We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two quite different stays”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Vancouver Metrotown
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Burnaby
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Two quite different stays”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here twice for a short time, the first one was quite good. The hotel is located well and the area is quiet. We however, wouldn't recommend this hotel, for during the second stay the second bed was a really uncomfortable sofa-bed and we had to call them to set it up. Furthermore the internet access is not free, they charge you 8$ per day and you cannot connect more than 3 devices per room even though they allow up to 4 people per room. The breakfast available is good, the waiters however are slow and they charge you additionally if there are more than two people in your room.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virna Y, Director of Sales at Hilton Vancouver Metrotown, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dearest Dina,

Thank you for your comments. We apologize that your 2nd trip was below all expectations. Our team is committed to the highest level of service / accommodation and will further review how we can make it better.

Again, your comments are greatly appreciated. Our senior management team will be in touch shortly.

All the best,
Virna Yu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    620
    542
    193
    45
    33
See reviews for
358
335
102
510
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Hotel is located right next to Metrotown Burnaby and thus it is really convenient. Walking distance to nearby restaurants and supermarkets, as well as skytrain station. 20 mins ride on skytrain to downtown. The room is spacious - it comes with a bedroom with a king size bed, and a living room with pull-out sofa bed and working desk. The bed is comfortable and the pillow is not overly soft. Bathroom is also clean. We stayed on the 19th floor and it was very quiet. There is a swimming pool (quite small), a kids pool and a jacuzzi; not too many people used it during our stay so it was good enough for a cozy morning swim. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The only slight downside was housekeeping service - there was one night we returned to the hotel really late and found out they forgot to replace clean bath towels; and for the last 3 nights on our stay, the housekeeper did not give us bottles of water. We called housekeeping and the lady said our room was not entitled to free water; yet when we called front desk, the staff said it's included and helped us to call housekeeping to send us the water. It was a bit annoying so on the subsequent nights, we decided to leave it and just bought water from the vending machines instead. Overall however I still highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Vancouver.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilyhk1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Badly on need of an update. Uncaring rude staff, great location. Overpriced and living on its reputation. Unless they make some improvements they will find their customer base dwindles.bathrooms are clean but worn. View is great.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virna Y, Director of Sales at Hilton Vancouver Metrotown, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hi Lyn,

Thank you for sharing your comments. We apologize that you received substandard service. As you referenced, guest loyalty is key for our hotel and our brand, that we seriously look into what went wrong and how to make things better. Our staff genuinely cares for the people that stay with us. To that point, one of our senior managers with the hotel will be in touch with you regarding your most recent stay.

Again, please accept our apologies. We'll be in touch soon.

All the best,
Virna Yu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, United States
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This was one of the most average $250/night experiences I ever could have asked for. We paid for luxury, to be respected - not to be dime and nickel'd for the entire trip. We left impressed by the service and friendliness of staff, but extremely annoyed at the steep cost of doing LITERALLY anything other than sitting in your room in the dark. The staff was friendly, room was clean - Water was $2 / bottle, internet was $8/night for shoddy connections. Everything has a price, it appears that $250/night gets you pretty much nothing at The Hilton anymore. I will be saving my money for other hotels for the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Tanner K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virna Y, Director of Sales at Hilton Vancouver Metrotown, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Tanner,

Thank you for reaching out to us regarding the value of our services and accommodation. We apologize that you didn't receive the value for your dollar here at the hotel. If there is an opportunity to discuss with you how we can add more value to any future stays, please let us know.

One of our team members will be in contact with you shortly. Again, please accept our apologies.

All the best,
Virna Yu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kelowna, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2014

everyone was very professional. The hotel and room were very clean. The beds were very comfortable. We would definitely use this hotel again. It was in a great location right near the sky train and metrotown mall.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Amber K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This is not the most excellent hotel in the world, but if your business takes you to Metrotown, it's the best thing around. The rooms are big, clean and have most of the things you need. Like if you happen to need an empty fridge, there is one of those.

The gym is a horrible little room with a few machines, but if you go at a non-peak time you'll have it to yourself.

The restaurant and bar are nice enough and there is a patio. Breakfast is a buffet or you can order off the menu. The meeting rooms are large and spacious.

But what makes this place worth it is the staff. From the banquets team to the bartender to the guy who made the projector work, they were friendly, helpful and totally accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virna Y, Director of Sales at Hilton Vancouver Metrotown, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hi Elizabeth,

Thank you for commenting on our hotel. Our hotel takes pride in ensuring that our guests are looked after. I'm sorry that our gym is not as extensive or elaborate, however, we have developed a partnership with a local gym around the corner from the hotel (called 24 hour Fitness). Our front desk staff have the access keys to gain entrance to this full service gym where you will have access to more equipment, weights and virtual fitness classes.

Should you have any questions, please let any one of our team know. Again, many thanks for your comments.

All the best,
Virna Yu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Exceptionally helpful and accommodating staff. This Hilton has one of the best Executive Lounges in the Hilton system. Great location. One of the best managed and operated hotels in Greater Vancouver.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Lewis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnaby
Maywood
Element Vancouver Metrotown
Maywood
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vancouver Metrotown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Willingdon Heights
Executive Suites Hotel Burnaby
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#27 of 92 in Vancouver
3,568 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
2,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Vancouver Metrotown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Vancouver Metrotown

Property: Hilton Vancouver Metrotown
Address: 6083 McKay Ave, Burnaby, British Columbia V5H 2W7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Burnaby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Burnaby
#2 Family Hotel in Burnaby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Vancouver Metrotown 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore beautiful Vancouver and experience all that the Metropolis at Metrotown, British Columbia's biggest shopping and entertainment complex, has to offer when you stay at the Hilton Vancouver-Metrotown. Located in the City of Burnaby with Vancouver Sky Train only yards away, the attractions and businesses of downtown Vancouver are within easy reach 20 min Skytrain ride.Stay connected and productive in the 24-hour business center or get to work at the large desk in each Guest room. Surf the web with in-room high-speed internet access (nominal charges apply). Watch a movie on the television or listen your favorite album when you connect your MP3 player to the radio alarm clock. Guests staying in one of the hotel's Executive Rooms or Suites enjoy exclusive access to the Executive Lounge, serving complimentary breakfast in the morning and refreshments in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Vancouver Metrotown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Vancouver Metrotown Hotel Burnaby
Hilton Hotel Burnaby
Hilton Burnaby
Burnaby Hilton Metrotown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing