozy. The bed came with four comfy pillows.

The bathrooms in this hotel are a nice size. Not the biggest in Vancouver, but not as small as many hotels. The tubs are on the older side, but are still clean and maintained. What I really like, however, is the shower curtain set and the design of their curtain rods. They curve out, away from the tub. This means NO hotel shower curtain sticking to your skin repeatedly while you shower! The hotel chain would probably prefer that I rave about their nice shower heads (and they are quite nice), but the curved shower curtain rod is my favourite part about those bathrooms. What can I say...

If you're in Vancouver on vacation, you have one of the largest malls in Canada attached right to the hotel via the skywalk. There is also an asian-themed mall right around the corner, next to the Hilton, that has an excellent food court (check out Hana Sushi if you like sushi). Also noteworthy is the National Car Rental office in the Hilton, should you need to rent a car. It's a two minute walk from the Holiday Inn, so it's very convenient.

Connected directly to the hotel, you'll also find Station Square (instead of crossing the skywalk when you exit through the doors on the second floor, turn left toward the small movie theatre). There is a FutureShop electronics store if you proceed through the doors by the movie theatre. (This is vital knowledge if your camera's memory card runs out of room and you need to buy a new memory card quick.) There is also a Save-On Foods directly across the parking lot from the FutureShop, should you need anything like shampoo, razors, food, etc.

Once you've explored Metrotown, you can then take the SkyTrain, also accessible directly from the hotel from the skywalk. If you're in Vancouver on vacation, the SkyTrain can take you to many of the tourist destinations and great shopping venues on your list. It's cheap, fast, and easy to use. If you're in Vancouver on business, you may well be able to take the SkyTrain directly or close to your business destination. My daily commute into the city took approximately 20 minutes via SkyTrain, with a short 5 minute walk from the station. It sure beats sitting in traffic and looking for expensive parking downtown.

Other hotel amenities of interest:

-The outdoor heated pool: I didn't use the pool during this stay, but our family used it quite a bit when we stayed in 2005. It's a simple, rectangular pool, without a slide or diving board, but it's tons of fun in the summer. The whole deck is very nice to lounge on while the kids are in the pool, and there are numerous comfortable chairs and tables available. When the summer sun comes out in Vancouver, this is a great place to be.

-Movies and games: The TV comes with pay per view movies -- tons of them! There were at least 30 very recent movie titles, and some were actually still playing in the mall at the Silver City Metropolis movie theatre. There are also 30-40 Nintendo 64 games available for $6.95 per hour via the TV. (Only one controller, though, so the kids may not be entirely pleased.)

-Self-serve laundry: There is a washer and dryer on-site on the third floor, if you'd like to do your own laundry. It's coin operated and requires quarters ($1.50 for a wash cycle, $1.50 for a dry cycle, and $1.50 each for detergent and dryer sheets). If you don't have quarters, just go to a pop machine and insert a few loonies or toonies and you'll get quarters back. One note of caution, however: The laundry room is located at the end of the hall, next to the stairwell. A hotel card key is required to get in, but you cannot lock the door once in. Solo female travellers may not feel 100% safe in this room because the room itself is small, with only a small window on the entry door, and no alternate exit to use should a situation require one. Although I would rate the hotel as generally quite safe, I wasn't crazy about the set-up of this room.

-In-room internet access: I was a little disappointed with this amenity. The only option the hotel offers for internet access is wireless. There are still a number of guests out there who may not have a wireless modem, or (like me) prefer not to access wireless public/hotel networks in large cities because of significant security risks. When I've stayed at other hotels, I have been able to opt for a room with wired access which allows for more secure access, but it wasn't an option at this hotel. So, if you plan to bring your laptop, make sure your firewall is in working order!

With the exception of those couple small issues, I think it's pretty obvious that this is a great hotel for the price. The location is excellent, the staff are nice, the amenities and convenience are excellent, and the very reasonable prices are the icing on the cake. I would highly recommend this hotel to business travellers and to families on vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank helenlovejoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2007

This property has obviously just been renovated, as everything from the lobby to the rooms looked brand new. The staff was awesome right from the start, from the front desk, to the housekeepers, to the breakfast room lady. But that wasn't the best part! We were able to go anywhere in Vancouver without having to fight the city traffic or pay the outrageous parking fees (be wary of driving downtown!) by walking across this covered walkway that was connected right to this hotel to the monorail system (Skytrain?) that took us downtown in about 18 mins, and from there the bus system was easy to navigate if we wanted to go away from where the train took us. (our room was on the same side as the train and the noise did not bother us) The train even went right to the two big dome buildings that hold concerts and hockey games, so it is perfect if you are going to see any of those things too. AND there is a massive mall attached with the same walkway. We won't stay anywhere else when we come back!

Stayed: March 2007
3  Thank Pickypetes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2006

We stayed in this hotel for one night last week, becuase we were flying out of Vancouver at 9am. The staff at the front desk were friendly and the room was a good size, clean and had a comfortable king bed. We didn't use any of the facilities or eat the contiental breakfast, because we were in and out pretty quickly. The hotel is right beside metrotown, for lots of good shopping, food and movies. I would recommend this hotel for a great price and good clean rooms and good secure underground parking. The only downfall was we were right beside the skytrain and we could hear it, but it wasn't loud enough to keep us from sleeping.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Kim_and_Shawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
27
Reviewed 12 June 2006

We had a brilliant six-night stay here. The room was bright and quiet (we took note of the other reviews on this site and requested a room away from the SkyTrain and, in fact, it was so quiet we could have the window open overnight). It was very clean and comfortable. The hotel is conveniently situated right next to a SkyTrain station and with trains arriving every three minutes, you can be into downtown Vancouver within 20 mins. It was cheaper than staying downtown and we enjoyed the more suburban atmosphere - and not having beggars right outside your hotel, which I've experienced at central Vancouver hotels. Very friendly staff and a lovely stay, but don't look forward to the 'free' breakfast too much - let's say you wouldn't worry if you overslept and missed it.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2006

Great location right opposite a sky train station and next to shops/cafes and entertainment. Rooms were spacious. Staff were friendly. Breakfast was basic, but effective. Gym was a bit small, but usable.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank infolondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
california
211
Reviewed 15 November 2005

horrible first of all our stay in the room was nice rooms are great, service in the front desk were nice people parking good. cafes and eateries were near walking distance and starbucks was near the hotel too. but until i got the payment i remember i cancelled it but they charged me anyways, i talked to a guy who was going to help me cancel because i wanted a larger room and told me i didn't have to pay, then when i got back that bill was shocking. even though the property was very nice not bad. i still don't want to stay there.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnaby
Maywood
Element Vancouver Metrotown
Willingdon Heights
Executive Suites Hotel Burnaby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#59 of 92 in Vancouver
938 reviews
Happy Day Inn Hotel
#8 of 10 in Burnaby
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown

Address: 4405 Central Blvd. | Beside Metrotown Shopping and Entertainment Complex, Burnaby, British Columbia V5H 4M3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Burnaby > Maywood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Burnaby
Price Range: £91 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely Renovated hotel, guestrooms, conference space and all public space. The Burnaby Hotel 18 min to downtown, BC Place, Rogers Arena & Vancouver Convention Centre by Skytrain. Connected to Metropolis at Metrotown the 2nd largest shopping and entertainment complex in Canada. The hotel also offers complementary full hot buffet breakfast, underground parking and wifi. The location is ideal for leisure and corporate guests looking for Greater Vancouver accommodations also close to companies like Translink, Electronic Arts, BC Hydro and Telus. The hotel offers conference space with natural light, the Fraser Ballroom can accommodate upto 150 for a sitdown dinner with outdoor terraces as well as a boardroom for upto 10 guests. Full service catering and A/V equipment. Additional amenities include outdoor pool and sun deck and business centre.The adjacent area is undergoing renovation and there may be construction noise during the day from 8 am to 5 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Burnaby
Holiday Inn Burnaby
Burnaby Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing